We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kronborg Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kronborg Inn to your Saves list
Kronborg Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Camarillo, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We decided to opt for one of the spa rooms and it was a very good choice. The room was very large and the bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was very large as well, with a nice two person spa tub and a large shower area. There was a TV above the tub as well.
I'm not sure if all of the rooms have been updated, but ours was very nice. The room had a refrigerator, fireplace and good size flat screen TV. I read other reviews that talked about the noisey street, but the noise was not a problem for us.
For the price, I think it was a very good value! Although it is on the edge of town, it is easily within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    134
    57
    23
    16
See reviews for
72
152
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location is on the edge of town, not too bad of a walk, but not as convenient as thought when booking. The pool and hot tub were broke , which would have been nice if they let us know on the website when making reservations. The rooms were recently remodeled but really noisy. Which was ironic as the front desk told us we had the quietest room. Between the road traffic and people walking around next store and upstairs, it was pretty difficult to get a good nights sleep. The bath tub had jets but couldn't hold water. Shower pressure was also very weak.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

left a robe in the bathroom....called the motel.....they cannot "find it".... in places we've stayed in the past when something is discovered in the room, it is courtesy to call the customer & let them know & then they mail it to you....in this case....it just disappeared. Some maid got herself a nice robe....we will NEVER stay there again.

Room Tip: make sure you retrieve all your items; they will not return them or even notify you that you left so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the free breakfast, this was the perfect choice. First the hotel facade: From the outside it is a simple well kept hotel, nothing fancy, but clean. Check in took less than 3 min. The key is a simple swipe and enter type, but when the door opened the 320 sq ft room was perfect. Let's begin with the bed. I believe these are all new beds and just the perfect amount of surrounding softness coupled with support, headed by a generous amount of pillows banked against a well secured headboard. The bed is high off the floor, which we liked. Each night stand had a lamp that could be positioned at will and on the left side of the bed was a clock/MP3 radio. There were also electrical outlets next to the bed for my MAC power cord. Curtains: The ample door to the balcony had a stylish boarder which held sheer and the heavy blackout curtains, which did the job! There was also a working clean fridge and microwave and 42" Vizio flat screen... none of which we used. The bathroom, though a little tight had a tall shower head off the floor about 7'!!! For a short person this might be a problem to adjust. There was ample hot water and the tub/shower unit did well. My complaint is the amount of towels... not enough. Breakfast was no different that a La Quinta Inn. Waffle makers, syrup on the table, juices, pastries, hardboiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit... for a free money saving breakfast it is perfect, but not your 'stuff yourself over indulgent American feast.'
When I can save $50.00 a night compared to the other places in town and still get a great nights sleep... this place just won my business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went up to the Solvang/Santa Ynez area for a day of wine tasting for my birthday. A quick trip, with only a one night stay in Solvang. The Kronborg was a good location, right on the main drag in Solvang. The staff was unfriendly, when we arrived, the front desk told us they were full, no vacancy. I told him that we had a reservation and he asked our name - then proceeded to tell me that no, they did not have it, and they did not have any record of it. we went to the car, got the reservation confirmation, and brought it to him, he then found our reservation, no appology, and said no rooms were ready yet, come back later. we asked if we could use the bathroom as we had just arrived and were going winetasting on a shuttle. he let us go into a room that someone was checking out of, when we arrived at the room the person was still there, it was awkward. After a full day of wine tasting in the pouring rain, we went back to the hotel to check in. a different front desk guy, but the same bad attitude. just unfriendly and not nice at all. the kicker was at 1:30 AM our room phone rang, we answered it from a dead sleep to have the front desk tell us sorry for the inconveinence.. it was very strange. When we went to check out, we asked about the phone call and he said no one called us, that did not happen. I would never stay here again. We felt very unwelcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. When I booked it I really didn't know what to expect. The exterior of the building and the lobby were very basic when I first arrived. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived, and we were surprised that there were no bathrooms in the downstairs area (we had to go to another hotel for the bathroom!). However, when we finally got our rooms, I found it to be very up-to-date and comfortable. The amenities were basic, but it seems like they've recently updated the rooms, including the bathrooms. Overall I was very pleased with the hotel. Free parking. Walking distance to restaurants, shops, and bars. Comfortable and not too expensive. The service was lacking, but hey, it was only for a night so I was ok with that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Good price. Large room with very updated bathroom with spa tub. The best part was the most comfortable mattress ever. We have traveled all over the world but this mattress ranks at the top. Breakfast is included which is your typical cereal, fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, and make your own waffles. The inn is on the edge of town which makes it quiet but not too far to walk to everything. Only issue-the carpet appeared out dated. However, we would return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Address: 1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kronborg Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kronborg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.