We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kronborg Inn

Save Saved
You added Kronborg Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kronborg Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for one night at the Kronborg Inn and really enjoyed the hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable, looking out onto a patio and the pool. Although the hotel is near a main road, I heard no noise. The breakfast was basic and there is not much room to sit. So it is definitely worth going out for Danish pastries. The hotel is within walking distance of the town centre and there are great restaurants and shops worth visiting. Very quaint hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    120
    53
    20
    14
See reviews for
66
141
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oakhurst, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night, having booked the room through Priceline (we bid on it, and got it for $82!) The room was huge and sumptuous-easily worth at least double the price. One of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in, plus large wide-screen TV, Micro & fridge. Wonderful heated pool and jacuzzi. Price included breakfast, which was of the continental variety, very reminiscent of Best Western-type breakfast. Yes, the breakfast area was small (tiny?) but that's a minor complaint. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

we stopped over and stayed in Kronborg Inn, very nice motel has got traditional Denmark wind mill in the front. Breakfast was included in our booking, got milk, cereal, sausage, boiled egg , toast bread etc, a good start for the day. check out is easy and fast, left the key and you go. will recommend to all road trips.

Room Tip: only few miles drive back on N-101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here in early April. Was on bottom floor of this 2 story hotel. I had no idea what to expect except for the reviews, mostly favorable, on trip advisor and the pictures offered by the hotel website and those who had stayed there before. Let me start with saying my initial impression was, I can't believe I paid $200 a night to stay here, not including taxes... There are so many other comparable options for less and better options for the same price. It just felt like they had taken an old hotel, refurbished the bathrooms and paint, added crown moulding and new carpet and said, now we can charge $200 for a room that is worth no more than $130 a night. Hadsten House did this next door and it has a much better feel to it, although they require a 2 night minimum most weekends and we only needed a night. The good - bed was supercomfy, and room was clean and quiet with nice TV - could have slept till noon with blackout curtains pulled :-). The bad - room was dark with curtains open, no mirror except in bathroom - mirrored closet doors had been ripped off and not replaced, No screen on patio door to pool and power blew on GFI circuit breaker in bathroom while running blow dryer "only" and could not be reset. Friends in next room over reported the same issue... To be fair, I did not call and ask for assistance from the front desk, because we were in a hurry and just used the outlet in the entryway which worked fine. The ugly - nothing, lol. Skipped complimentary continental breakfast in morning so not sure of quality. Did get coffee and it was fine. Would have been nice if the cups were bigger vs. the styrofoam ones they provided. Had we stayed on the top floor, maybe things would have been better as far as brightness of room and I would have had a better opinion overall. I would stay here again, but not for $200 and only after I had exhausted other options of which there are many in Solvang.

Room Tip: Upper floor only unless you like a dark room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently stayed here for one night. After I booked it, I read some reviews and they weren't exactly favorable. However, we had no problems with the staff or accommodations. The room looked new, clean and the bed was very comfy! Internet access was easy. We did have a room in the front but there are no windows that direction so the sound of cars driving by on Mission was not a problem. We didn't have the breakfast there, as there is a place in town that we like but we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I guess rooms facing the back or the pool would be better for some, although we didn't have a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed the weekend with some friends. We stayed a Friday and Saturday night with our room being around 159 per night. We were able to move rooms a few times and I'd reccomend that you stay upstairs over the downstairs rooms. The upstairs rooms have vaulted ceilings and they feel much more open. Breakfast is included in your room rate. They have a waffle machine, hard boiled eggs, bread/muffings/pasteries and fruit (apples and bananas. Really close to downtown. Beds are soft soft soft, but cozy

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms away from the street. i.e. 204, 205, 206 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I booked a stay for my in-laws through Priceline. Unfortunately, my in-laws needed to change the date. Priceline was very difficult about it and refused to refund my money, so I called the Kronborg Inn and talked to the management. The manager agreed to move the date of my stay at no additional cost. Thank you Kronborg Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Address: 1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kronborg Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kronborg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.