We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Frederik Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added King Frederik Inn to your Saves list
King Frederik Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I went to Solvang over the long weekend and stayed at the King Frederik Inn. We were pleasantly surprised! The hotel is perfectly located in town. The hotel isn't 4 stars but the rooms are clean, and the beds were really comfortable and staff was friendly. We will be staying ere again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Located in the heart of Solvang this place is not extravagant, but the rooms are clean and a short walk to shops and breakfast spots.

If you're just looking to lay your head after a wonderful day of wine tasting, you can't do much better.

Room Tip: There are no elevator, so choose a ground room for easy unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean. On the other hand, the walls are very thin and the furnishings are aging. However, the very best part of the motel is the location. Everywhere is within easy walking distance around town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Silver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Average room, I guess maybe a little below.

Coud use a GOOD renovating.

The check in clerk was very friendly and helpful which is always a BIG plus :)
Close to all the shops - also a big plus.

But rather noisy and this is never good for me as I am a very light sleeper -

we had a special to stay 2 nights get the third free but we only stayed the 2 .

The housekeeping left decaf coffee whcih we dont use-
UGH!!! however the lobby has free coffee and pastries which is very nice .

Room Tip: If you are a light sleep ask if they have a quiet room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goingblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

if you're going to stay in Solvang, which is convenient for exploring local wineries as well as eating Danish pastry, the King Fred is not a bad choice. Pretty average motel room with the usual cardboard-thin walls, but it was clean and the maid service was excellent. Our room had a small fridge, which was very convenient, but the combination AC/heater was a rattling antique. Free wi-fi internet was a big plus.

Room Tip: If you're on the second floor, you won't hear the upstairs neighbors as much. And if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the King Frederik right before Christmas. . Room was clean and we were on the second floor and could see perfectly down into the village with all the lights. Location is awesome as this hotel sits amongst the lovely shops in the danish village. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suesuecalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Got the room most furterest away from the reception without Wifi, which is not nice during Christmas Eve. When they realized that it was really important for us getting in contact with our family (in Sweden) they arrenged (on my suggestion) another Inn just across the street at their on cost. Thsi was not really what i expected to happen even if they sad soo. Very good work and service. The pool is nice as was the room that we had for like an hour. Free coffee, cold fresh water and juice in the lobby does add to the good feeling. Would go back with a smile.

Room Tip: The hotell is kind of divided with a separate row of rooms outside the pool area. No big deal and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#4 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kronborg Inn
Kronborg Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Frederik Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Frederik Inn

Address: 1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — King Frederik Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is in the heart of Solvang, with all attractions within walking distance. Comfortable rooms, many surrounding the pool and spa area. Completely non smoking, no pet hotel, with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your King Frederik Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Frederik Hotel Solvang
Solvang Best Western
Best Western Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing