We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas with(out) Wifi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Frederik Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King Frederik Inn to your Saves list
King Frederik Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Eskilstuna
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas with(out) Wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Got the room most furterest away from the reception without Wifi, which is not nice during Christmas Eve. When they realized that it was really important for us getting in contact with our family (in Sweden) they arrenged (on my suggestion) another Inn just across the street at their on cost. Thsi was not really what i expected to happen even if they sad soo. Very good work and service. The pool is nice as was the room that we had for like an hour. Free coffee, cold fresh water and juice in the lobby does add to the good feeling. Would go back with a smile.

Room Tip: The hotell is kind of divided with a separate row of rooms outside the pool area. No big deal and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    73
    46
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
75
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, Ca.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a good place to stay if your visiting Solvang. It's right in the middle of downtown and is very quiet. The shops and boutiques are right outside your door. This inn is nothing fancy. But if you want a nice and clean place to stay, this is it. For about $80.00 a night, we got a clean 2 queen room with a microwave and refrigerator. There is a pool and jacuzzi on site too. Continental breakfast is just pastries and coffee/juice. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We were very happy with our 2 night stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

stayed only for one night but I would say that this is the perfect place to stay if you're going to see the beautiful places in solvang. the hotel is walking distance to shops, restaurants & park. the woman in the front desk was very friendly & has a ready smile to guests. the danish breakfast was great. will definitely stay in this hotel when we visit solvang again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great location in the middle of town. Hotel includes a basic continental breakfast. The pastries are fresh and tasty. I did not like their coffee or orange juice.

Clean room and basic furnished. You can hear your neighbor cough. You can hear vehicle traffic too. So walls are thin. I suspect all of the older establishments have the same problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We were on our way up from Ojai and decided to stay in Solvang for the night. We were so delighted in finding "King Frederik". The woman at the front desk was so nice and we got a great room by the pool. The room was very neat and clean, and comfortable bed. The only disappointment for me was the hot tub did not open until 9:00a.m. I love a hot tub in the morning with my coffee! Other than that it was a very pleasant stay!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had stayed here a few times in the past and liked it but they have done some simple but very important updates. New beds, a.c. nice bathroom updates, double paned windows. This is very nice place in the centre of town, close to everything. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The pool and whirlpool are very nice and clean. Pricing is decent also. I can recommend this property any time. They have a nice variety of room types. One of the best deals in town. Very comfy. The beds are very nice. Great place to enjoy a little time of shopping and food. Our room has a very nice balcony overlooking the pool. Don't miss the Danish pastries and coffee.

Room Tip: Second story east wing is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were on our way back down the coast and knew we wanted to spend our final night in Solvang. There were not many rooms left, and The King Frederik Inn was very affordable. The kids swam for a few hours in the afternoon. We also walked around the cute little village, and I fell in love with this town. You truly feel like you are in Denmark. All of the shop owners are very friendly, and I spent too much money in several of them! We will definitely go back to Solvang again, and would stay at the King Fredrik Inn. If you are planning on too going on a weekend, I would make an advance reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the pool and not the Main Street, also, ask for a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#4 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
#2 of 7 in Buellton
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Frederik Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Frederik Inn

Address: 1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — King Frederik Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is in the heart of Solvang, with all attractions within walking distance. Comfortable rooms, many surrounding the pool and spa area. Completely non smoking, no pet hotel, with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your King Frederik Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Frederik Hotel Solvang
Solvang Best Western
Best Western Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Frederik Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.