We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hadsten House to your Saves list
Hadsten House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Midwest
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Haven't stayed in a hotel in a long time but this one has been recently remodeled as a modern boutique motel. Exceeded my expectations. Clean, great location, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast and afternoon wine and snacks. Solvang is a quaint little danish community -- very close to wine country and great restaurants. Don't miss Taste of the Valley tasting room or the Hitchin' Post Restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    234
    63
    22
    15
See reviews for
103
396
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MaggieMooser
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Like the majority of those that have stayed here before us, we loved this place, it's staff, food, rooms and atmosphere. I will definitely be a repeat customer!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Me and my husband celebraited our 15th wedding anniversary at Hadsten House 12-16 of Nov 2010. Our 4 night stay in a King Spa room was excellent. I loved the turn down service with little treats on the pillow. Beds were soft and comfy. Internet was complimentary and speed was good. The TV set could use an update, both picture and sound was real bad, not only in our room. Breakfast was plentiful and staff very attentive, although I wouldn't call it a Full American Breakfast and then not serve pancakes... After breakfast we enjoyed the morningpaper in the suntrap by the pool. Afternoon wine reception was a nice touch and food at the restaurant was great. I still dream of the Lobster Mac & Cheese, mmmm. The price on this place is in the high end, but you can get good package deals. Looking forward to go back next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed here for one weekday evening during the hotel's special Tripadvisor coupon of a weekday rate of $99+taxes per night.

For that rate, the Hadsten House more than surpassed our expectations. Also, it was fairly quiet with few other travelers during our stay, so we cannot comment if a weekend stay would warrant the same satisfaction. We did hear the adjoining or upstairs room's activity in their bathroom but it didn't last long (shower door closing or when they turned on the bath).

The Pros: front desk staff was efficient--this isn't a cozy bed and breakfast so we weren't looking to be chatted up. They provided the wine tasting coupon sheet for complimentary or 2 for 1 tastings at some area wineries. Newspapers (LA Times and WSJ) were available at the check-in lobby.

The entire room was clean, the bed and sofa were comfy, the bathtub and shower had good water pressure and they provided complimentary water bottles in the mini fridge.
The free wi-fi worked for us, but sometimes it was spotty and it seemed to be better when we sat on the sofa.

The afternoon wine and cheese hour had some cut fruit, various cheeses, crackers, and a choice of beer, wine, or other beverage. The barman/waiter was very friendly to everyone.

We loved the outdoor whirlpool/jacuzzi that's adjacent to the indoor poolhouse. We were able to enjoy it to ourselves and when we left there was still no one else using the jacuzzi or pool. There's ample reclining lounge chairs and table and chair seating. Towels for the pool are provided on a rack.

The complimentary breakfast was just ok. Perhaps we went late as the potatoes were a bit chewy, but they also served sausages, bacon, biscuits with gravy, grits, cold cereals, fruit, and a choice of fruit juices and coffee and tea (also a self-serve station for coffee or tea).

Overall we were able to enjoy the intended relaxing and romantic stay at the Hadsten House. Would definitely recommend to anyone though again perhaps the weekdays are less crowded than the weekends. The other hotels in the area are generally all motor lodge style just as the Hadsten House exterior is, but the interiors and immaculately cared for grounds make up for the exterior 'look.' Solvang is great for a one-night stopover.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at the Hadsten House in Solvang for one night in October while traveling between San Diego and San Francisco. I had carefully studied the reviews of many other hotels in Solvang and this one appeared to be one of the nicest. We arrived at the specified check-in time only to find out that our room was not ready. We had booked the king spa suite, room #200. We were told our room was not ready and to have a seat in the lobby which we did. The hotel lobby staff really didn't seem to have it together and we noticed we were not the only ones who had difficulty at check in. We finally left and my husband drove me to town so I could shop while he went back to check in. When he got back to check in, there was a different clerk at the desk and another man checking in. The inept clerk then asked my husband if he was "with" the other gentleman who was checking in! Not the best way to greet your guests! I shopped in Solvang and walked back to the room, which was not far, maybe a 5 minute walk from the shopping area. The hotel is an old Vagabond Inn or something like that which has been extensively re-modeled. They did not have wireless internet so we had to use our CAT cord, which we were thankful we had in the laptop case. So keep this in mind if you're bringing your laptop. We had THE BEST DINNER at the restaurant located right there at Hadsten House. Husband had the pork chop, I had the filet mignon, we both were very impressed with the food. The service was excellent as well. Even if you stay somewhere else in Solvang, I would recommend dinner at this restaurant. Superb! We were given a complimentary bottle of wine as well. The hotel has an indoor swimming pool which we chose not to use because the water did not seem very warm on this chilly evening. They have an outdoor spa as well, and we didn't use that because there was another couple in it and we didn't want to intrude. Since we had the spa suite and the tub is big enough for two, we decided to go back to our room and try out our own spa. The in-room spa is located in a little alcove off the main bedroom. It started out OK, but it quickly got so hot in that small area, that we had to get out. We could not get the tub to drain, so we had to leave the water in it all night for the housekeeping staff to drain the next day. The king bed was fine, nothing to shout about. I had to keep punching my pillow into a ball to get enough support but we managed to have a restful night. Got up the next morning and went to the complimentary breakfast which is held in the same location as we had dinner the night before. This breakfast was above average. The eggs were fluffly and delicious and they had bacon and sausage as well. The potatoes were cold and the gravy was very runny, but the eggs, bacon, and sausage were great. For the price we paid ($200 + with tax), it was not a particularly good value considering the room was not all that special. It is an older property which they have tried to cleverly disguise in new clothing. For the most part, they have done a great job.
Their lobby staff could be better. The room was just OK. We will stay at a diffent hotel the next time we return to Solvang but we'll probably go back and eat dinner at Hadsten House. However, we don't choose our hotels based on their food, we choose them based on the rooms and this one was nothing to shout about. Their certainly wasn't anything BAD about it, but for the price we paid, we expected something nicer. Solvang is a cute little town and the Santa Ynez Valley is beautiful in the Fall.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

I picked this hotel based on reviews on trip advisor. I typically takeball reviews withva grain of salt but upon reading trip advisor and looking at the hotels website i was sold. My boyfriend and i wanted to have a nice little overnight trip over halloween weekend and aftrler our stay i couldn't have been happier. The front desk was welcoming, the room was adorable, quaint, clean and comforting. The turn down service is great too. Its rare you receive this type of service anymore.

We then walked no more than a couple blocks to go wine tasting at lucas& llewellyn which has come to be one of our favorite wine tasting places in solvang. We were able to comfortably walk back, have dinner at the hotel which was great, and enjoy a bottle of wine. The restaurant is very good. They have a great burger believe it or not. The menu warns you to wait 25 mins for it and is worth it!! The bottle of wine helped pass the time too hehe.

Overnight the beds were a bit hard compared to our pillowtop soft beds at home but we have come to expect that of hotels. It was still comfortable and warm and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was great too! Loved the danishes.

Overall a great stay and i would recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Ok So just to start off....I created an accout here on TA so that I could specifically review this hotel! (hopefully that says alot!)

This hotel is exactly what the title says!! It is SUPER cute! No detail was overlooked at this property! The Lobby has a nice welcoming feel! The grounds are well maintained. And the rooms are amazing! We stayed in room 217 (suite). We came to Solvang for our 4th Anniversary, and it was just what we were looking for! The room was very clean, with plantation shutters, great decor and a nice jacuzzi tub with its own flatscreen and fireplace! HUGE bathroom and turndown service was great! We did get a massage and the spa was so quaint and cute! Amazing massages also! We had breakfast every morning that is complimentary....worth it for sure! GREAT danishes that are homemade from a bakery...(we took some home!) Happy Hour of beer and wine with cheese crackers was a NICE touch! The bartender there was a pleasure to speak with as well! We did use the jacuzzi at night....nice ambience! Had dinner ther as well....yummy food!! All in All???!! We'll be back for sure!!! You will NOT GO WRONG WITH THIS PLACE!!!!
MY only suggestion to the mgmt here......To have your front desk clerks give you helpful information about the town upon check in!! Thank god I already had used TA to get fun places to visit and do here in Solvang and got hotel info before we went! The day we were leaving we noticed a guest had a map of the city....We didnt even know you had a map to help us get around and all the places of interests!!! That wouldve been helpful upon check in! (thank god for Garmin) And I had read that The HH offered free wine tasting at nearby wineries....but I had to ask for the paper you take to get the tasting! Wouldve never even known about that had I not done my research! So for future guests, remember this above! It will definately help you out as well as save money on wine tastings!!! Enjoy your stay!
P.S. You MUST go to the Ostrich Land place....super cute!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Solvang
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadsten House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.