We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Frederik Inn

Save Saved
You added King Frederik Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
King Frederik Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Ridgecrest, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I went to Solvang over the long weekend and stayed at the King Frederik Inn. We were pleasantly surprised! The hotel is perfectly located in town. The hotel isn't 4 stars but the rooms are clean, and the beds were really comfortable and staff was friendly. We will be staying ere again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    53
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
33
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Located in the heart of Solvang this place is not extravagant, but the rooms are clean and a short walk to shops and breakfast spots.

If you're just looking to lay your head after a wonderful day of wine tasting, you can't do much better.

Room Tip: There are no elevator, so choose a ground room for easy unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean. On the other hand, the walls are very thin and the furnishings are aging. However, the very best part of the motel is the location. Everywhere is within easy walking distance around town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Average room, I guess maybe a little below.

Coud use a GOOD renovating.

The check in clerk was very friendly and helpful which is always a BIG plus :)
Close to all the shops - also a big plus.

But rather noisy and this is never good for me as I am a very light sleeper -

we had a special to stay 2 nights get the third free but we only stayed the 2 .

The housekeeping left decaf coffee whcih we dont use-
UGH!!! however the lobby has free coffee and pastries which is very nice .

Room Tip: If you are a light sleep ask if they have a quiet room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

if you're going to stay in Solvang, which is convenient for exploring local wineries as well as eating Danish pastry, the King Fred is not a bad choice. Pretty average motel room with the usual cardboard-thin walls, but it was clean and the maid service was excellent. Our room had a small fridge, which was very convenient, but the combination AC/heater was a rattling antique. Free wi-fi internet was a big plus.

Room Tip: If you're on the second floor, you won't hear the upstairs neighbors as much. And if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the King Frederik right before Christmas. . Room was clean and we were on the second floor and could see perfectly down into the village with all the lights. Location is awesome as this hotel sits amongst the lovely shops in the danish village. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Got the room most furterest away from the reception without Wifi, which is not nice during Christmas Eve. When they realized that it was really important for us getting in contact with our family (in Sweden) they arrenged (on my suggestion) another Inn just across the street at their on cost. Thsi was not really what i expected to happen even if they sad soo. Very good work and service. The pool is nice as was the room that we had for like an hour. Free coffee, cold fresh water and juice in the lobby does add to the good feeling. Would go back with a smile.

Room Tip: The hotell is kind of divided with a separate row of rooms outside the pool area. No big deal and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Frederik Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Frederik Inn

Also Known As:
King Frederik Hotel
King Frederik Hotel Solvang
Solvang Best Western
Best Western Solvang
Address: 1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Frederik Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is in the heart of Solvang, with all attractions within walking distance. Comfortable rooms, many surrounding the pool and spa area. Completely non smoking, no pet hotel, with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your King Frederik Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Frederik Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.