We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on SolvAng” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hadsten House

Save Saved
You added Hadsten House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hadsten House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Ventura, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best on SolvAng”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent accommodations. Breakfast buffet is wonderful. Good location for wine tasting. The staff is very friendly and service oriented. The restaurant on the property is very dark, but the food was good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmSolvang, General Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our property and service delivery. I have taken your review and posted it in various locations for the staff to view; they get excited when they get it all right! Your comments about the dining room being dark are quite correct and I have hired a consultant to upgrade this part of our property so the accent lighting at each meal period will be enhanced. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    228
    61
    21
    15
See reviews for
102
383
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We don't know first hand that it is the best, but it was the best rated on TripAdvisor, so we gave it a try. Not disappointed. Room is nice. Shower is great. Fireplace is nice touch. Breakfast was good in a nice restaurant that we also had dinner at. We took the tip to ask for their complimentary wine tasting and had a nice afternoon tasting wines for free. We agree with the other five star ratings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmSolvang, General Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments. The hotel staff takes great pride in the product they deliver and I'm glad your stay reflected their efforts. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family of four (2 adult children) stayed at the Hadsten House (12/26-27) which was a lovely hotel in the heart of the wine county west of Santa Barbara. The rooms and beds were comfortable and the price included a buffet breakfast which was convenient.

We had two days of visiting various wineries or wine tasting rooms in the area. It was a wonderful couple of days unwinding after Christmas. There are numerous bakeries and restaurants in Solvang, Buellton, etc. as well as shops.

We had great wood burning oven pizza at Cecco Restaurant which came with a high recommendation. We ordered the margherita and marco pizzas and they were wonderful. We also ate at the Hadsten House Restaurant and were quite happy with the Diver Scallops over risotto and the Grilled Rib-eye steaks.

Only complaint is that we wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmSolvang, General Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your get away in Solvang. It is always nice to hear such great comments. Our Chef loves to see the critiques on our dining room preperations and was most pleased by your comments on the Diver Scallops and the Rib-Eye entrees. Please visit us again when you return to our great wine country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed one night at the beginning of October 2012 (5 people). First, we arrived at night and it was very difficult to find the hotel ... The sign was small and far away from the main road. Next, we were surprised that the room could accommodate only 4 people. Our reservation stated clearly that we are 5. We went back to the reception and they apologized and gave us some blankets, bed sheets and pillows to place on the floor for the 5th person.
The room itself is quite small and we could hardly move around with the extra "bed" on the floor. Besides, the air conditioner was positioned at the far side of the room, adjacent to the bathroom window. It was very noisy and useless because it could not cool the room itself. So we had to shut it down and open the windows on both sides. This exposed us to noises from outside. We could hardly sleep at night because some group of youngsters passed back and forth near our room window. They were very noisy and disturbing. We called the reception and complained about the noise. It did not help.
The only good thing about this hotel was the free WIFI ...
The complimentary breakfast the next morning was lousy. There was no bread but only some French Toast! The cereals were tasteless and the food choice was very poor.
We didn't have a chance to use the swimming pool, so I can say nothing about it.
Overall, we did not enjoy our stay at all.

Room Tip: This hotel cannot accommodate more than 4 people in one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmSolvang, General Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your challenges while visiting us. I am sorry your stay was not of the caliber that most of our guests enjoy. I did take note of your comments about the breakfast offerings and the in room cooling unit not being very effective. We take these comments seriously as we are always attempting to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Solvang, or specifically this hotel, makes the drive from the Bay Area to Orange county actually pleasant. This hotel is great! I could not have asked for anything more. Everything with the room (bedding, decor, bathroom, TV, even a fireplace!) is first class. Best of all, the value is also first class. I would definitely come back.

The location is on the edge of town but fortunately, the town isn't huge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My Mom and I were visiting Solvang a couple of months ago, and Hadsten House had great reviews on Trip Advisor, so we decided to stay here. We have been back 1 more time since that trip, and stayed here again. After the first trip, we'd never stay anywhere else. The rooms are a decent size, beds are extremely comfortable, there's a fake fireplace that actually produces a lot of heat, and most importantly, the place is clean. VERY clean! Both times we've gotten a great deal, $99 a night. Breakfast is included in the rate. If you do decide to stay here, make sure you ask for the winery list, they won't always give it to you, unless you ask. It is a list of wineries that you can go to for complimentary tastings for 2 people. That list basically pays for your room, when you figure tastings are usually around $10 per person.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed overnight here! Beautiful room, super-clean, nice service, and so relaxing. Everyone was so welcoming and genuine. It felt like home. And, we slept great. Super-comfortable beds! We will definitely come back very soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadsten House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.