We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Solvang!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Frederik Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King Frederik Inn to your Saves list
King Frederik Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In the heart of Solvang!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel for my birthday. This is a great little hotel in the heart of Solvang. Décor is very basic but you can't beat the location. The room was very clean and the bed was very nice. The room was large and came with its own balcony with a view of the pool. The best part was the breakfast. They served the best danish pastry that I have had in a long time and the coffee was very good as well. I am from Denmark and I can tell you the pastries were awesome! We are getting ready to go back to Solvang tomorrow and guess where we are staying? You guessed it! The King Fredrik Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    73
    38
    6
    1
See reviews for
44
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, PA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The title of this review sums it up ... not much lighting at all in the room for 2. They also did not use eco-friendly light bulbs. Sleeping was good and room and bath were clean. The front desk ladies were extremely friendly and competent. The hotel is in a very good place, walking distance to everything in town. Breakfast was "continental" ... not much at all. Pastries, bread for toasting and some muffins. Eating area was very cramped ,, if you could get a place to sit or stand. The price was good ... about $90 plus tax. Would probably stay again .. but in a room with adequate space.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Le Zion, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel have a great location within walking distance to all attractions in solvang.

The room was very clean and spacious, wi-fi had a good reception.

The breakfast was nice, it included delicious danish croissants and cupcakes.

Lovely staff, helped us with every things we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We flew to Los Angeles for the start of our American holiday with no plans in place other than to travel along the Califorian coast to Santa Barbara to stay one night, the hotel prices were very expensive for 3 star accommodation, we decided to travel Inland and were lucky enough to get a cancelation in Solvang at The Frederick Arms, we stayed two nights, it was clean, the welcome was great breakfast lovely , town was just beautiful and to make my husbands weekend, it was car meet! If you get the chance, visit Solvang, you won't regret it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is an affordable hotel in a great location in downtown Solvang. It is right off the main tourist streets in Solvang, providing for easy walking. It also serves as a great hub for exploring Santa Barbara wine country. It is clean and fairly bare bones, but very affordable for the location. The pool is heated allowing early morning and evening swims, even in cool weather.

Room Tip: Higher floor may be better as the rooms are right along the sidewalk/street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights over Labor Day weekend. The location could not be better, right in the heart of town. Solvang was packed, but we could just walk out the door to get where we needed to go. The room was small, but very clean, quiet and comfortable. They offer a continental breakfast of bakery danish rolls, coffee, tea and juice. We will gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed just one night - but got a good rate and hotel is located in the heart of Solvang, so didn't use the car much - walked to shops and restaurants. The room was large and had a small fridge...didn't have time to use the pool but it looked clean. Internet worked good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to King Frederik Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Frederik Inn

Address: 1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — King Frederik Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is in the heart of Solvang, with all attractions within walking distance. Comfortable rooms, many surrounding the pool and spa area. Completely non smoking, no pet hotel, with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your King Frederik Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Frederik Hotel Solvang
Solvang Best Western
Best Western Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Frederik Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.