We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Frederik Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added King Frederik Inn to your Saves list
King Frederik Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Menifee, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very nice location, once you have parked your car you won't need it again until you leave town. Everything is within walking distance. One thing about this town is the shops don't stay open very late. We were there for an overnight stay on a Sunday in the middle of July and by 6:00pm 98% of the town was closed, and this was with a ton of visitors still walking around...guess they don't need the business!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    69
    32
    5
    0
See reviews for
43
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

You couldn't ask for a better location to explore the area. This hotel is situated in the middle of downtown Solvang.
The rooms are basic but a nice size. They have refrigerators and microwaves.
We had a room on the first level (only two levels) with a sliding door out the back to the pool and hot tub.
The room was clean and supplied with towels, but no amenities like shampoo, etc., just soap.
Continental breakfast was included and parking is free and outside your door.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a very nice place to stay. It is centrally located,within walking distance of many of the shops and restaurants in town. The rooms are small, but clean,and it looks like the bathrooms have been remodeled within the last few years. Considering its location, I think it's a great value. I guess I would call it charming. Yes, Solvang is a tourist trap, but it's a nice tourist trap. We only spent one night here, but are planning to return for a longer stay. The clerk at the front desk was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing the street. Ours faced the parking lot and we didn't hear any stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Let me start with the location. This hotel is located central to all the shops, wine bars and restaurants. The rooms are very clean and we had a second floor room with balcony. I was surprised with the low price actually. We weren't that impressed with the breakfast, but it was included and we just aren't fans of pastries. Great hotel, great value, great town.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We came for my spouse's adult education class. We arrived the night before joining his class, as I wanted to be close to the restaurants and wine rooms. It was comfortable and relaxing. We plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Yes, a bit pricey, but it's in the center of town. Close to the wineries, shopping, restaurants, etc. My sister in law and I have been 3 times in 2014 and will stay here again in the fall. We love the wineries, the donkey farm, the lavendar farm and the mini horse farm nearby. It's not fancy, but the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and again, in the center of it all.

Room Tip: We loved the second floor rooms with the balcony. Great place to sit and enjoy the evening while dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

In town for a wedding. This was a great location in Slovang but also between Buellton, Los Olivos and Santa Yenz. You can't go wrong. Slovang is cute and too over done. The surrounding towns were great. Glad to come back to this hotel for a good night sleep. Large room, king bed was great. Our room faced the pool and slept with the window open for all three nights and it was totally quite. Small but nice breakfast for a snack in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Frederik Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Frederik Inn

Address: 1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Frederik Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is in the heart of Solvang, with all attractions within walking distance. Comfortable rooms, many surrounding the pool and spa area. Completely non smoking, no pet hotel, with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your King Frederik Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Frederik Hotel Solvang
Solvang Best Western
Best Western Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Frederik Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.