We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kronborg Inn

Save Saved
You added Kronborg Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kronborg Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Studio City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel twice. We like the staff, the service, the beds are fantastic, firm with thick downy quilts. Nicely decorated too. There is a pool and jacuzzi and the breakfast bar was well stocked. It's close enough to the local theatre to walk there for the show, wrapped in a spare blanket. This is not a 4 star hotel, but the rates are similar to 2 star places, so what's not to like?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    119
    50
    20
    14
See reviews for
64
139
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I booked my reservation one month early. When I called to confirm the hotel said it thought my reservation was for one month earlier. Even though the hotel made a mistake it refused to give me a room on the correct date, and refused to help me find another hotel. Moreover, the hotel said it had already charged my credit card the full amount, and refuses to refund my money! I asked to talk to a manager and was told he is unavailable.
Stay away from these people. I never got any apology or any help, and am now stuck fighting to get back money for a stay that never occurred.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean and great value, they include a breakfast which is good, not as good as Paula's Pancake right across the street. The Inn is in a great location everything within walking distance. A short 4 miles to the Casino. I agree that the staff could use some customer service training. We took a short drive to AJ Spurs they rock, best food in the Central Coast.

Room Tip: The room was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

At a last minute getaway for my wife and 14 yr grandson. Great and aarp rate 130 total w/ tax close to Casino and village Solvang when you drive in you see doors facing parking lot like motel. bath nice granite floors comfy beds and contineatial breakfast w/ waffle maker. Solvang shuts down at 6 pm except for icecream and bakerys and cafe 246 and the 24 hr Chumash casino 10 min down road. we ate at Kabuki Sushi open late and good. I took grandson to gate Neverland Ranch Micheal Jacksons former estate for photos and memorial. We went to Ostrich farm on 246 by Buellton fed birds fun; $4 each adult and $1 each bowl food. we would come again; bout 90min from Ventura area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place has the most poorly trained personnel I have ever encountered in a hotel . They cant answer questions or complete even the simplest requests without putting you on hold for 10 minutes or passing the buck onto another employee or manager who never calls back . for the money there are far better choices in Solvang

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here while attending a PCPA performance. Location great for walking around town. Room very comfortable with all rooms having a balcony. Only problem was down comforter too warm for summer, and only a sheet if you remove it. Didn't take breakfast, as many restaurants in town to eat out. Overalll very position experience. Would stay here again when coming to Solvang.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encino, ca
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

From the outside looks a little run down, but once inside the rooms were nicely upgraded. Jacuzzi style bathtub was very relaxing, King Size bed comfy, room was clean and had a fridge. They offer a decent continental breakfast. No vending machines for a late nite snack or drink though. Limited staff on duty so hard to oversee all that is going on inside and outside by the pool....kids running around having ice fights was kind of annoying.
Very good location. All within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Address: 1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kronborg Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kronborg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.