We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise at Charming Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kronborg Inn

Save Saved
You added Kronborg Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kronborg Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise at Charming Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were attending a wedding at a winery and stayed here in Solvang for a weekend. I expected a motel like experience, since that's what it basically looked like from the exterior, and I was pleasantly surprised when I walked into the second floor room. The room was fairly large with a vaulted ceiling, making it appear even bigger. There were sliding doors to a balcony facing the courtyard pool, and a large bathroom with stone countertops, nice toileteries and a jetted tub! There was plenty of closet space, fast WiFi which was free and the room looked newly renovated. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. We did not spend that much time in Solvang, but did walk from one end to the other, which only took about 20 minutes. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    124
    55
    22
    14
See reviews for
70
142
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Comfortable beds, quiet rooms. The pool is in a cute little courtyard. The tub was narrow but had jets. Overall, very satisfied with our stay. I thought the price was a little steep, but that's just Solvang I think.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Everything was very nice, we were pleasantly surprised! The staff was great, friendly, and helpful. The pool and jacuzzi were just right. It was quiet where we stayed in the back. The price was good. The hotel was great. For breakfast however, I suggest walking over to Paula's Restaurant with homemade orange juice, huge pancakes, and turkey sausage. The breakfast at Kronborg's is the standard continental, not bad. I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms in the back were pretty quiet, a little further away from the pool. Nice balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skara, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel looks really inviting and cosy. I asked for a room not facing the heavily trafficked road. Even though the hotel was more than half empty, we still got a room with the door facing the road, and the only room in the hotel with only half a balcony - the other half being part of the staircase. This meant that we were disturbed by people climbing the stairs late at night, as well as by the noise from the road - it was horrid! We could just as well have camped on the freeway.
So basically, we got no sleep at all. I found this especially annoying since I had asked for a quiet room. Maybe the receptionist wanted to punish us for that request?
The bed was extremely comfortable, so at least we could lie in bed reading since it was impossible to sleep.
The breakfast is for people who enjoy dry pastries in the morning.
The pool was very nice, but the spa was so dirty there was no way you would want to use it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a door towards the parking lot and a balcony facing the pool if you want to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

so the service was solid.
the beds, mattresses, linens were AMAZING!!
toiletries were lovely.
breakfast was great.
room furniture was worn out and paint was chipping.
the hot tub was FILTHY!! with dirty dishes sitting along side the edge for over a day. pool was nice, but the area was not kept clean.

Room Tip: there are no views. so its all about having a good room for sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

All the other highly recommended hotels in Solvang were booked except this one which made me wonder why. But the appointments were nice, the provided breakfast convenient, and the location if not ideal (almost the furthest hotel from central Solvang), was pretty easy walking distance to everything. Bonus: The mini mart next door was quite useful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel and the rooms were very clean, the beds very comfortable, the location was fantastic and the price was very good.
The service was not very good for example they didn't have ice from Sunday evening until Monday late morning. The Jacuzzi and the pool was not very clean. They had coffee but not cream or sugar in the room. The A/C was not strong enough to cool down the room. The room was for 2 people but they only had 1 shampoo, no conditioner and 1 hand cream, and only one person in the hotel to take care of everything including the front desk.

Room Tip: I think the best vew you have in this hotel is the pool and jacuzzi, because there is no other views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Address: 1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kronborg Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kronborg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.