We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for our bike trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hadsten House to your Saves list
Hadsten House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Vancouver
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good hotel for our bike trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I and 2 other couples stayed at this hotel as part of our 4-day Trek bicycle camp and it was really a good place for this kind of trip. It's not fancy or luxurious but the rooms were certainly adequate and the king bed was very comfy. When we arrived the weather was unseasonably cold and wet and we really enjoyed the heating in the room. We were frozen after our first bike ride and were able to get warm quickly and also to dry out our wet bike clothes. Breakfast was served in a big room across the parking lot and it was a full buffet breakfast with eggs and lots of good food. Nice way to start the day before a long bike ride. After our rides we really enjoyed the indoor pool and outdoor hot tub. Beside the hot tub were 2 outdoor fireplaces and the entire area had a high fence around it so the wind was kept out and lots of nice lounge chairs. The weather improved while we were there and we were able to sit outside in this lounge area and enjoy the sun and hot tub each afternoon. And not many people using it so we mostly had it to ourselves. There were never any towels on the rack by the hot tub but they always brought some as soon as we asked. The hotel is very convenient to Solvang shops and restaurants and we were able to walk everywhere. We ate the bike camp dinner at the hotel the first night but then we preferred to go out to restaurants for the other 2 nights. I'm not sure if there are any fancier hotels in Solvang but this one certainly met our needs for our bike trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    230
    62
    21
    15
See reviews for
102
388
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Based on the reviews I booked a room and was not disappointed with the decor of the small but stylish room. However, as another reviewer has mentioned, Hadsten House seems to be the base for a bicycle touring company. The stored bikes, racks, trailers, etc blocked access to our ground room floor room occasionally, and the milling of people preparing for rides can be noisy. Our reception was okay, but the teenaged staff did not seem particularly knowledgeable. For goodness sakes we are in Solvang, supposedly a Danish village, and when we asked where to have smorgasbord she appeared puzzled and thought it was for breakfast only. Turns out we had an excellent non-Smorgasboard meal at the Mirabelle Inn after viewing the smorgasbords at various restaurants in town. This was an average experience, don't quite understand the rave reviews. More of a motel than a hotel or inn.

Room Tip: Away from the bikes and the bicyclists!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Mari
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway, we only live 30 minutes away but wanted to use the pool and jacuzzi and enjoy solvang for the night. Upon arrival we were able to check in early, we chose Hadsten House in particular because I had stayed there before and had a positive experience and they are pet friendly. Our registration card said that there were no pets allowed, when we brought this to their attention they scribbled it out. We went to the room and there is also signage about how it is not pet friendly and you will be charged. They should probably work on updating their signage to put their guests at ease.

The room was as expected, they should change the flooring in pet rooms to either hard wood or tile, as you can see several stains throughout the light carpet. The bed was comfortable, lighting appropriate, and bathroom was larger than expected.

I really enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese reception, it's a nice touch that is not required. I agree with a commenter below that with so many local wineries in the area, why not showcase one of their wines? I'm sure they could get wine donated or at a discounted price to use for the wine reception.

My main disappointment had to do with the hot tub. We got in at 9pm and the jacuzzi was luke warm. I immediately called the front desk and they said maintenance was gone for the night but they would try to fix it. 1/2 hour later, no difference in the temperature, I called the front desk again and they seemed confused about what to do or say. I voiced that I was very upset as that was the main reason we came to the hotel was to enjoy the pool and jacuzzi. She apologized and said it would be fixed in the morning. At checkout I brought it up and they asked what time it was when I called and said 9. They said, "Oh the pool closes at that time." I explained that I had spoken to the front desk and they never mentioned that it was closed, even if it was closed at that time the jacuzzi would not have cooled down that drastically in 5 minutes. The front desk was very blase, every time I came to speak to them they didn't have recommendations, they seemed bored, and that I was bothering them.

Definitely not the stay I was looking for, not sure if I would give them another chance with so many other options in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

rooms great size. had to walk up to the 2nd floor,but no problem. within walking distance to all the shops and centrally located to tons of wineries. breakfast was great and plenty.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The property is essentially a vamped up motel, but they've done a nice job and the rooms are well-appointed and luxuriously decorated. I found the bed super comfortable.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, and will give you a sheet with vineyards that will give you free or discounted tastings if you are staying at Hadsten House.

The only drawback is that breakfast is a little lackluster, just scrambled eggs, oatmeal and the like. They seem to be continually running out of coffee, etc. towards then end of the morning.

The hotel is central to many of the vineyards and an overall great choice for a few days exploring wine country.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Solvang s a wonderful town and Hadsten House is a great place to stay? The room was spacious, very nicely decorated and immaculate. Breakfast was plentiful and served in a wonderful decor. The staff was pleasant and friendly and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We've stayed at the Hadsten House multiple times and have yet to be disappointed. We love Solvang and always have a great relaxing time. Yes, it is motel style, walls are a little thin, but it has consistently been clean. Some areas of the room are starting to show a little wear and tear, but overall good experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadsten House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.