We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing holiday stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hadsten House to your Saves list
Hadsten House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A relaxing holiday stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My daughter and I stayed overnight here! Beautiful room, super-clean, nice service, and so relaxing. Everyone was so welcoming and genuine. It felt like home. And, we slept great. Super-comfortable beds! We will definitely come back very soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    254
    71
    23
    15
See reviews for
111
426
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel on 12/14/12 for one night only. The room was neat and clean; a little skimpy with the towels for $200 a night but everything else was very good. Little fireplace that added to ambiance. The pool was great; hot! It was so cold at night so the pool was enjoyable. GREAT breakfast. Ate the BEST italian dinner just a few blocks away; kids at the front desk were very helpful and polite. We use to visit Solvang several times a year for it's quaintness; unfortunately you can never go back. The center of Solvang was so busy at night and all the stores were closed early; so much traffic. Hardly recognized the little Danish community of years past. Taking a final coast drive from Seattle to San Diego and had to visit my favorite little town....but it was gone!

Room Tip: choose a room in the rear off the busy highway...for security, we chose upper floor - no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Hadsten House is very nice. Our room had a fireplace, wood floors in the bathroom and was completely charming. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The breakfast was very good as well. There is an indoor swimming pool and an outside hot tub. Plenty of parking... and you can walk to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. I called ahead and they had a room at a great price. The front desk was friendly and prompt. Our room was just like the photos. We had a small fireplace and great bed. The bathroom was spacious and very nice. I left a watch and ring there by accident. I called and it had been turned in. They had my information on file and said they would mail it the next day. Remember a buffet hot breakfast is included in the price of the room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in a king room and it was just fine. The room was well-maintained with a very warm and inviting decor. We opted for a 2nd floor room to avoid any car noise from the vehicles in front and it was quiet and away from the main street noise as well. The restaurant was quite good for a town of this size with a sophisticated dinner menu. Probably too pricey for families with kids though. The ambiance was very warm and inviting. The hotel's breakfast is also held there and is quite adequate for almost anyone's tastes. They make a homemade granola that is outstanding.
The hotel is on the western edge of the main part of town and all the places of interest are within 15 minutes to get to by walking. Next door is a grocery/convenience store which stays open until 11pm daily which is helpful. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a very friendly, comfortable overnight stay at Hadsten House.
The room is modern & well appointed. The beds are very comfortable, great pillows,
The room is very clean & tidy.
We also dined at the in house restaurant which was a lovely experience. The service was very friendly & attentive & the food was delicious. Great fresh produce prepared expertly.
I would recommend this experience to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hadsten House was truly a treat. We've stayed in the area many times but this was our first visit to Hadsten House. The room was nicely renovated with shutters, a romantic faux fireplace, and a modern bathroom. The bed was soft but not too soft. The breakfast was exceptional for a buffet with scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, fruit, french toast, and coffee. We enjoyed the Jacuzzi after wine tasting with fireplaces on both sides.

We'll stay here again as we enjoy wine tasting in Santa Barbara County. The complimentary tastings at the local wineries were icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#4 Romantic Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadsten House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.