We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel located in Solvang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kronborg Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kronborg Inn to your Saves list
Kronborg Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel located in Solvang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Upon arrival we were checked in right away. The lobby is small but functional and the staff was friendly. We were given our room keys with instructions to our room. There's no elevator so getting up the stairs with our luggage was a bit of a challenge. I was traveling with my Mom and 2 sisters so the room was a bit small for 4 people. There's a nice little balcony off the room that overlooks the courtyard/pool. Our front door faced the street and we were worried about traffic noise but it ended up not being a problem at all. The beds are very comfortable, there's a little table with chairs, a refrigerator and the full length mirror was a plus. The hotel is located at the far end of the main road but it's only a short stroll to the shops and restaurants. If you're going to Solvang for the shops I would suggest arriving early as they all close around 4 or 5pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    140
    57
    24
    16
See reviews for
73
156
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I must say that I give the new owner a kudos for trying to get this place updated. They did a great job improving the bathrooms, but it seems a bit over improved in contrast to the rest of the place. The spa was filthy! Rust marks, debris in the pool. Wasn't clean at all. The staff at the hotel needs a regimented daily routine to keep this place appealing. Keep them busy all day!

Positives -

- Quick check in/check out - Less than 2 minutes to get my keys and to get in my room.
- Clean breakfast area. Good balance of eating at breakfast area or an option to eat in your room (paper plates, disposable cups)
- Bathroom is updated and clean
- Ok channel selection
- Quick access to pool area
- Easy parking, complex not crowded
- Beds were comfortable and clean
- loved touch only keys, was able to keep keys in my wallet and just touch door and it unlocked.

Negatives -

- Hostess wasn't very professional, was arguing with a guest on the phone. I would have been upset the way she was talking to the person on the phone if I was that guest. She was more of a kid lacking sympathy and respect.
- A/C struggled to keep room cool, coils were full of dirt and dust, fan did not work at all.
- Poor lighting in room, very dark lighting
- Very unpleasant smell in lobby area, very strong perfume smell. Couldn't wait to get out of there.

If you plan on staying here don't expect a luxury stay, I would limit your stay to 1 or 2 nights max, there are just better hotels out there for the $$.

Room Tip: try and get a room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, Owner at Kronborg Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Estimated Guest
I am the very new owner of the Kronborg Inn.
Thank you very much for complimenting our efforts to upgrade and improve the hotel, and especially the bathrooms.
The spa at that particular time, had a problem with filters, as well as the pool. We hired a reputable company, who replaced two pumps and the filters, and it is now clean and clear.
I am sorry about the hostess. I am investigating the matter as she particularly has a reputation of being very hospitable and polite.
I do appreciate your detailed comments and I am taking them very seriously, as I am making the hotel a luxury boutique hotel.
I look forward for your next visit, as I and my staff will take particular care of your pleasant stay and comfort.
Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Kronberg has an old world charm, quiet, clean, private. The prices are steep though because the town does not have any chain motels/hotels intown which keeps its rural, small town ambiance alive. It's the last hotel in a cluster from the nearest downtown street attractions. The staff was very helpful, especially when I had to call for a battery jump for my rental car. The free breakfast was so-so. Wi-fi was non-existent even though the desk said it was there. Tried several times to access it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were attending a wedding at a winery and stayed here in Solvang for a weekend. I expected a motel like experience, since that's what it basically looked like from the exterior, and I was pleasantly surprised when I walked into the second floor room. The room was fairly large with a vaulted ceiling, making it appear even bigger. There were sliding doors to a balcony facing the courtyard pool, and a large bathroom with stone countertops, nice toileteries and a jetted tub! There was plenty of closet space, fast WiFi which was free and the room looked newly renovated. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. We did not spend that much time in Solvang, but did walk from one end to the other, which only took about 20 minutes. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Comfortable beds, quiet rooms. The pool is in a cute little courtyard. The tub was narrow but had jets. Overall, very satisfied with our stay. I thought the price was a little steep, but that's just Solvang I think.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Everything was very nice, we were pleasantly surprised! The staff was great, friendly, and helpful. The pool and jacuzzi were just right. It was quiet where we stayed in the back. The price was good. The hotel was great. For breakfast however, I suggest walking over to Paula's Restaurant with homemade orange juice, huge pancakes, and turkey sausage. The breakfast at Kronborg's is the standard continental, not bad. I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms in the back were pretty quiet, a little further away from the pool. Nice balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skara, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel looks really inviting and cosy. I asked for a room not facing the heavily trafficked road. Even though the hotel was more than half empty, we still got a room with the door facing the road, and the only room in the hotel with only half a balcony - the other half being part of the staircase. This meant that we were disturbed by people climbing the stairs late at night, as well as by the noise from the road - it was horrid! We could just as well have camped on the freeway.
So basically, we got no sleep at all. I found this especially annoying since I had asked for a quiet room. Maybe the receptionist wanted to punish us for that request?
The bed was extremely comfortable, so at least we could lie in bed reading since it was impossible to sleep.
The breakfast is for people who enjoy dry pastries in the morning.
The pool was very nice, but the spa was so dirty there was no way you would want to use it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a door towards the parking lot and a balcony facing the pool if you want to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Address: 1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kronborg Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kronborg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.