We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hadsten House to your Saves list
Hadsten House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks kinda random from the outside but once you get inside the room, it's very charming and comfortable. We had a romantic weekend here and our favorite part was dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Food was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    252
    68
    23
    15
See reviews for
110
420
15
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The place is much better than I expected. location is good, away from busy area but not too far that you cannot walk to the centre area. The room is specious and clean. restaurant serves surprising good food, although slightly salty to our taste. Service is great, breakfast is good but seats running out fast so get in early and they only have a few bananas, Fran them while you see it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I thought the rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The service was average. The front desk staff were sitting the whole time and not super helpful or super friendly but polite enough. You did not feel like they were there to help or serve you but like you were intruding on their space. The free breakfast was surprisingly good but I felt like there was not enough staff and that they were being run ragged. There was only two of them to clean tables bring people stuff like drinks and replace food. The dining room is beautiful. The pool was nice but very cloudy( not sure why?) and the hot tub area was very nice as well! Convenient location. Walking distance to downtown area. Overall a very good experience. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our 4 night stay at Hadsten House. The front desk staff were pleasant, helpful. The rooms are about the standard size and nicely appointed. The king size bed was very comfortable and firm enough to not cause me any back issues which is sometimes a problem for me. The rate charged during for Tues.-Thurs. was very competitive while it more than doubled for Friday night as weekenders load into the area lodgings.
The in house restaurant serves a very good hot breakfast buffet along with assorted fruit, cereal, oatmeal etc. None of the local danish pastries are offered however. The same restaurant also offers some very fine dining in the evening. We had a tasty tenderloin fillet and
halibut dishes that were both very good. They have a good wine list but you may also bring a bottle of wine from your area wine tasting adventures to enjoy for a corkage fee of $12, which is what we did. Also take advantage of the indoor heated pool and adjacent enclosed outdoor hot tub spa which accomodates 10 people and has a good seating and a couple of fireplaces. We didn't utilize the any of the services offered by the on site spa but it is available for those who want to. Walking to town for dining and shopping is an easy stroll from the hotel. There is only one ice machine next to room 100 near the front of the property, but the restaurant will also promptly give you ice on request. USA today and the local newspaper is available for free in the lobby. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property, especially if your are visiting during the week.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I along with some friends visited Solvang on July 3-5. Having stayed at a number of hotels and "b&bs", Hadsten House was by far the best we have stayed at. With updated decor, stylish rooms, a good hot complimentary breakfast, large hot tub in a cozy setting, and walking distance to al the shops and restauransts, you can not beat the value you get... For less than all the ther hotels we have stayed at. One of, if not, the best hotel in Solvang.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

let me start off by saying this review comes as a great surprise...never thought I would be saying this about the hadsten house...checking in was smooth and efficient...our room had a bad cleaning odor from the carpet cleaner that was used by housekeeping...went into the bar to relax from the long drive...met the manager of the restaurant, a lovely lady by the name of rory...she couldn't have been more accommodating ...her bartender, stephanie, was wonderful and enthusiastic about her job, how refreshing...back to the room, still smelled awful but we stayed and endured the odor...next morning, I complained to marae at the front desk...to make a long story short, they comped our room...how perfect a result...wait, there's more...my wife, by accident, left her dental mouthguard in the room...we panicked and called the front desk several hours later when we discovered it missing...lo and behold, the housekeeping crew turned in the mouthguard...what a surprise...I can not say enough positive remarks on this hotel...the bad smell notwithstanding I would highly recommend this hotel for any stay in the solvang area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel was found by a great reviewer of Trip Advisor. I was actually reviewing another hotel on Trip Advisor --- which a reviewer gave bad reviews to. He actually recommended to check out Hadsten House --- which I did. Great reviews -- therefore, booked. We were not disappointed! The place was adorable, very clean and looked recently updated. It was raining when we arrived and asked about any good places to eat --- we were told of a few. As we read that this hotel served breakfast, we stopped and asked the folks in the hotel check in area. They directed us to their "restaurant"! (not sure why the folks checking us in failed to mentioned this!). Their breakfast was a full breakfast, served .... sitting at a little table near the fireplace! How much more awesome can that be! We did have a hard time parking in front of our hotel room. Another car was parked there, therefore, we had to park in someone else's spot, and I'm sure someone else had to park elsewhere. Not sure if a hotel unit had two cars or not...messed everyone up! LOL Would very highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We didn't know of any "tips" when we booked --- but the room we got was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadsten House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.