We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas with(out) Wifi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Frederik Inn

Save Saved
You added King Frederik Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
King Frederik Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Eskilstuna
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christmas with(out) Wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Got the room most furterest away from the reception without Wifi, which is not nice during Christmas Eve. When they realized that it was really important for us getting in contact with our family (in Sweden) they arrenged (on my suggestion) another Inn just across the street at their on cost. Thsi was not really what i expected to happen even if they sad soo. Very good work and service. The pool is nice as was the room that we had for like an hour. Free coffee, cold fresh water and juice in the lobby does add to the good feeling. Would go back with a smile.

Room Tip: The hotell is kind of divided with a separate row of rooms outside the pool area. No big deal and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    53
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
33
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, Ca.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a good place to stay if your visiting Solvang. It's right in the middle of downtown and is very quiet. The shops and boutiques are right outside your door. This inn is nothing fancy. But if you want a nice and clean place to stay, this is it. For about $80.00 a night, we got a clean 2 queen room with a microwave and refrigerator. There is a pool and jacuzzi on site too. Continental breakfast is just pastries and coffee/juice. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We were very happy with our 2 night stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

stayed only for one night but I would say that this is the perfect place to stay if you're going to see the beautiful places in solvang. the hotel is walking distance to shops, restaurants & park. the woman in the front desk was very friendly & has a ready smile to guests. the danish breakfast was great. will definitely stay in this hotel when we visit solvang again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great location in the middle of town. Hotel includes a basic continental breakfast. The pastries are fresh and tasty. I did not like their coffee or orange juice.

Clean room and basic furnished. You can hear your neighbor cough. You can hear vehicle traffic too. So walls are thin. I suspect all of the older establishments have the same problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We were on our way up from Ojai and decided to stay in Solvang for the night. We were so delighted in finding "King Frederik". The woman at the front desk was so nice and we got a great room by the pool. The room was very neat and clean, and comfortable bed. The only disappointment for me was the hot tub did not open until 9:00a.m. I love a hot tub in the morning with my coffee! Other than that it was a very pleasant stay!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had stayed here a few times in the past and liked it but they have done some simple but very important updates. New beds, a.c. nice bathroom updates, double paned windows. This is very nice place in the centre of town, close to everything. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The pool and whirlpool are very nice and clean. Pricing is decent also. I can recommend this property any time. They have a nice variety of room types. One of the best deals in town. Very comfy. The beds are very nice. Great place to enjoy a little time of shopping and food. Our room has a very nice balcony overlooking the pool. Don't miss the Danish pastries and coffee.

Room Tip: Second story east wing is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were on our way back down the coast and knew we wanted to spend our final night in Solvang. There were not many rooms left, and The King Frederik Inn was very affordable. The kids swam for a few hours in the afternoon. We also walked around the cute little village, and I fell in love with this town. You truly feel like you are in Denmark. All of the shop owners are very friendly, and I spent too much money in several of them! We will definitely go back to Solvang again, and would stay at the King Fredrik Inn. If you are planning on too going on a weekend, I would make an advance reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the pool and not the Main Street, also, ask for a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Frederik Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Frederik Inn

Also Known As:
King Frederik Hotel
King Frederik Hotel Solvang
Solvang Best Western
Best Western Solvang
Address: 1617 Copenhagen Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — King Frederik Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is in the heart of Solvang, with all attractions within walking distance. Comfortable rooms, many surrounding the pool and spa area. Completely non smoking, no pet hotel, with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your King Frederik Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Frederik Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.