We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Upgraded Motel, but a Bit too Pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hadsten House to your Saves list
Hadsten House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Southern California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice Upgraded Motel, but a Bit too Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Upgraded motel with exterior doors, walls a bit thin and could hear guests snore in other room. Faux fireplace/heater nice in room, LCD TV with DVD player (nice), no jacuzzi tub, bed OK in comfort, clean, self serve hot breakfasts basic (coffee/juice, scrambled eggs, cut melon, bacon, oatmeal, and potato fritters), nothing more than you would see at a Marriott Residence Inn, front desk not super friendly, overpriced on weekends for value received. For the price we will not stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    234
    63
    22
    15
See reviews for
103
396
15
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights 8th and 9th Feb 2012 - first time in Solvang, which is such quaint place: the bedroom with fire place, and very comfortable king size bed, was very tastefully decorated - and spotlessly clean. We had a meal in the restaurant, and the General Manager, Trent, was so helpful and accommodating, even though the restaurant was short staffed, he was so hands-on, and very attentive. Having come from the hospitality industry ourselves (ran and owned a guest house in Cape Town, South Africa for over 8 years) we know how much good service means, and Trent was really good. Thanks Trent. We got a very good price - $89 per night, including breakfast - special midweek rate - exceptional value. WE will be back -

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed here based on recommendation of a friend & were not disappointed. The room is clean, comfortable & spacious. Nice to have a full breakfast on the property. We ate at the restaurant the first night & enjoyed the food immensely. Convenient to the central part of Solvang. Agree with another reviewer of the property - wanted to read at night, but the lighting was poor. Enjoyed the fireplace. Staff were very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here in January 2012 and had a very nice one-night stay for a wine tasting trip. We chose a room with a king bed and spa. The spa section of the room had its own flat screen and fireplace. And don't worry, there is a full bath/shower around the corner in the bathroom as well.

The hotel may not be the very closest to Copenhagen Dr, but we're talking a difference of 2-3 minutes' walking. It's still very close, and there was this super popular breakfast place just one block away that we never ate at because the line was so long.

Solvang is a great, centrally located place for the wine tasting in the area, whether in Lompoc, Buellton, (solvang), or Los Olivos.

Based on the reviews, this hotel was one of 2 options with luxury amenities, and it did not disappoint. Will have to write a comparison if we ever stay at the other.

Room Tip: We loved our room with a spa tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

In January, we spent three days exploring the California central coast wine country. It was a perfect time go since it was sunny, mild, and uncrowded. We tasted some world class wines. After good days of wine paradise we relaxed at Hadsten House and explored Solvang.
Everything at Hadsten House was clean, spacious and comfortable. The room was nicely decorated and comfy. Just beware that the walls are a bit thin. Also, the lighting in the rooms is dim. The bedside lamps have black lampshades. It's fine unless, like my husband, you want to read.
The breakfast was delicious hot food and fresh fruit, but again, the lighting in the dining room was strange- dim with can lights that seemed like spotlights in areas. They could use a lighting designer. Other than that the inn was nice and we had a great time in Solvang. What a charming town! And Hadsten House is in the middle of it. Loved that!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

After many years living in Denmark, my husband surprised me with a weekend in Solvang. Hadsten House has lovely and fairly big rooms, clean and absolutely new bathrooms, the breakfast was decent, although a little on the cheap side. It is located close to all what is there to see in this small Danish city.
We used the Spa and had massage, which was heavenly.
My only real complain is that we had neighbours who carried on drinking both nights after their dinner and wine tasting, which was loud and well, from our point of view pretty unromantic.
I think this place is rather for friends to go on a weekend of wine and fun, than for couples.

Room Tip: We had room 228, which was away from the traffic. But close to a suit, which was the place for parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was my first stay at the Hadsten House and I am super impressed. For starters, it's by far the nicest hotel in Solvang. It's been completely renovated so it feels brand new, and the decor is beautiful. The dining room is gorgeous! Also, the location is super convenient and close to everything. We were taken care of very well and I will definetly be going back. This is the only hotel I will stay with. (Special thanks to Trent for taking extra special care of us) You guys are awesome!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Solvang
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadsten House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.