We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close and walking distance for value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Frederik Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added King Frederik Inn to your Saves list
King Frederik Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Pomona, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close and walking distance for value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We came for my spouse's adult education class. We arrived the night before joining his class, as I wanted to be close to the restaurants and wine rooms. It was comfortable and relaxing. We plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    30
    5
    0
See reviews for
40
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buena Park, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Yes, a bit pricey, but it's in the center of town. Close to the wineries, shopping, restaurants, etc. My sister in law and I have been 3 times in 2014 and will stay here again in the fall. We love the wineries, the donkey farm, the lavendar farm and the mini horse farm nearby. It's not fancy, but the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and again, in the center of it all.

Room Tip: We loved the second floor rooms with the balcony. Great place to sit and enjoy the evening while dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

In town for a wedding. This was a great location in Slovang but also between Buellton, Los Olivos and Santa Yenz. You can't go wrong. Slovang is cute and too over done. The surrounding towns were great. Glad to come back to this hotel for a good night sleep. Large room, king bed was great. Our room faced the pool and slept with the window open for all three nights and it was totally quite. Small but nice breakfast for a snack in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This place is basically charging for the area rather than their accommodations. I had better service in a road stop motel than here. Don't get me wrong, the place is not bad, just overpriced. Rooms are a bit small but cozy, it could definitely use some work.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Overall, I found the room acceptable but I think I was expecting something a little better.

In past trips to the region in the early 2000s, we stayed in Lompoc on golf deals no longer available and we decided to stop in for three days to play La Purisima on our way to Palm Springs. We decided to stay in Solvang since it is a much nicer community with more tourist style amenities than Lompoc (in our opinion).

The good: 1. it is very convenient to dining, entertainment and shopping options in the town... ten minutes max to anywhere worthwhile you might want to visit. 2. very friendly and accommodating staff. 3. comfortable rooms that are just large enough. 4. separate shower/toilet and vanity areas (a must for two trying to prepare for the day at the same time). 5. fresh Continental breakfast items prepared daily by a Danish bakery down the street.

The less good: 1. our room had very small windows near the ceiling and was therefore virtually devoid of any natural sunlight at all. It was very dark in the day and unfortunately, the facility uses energy saving light bulbs that don't throw off much light either. Even with every light in the room on, it made for a rather gloomy interior. Perhaps this was atypical of the hotel and unique to our room on the 2nd floor but I would make sure if having a bright room is important to you. 2. On one of the days, perhaps both (I honestly can't recall) we were awoken before 7:00 A.M. by the sound of garbage trucks backing up and doing what they do. Again, this may be have been a peculiarity of our corner room on the second floor but it did disturb.

One other thing peculiar to Solvang, the town. On Mondays, in early March anyway, many of the best restaurants in town are closed. We were so looking forward to having a great schnitzel dinner at our favorite Danish restaurant and with only Monday available to us, we left town disappointed. Worse, our second and third dining options were also shuttered. Plan accordingly if you happen to be in town around the same time of the year.

Room Tip: If naturally sunlit rooms are important to you, assure that your room is adequate in this regard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Hotel staff are great and friendly , Location to walk , shop and eat is the best !! Late check in no problem, walk across the street and in enjoy the food !!! Great Danish for breakfast included in the room !!! Be prepared to eat everything!!! I can't wait the go back !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the Solvang Century Bike Ride. We have stayed here before as the location is close to the ride start (Hotel Corque) and the rooms are priced right at around $150/night for a king bed. However, the noise is a huge problem. We were awakened by 18 wheelers downshifting on Highway 246, which runs in front of the hotel, loud pool guests, car alarms and every time someone in our building took a shower it sounded like they were showering in our room. I suspect the building is not insulated at all. Not ideal for a good night's rest, which is crucial after riding 100 miles. In addition, staff would not allow us to check out even 1 hour late. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Frederik Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Frederik Inn

Address: 1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Frederik Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is in the heart of Solvang, with all attractions within walking distance. Comfortable rooms, many surrounding the pool and spa area. Completely non smoking, no pet hotel, with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your King Frederik Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Frederik Hotel Solvang
Solvang Best Western
Best Western Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Frederik Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.