We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Solvang- Beware of other Cheaper Hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hadsten House to your Saves list
Hadsten House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Solvang- Beware of other Cheaper Hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Solvang-- what to say... Beautiful little town north of Santa Barbara that is a total tourist trap in the summer time. We stayed in Solvang for two nights and booked Hadsten House for both nights based on reviews. Hadsten was a little more expensive that the other options but we were glad we went with this hotel. Other people in our group went with some of the cheaper accommodations in Solvang and those hotels were some of the most run down and pathetic places I have ever seen.

Hadsten feel like a luxury hotel once in the rooms-- the linens were clean and higher end and the rooms have been remodeled to look very upscale. The bathroom had a granite top and there was very unique and decorative furniture that finished the look of the room.

They also provide a very nice breakfast every day-- a hot breakfast with bacon, eggs, potatoes and other foods. This is very nice as Solvang's breakfast lines can be in the hour+ wait category.

The pool was inside but there is a hot tub and lounge area that is outside.

Nothing bad to say about Hadsten House-- I'd stay again!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms away from the road were the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    252
    68
    23
    15
See reviews for
110
422
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel room was tastefully decorated with a comfortable enough bed and sitting area. There is an indoor pool, and a sitting area beside outdoor fireplaces in the spa area. We had a room upstairs, in the back so it was away from traffic noise. It came with a tasty breakfast that offered bacon, scrambled eggs, potatoes, toast, fruit, cereals and coffee. I was disappointed that they did not offer the famous Solvang pastries. It was fine for the price. Used AAA for a good discount.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, California, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Our room was comfortable. The bed was great. We liked that we had a bath tub. The window shutters allowed for morning sleeping in, as we were not overcome by the morning sun. We ate dinner one night at their. Restaurant. The food was good, well prepared and presented. We noticed some other people eating hamburgers that were large enough to challenge taking a bite. The room was dark and not fancy. We had tickets for the theater so it was perfect for us. This hotel is located on the main road at one of town. We walked to the outdoor theater. Took about 10 to 15 minutes. The touristy part of town started just after the next corner. For us it was perfect. Pleasant room and good location. Although the Inn sits on the main road which can get quite busy especially on weekends, our room was very quiet.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The rooms at the Hadsten house are tastefully decorated, the beds comfortable. We have enjoyed the pool and the jacuzzi area with outdoor fireplaces. The hotel is within walking distance of all shops and restaurants in Solvang. Breakfast is generous and very good. A great value, especially for families feeding a bunch of kids.

Room Tip: We prefer second floor rooms. Sound insulation not the best so second floor offers the best guarante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foothill Ranch, California
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
394 helpful votes 394 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The Hadsten House is a great place to stay. The rooms were good sized and very comfortable. It's location is at the edge of town, but within walking distance of everything. Don't miss having dinner at their restarurant (great food). Clean, A/C worked well, quiet, and hotel staff was very friendly. During peak season I can see that parking could be tight.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A European style Inn, on the main street. Good location near everything.
Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Our room keeping with European style, featured a freestanding wardrobe, king bed with upscale linens, flat screen TV, writing desk, comfy couch and a fireplace. Bathroom with a lovely tub was welcomed after long day of sightseeing. Full breakfast was included. Indoor pool was nice as free parking on site.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We went to Solvang for a day and stayed overnight here. The room was very nice and looked updated. The fireplace made it very homey. It was a short walk to the downtown area, but we decided to drive and park. It was a little more than some of the other motels but not much. I would stay here again if we come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadsten House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.