We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solving hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kronborg Inn

Save Saved
You added Kronborg Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Kronborg Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Solvang
1 review
“Solving hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have enjoyed our stay at the Kronberg Inn last week in Solvang. The staff was professional and pleasant and the cost was very reasonable. Their continental breakfast has a good variety of food to select from.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, Owner at Kronborg Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    115
    46
    19
    14
See reviews for
59
135
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We wanted to spend the nigh near Solvang so that we could have breakfast the next day at Paula's Pancakes (don't miss it!) and the Kronborg had decent reviews. The bed was super comfortable, but when we got up the next day we couldn't get the shower to turn on--water came out of the faucet, but when we pulled on the knob that normally shuts off the faucet and funnels it to the shower head didn't make water come out of the shower. We tried to call the front desk, but there was no dial tone on the phone. There was no soap, so a bath would not have been helpful. We asked for and got a pretty decent discount. I would return, but ask about the shower and avoid room 113 for now.

Room Tip: Avoid room 113 unless you find that they have fixed the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, Owner at Kronborg Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I am the new owner for the last 5 weeks only. Never the less, I take these comments very seriously. We now have an almost permanent handy-man on site to resolve any immediate problem that may occur. I will personally welcome this guest and I will make sure to make their stay as pleasant as it could be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The only good thing about this place was the bed. The coffee pot was not cleaned from the previous guest, and the phone in the room did not work. And, we didn't find out the shower didn't work until the next day at 6:00 am. I tried working with the desk clerk a little after 6am about getting a partial refund...he was wasn't interersted in my issues and said that he couldn't help us. He did not demonstrate any "customer service" behaviors, NO sense of urgency to correct the issue and appeared totally un-interested in our problems.

A previous review indicated that this was a remodel of an older motel. Yup, got that right.

When we noticed the cruddy coffee pot when we checked in, the evening desk clerk did provide us with a new pot. Horray for him. I'm not mentioning names, but he worked the later afternoon/early evening shift. Maybe he should train the guy that comes in early in the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, Owner at Kronborg Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I was not the owner of this hotel at that time. I am the new owner for only the last 5 weeks. Never the less, I took these comments very seriously, met with all of my housekeeping staff and strongly warned them that I will not tolerate any faults of this kind. I did the same with the front desk clerks.
Should any of my desk clerks every act as described in this review, they would be immediately fired. They are all currently in training. I am undertaking some serious improvements to make this hotel an attractive boutique hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Kronborg is a renovated "motel" that does a nice job. Most of the Solvang hotels have spruced up to join the boutique category and attract folks who want more than a place to flop.
The building still shows signs of its age on the exterior but the rooms are good sized and have nice decorating, fresh paint and fixtures. If you have bikes or golf clubs the room is big enough to bring them in. It has a nice sized fridge and microwave. Soap, shampoo and lotions are nice. Breakfast was just fare. No form of protein of any kind is served. Coffee is good.

The beds and bedding are very comfortable. We loved them. If you can't handle a soft bed you might not like it, but we loved it. As soft at it was we did not feel unsupported. My wife called the bed "amazeballs", and wanted to stay in bed the rest of the trip.

Downside. Bathroom is VERY small. No room to move. You must close the door before you "sit down" or your legs block the door. I never tested the jetted tub but it did have one.

The pool looks good. Not much deck or seating. The State of California has created laws that forced most older hotels to change pools and hot tubs. The hot tub is currently CLOSED do to the change in regulations. I was told they are working on making the needed changes.

Overall a good stay for us.

Room Tip: room 211 was upper room on the backside away from traffic noise. I woululd guess the front side wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, Owner at Kronborg Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. I am the new owner of this hotel for the past 5 weeks, and I am undertaking some serious improvements which will hopefully make it more comfortable and more to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemvig, Denmark
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Located conveniently near the center of Solvang this place is a good option if you are on a budget. We got a good offer and liked what we got! Rooms are fairly large, and beds are extremely comfortable. Rooms offer tv, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and free wifi. Signal strength on wifi was at times very bad though. Complimentary breakfast carb- and sugar loaded.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lompoc
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Ridiculous/Unacceptable - book elsewhere! They literally left me out in the cold!!!! Hotel is decent for price - comfie beds but this place must be owned or ran by idiots. We are talking 200 plus room hotel sitting in large tourist attraction town and you have nobody onsite all night from 11:30 to 7 a.m.???? Are they stupid? I went out with friends, some casino got back about 12:30/1:00 am - try to enter room my key doesn't work - go to office note on door nobody onsite until 7 am if an emergency call this number. Tried to call number - no answer 3 times. Talking last hotel on way out of town, by freeway, dark, freezing cold, everything else in town closed and they got some female sitting outside without working key! Reached owner on 4th attempt - he guides me through entering a lockbox outside office which thankfully had a master key - got a quick I'm sorry and click. Really? I just stood outside your hotel for almost an hour, freezing, stressed and wondering if I am sleeping where and I get that. Not to say I am begging for anything but a little bit more of an apology, I really am sorry, what can I do for you - I mean that would be good business or at least a phone call to room to make sure everything turned out alright and was I ok? Nothing!!! They did have 1 employee (and he was only one with some intelligence and personality because most of the others barely said hello) who was nice and went out of his way to make me feel better the next morning but if it were me stay elsewhere. Jeez even little mom & pop hotels, Motel 6 and low budget hotels have someone onsite to take care of guests if need be!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Visited Solvang with a friend and selected the Kronborg Inn for our one night stay. We had a one bedroom family suite. It had all the amenities we needed for our brief stay: two beds, a King and pull out sofa. Also had a full kitchen, which would be nice for a longer stay. The room was very clean, appearing as though it had been recently upgraded. One of the draws is that the rate also included a continental breakfast. The pro are the roomy accommodations, the multiple beds, kitchen, and cleanliness. The cons are that we were on the first floor at the front of the building, which resulted in some slight roadway noise and foot/car traffic from people coming and going outside our door. I believe there are only 2-3 (?) family suites and there may not be much of a choice of location in the hotel if you want one of these suites. For families visiting Solvang on a limited budget, this was a good option. CONS - the pullout bed was awful. It was nothing but springs and was pretty much unusable. My friend used it and pronounced it "terrible." The hotel should invest in better quality sofa bed mattresses. The included-breakfast - not! Unfortunately, the front desk person overslept by his own admission. He was supposed to be there at 7am, but did not arrive until 8:30. The breakfast was supposed to start at 7:30. We, along with other guests, arrived at the lobby at that time to find it dark with the overnight closed sign still hanging there. The breakfast room, located off the lobby, was also dark. We had no idea what was going on, so we went into the village and paid for a lovely breakfast. It was not the end of the world, but an unexpected expense when we paid a rate that included breakfast. The clerk was very apologetic, and I understand we all make mistakes. But, the hotel should have a back up plan in the event of just such occurrences. Perhaps someone from management should call in the mornings to be sure staff is on duty, everything is on schedule and going smoothly to verify guests are being accommodated appropriately.

Room Tip: Consider a room farther back in the building if noise is an issue for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang
Address: 1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kronborg Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kronborg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.