We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay when visiting Solvang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kronborg Inn

Save Saved
You added Kronborg Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kronborg Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Fresno, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay when visiting Solvang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Good price. Large room with very updated bathroom with spa tub. The best part was the most comfortable mattress ever. We have traveled all over the world but this mattress ranks at the top. Breakfast is included which is your typical cereal, fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, and make your own waffles. The inn is on the edge of town which makes it quiet but not too far to walk to everything. Only issue-the carpet appeared out dated. However, we would return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    122
    54
    22
    14
See reviews for
69
141
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We came to think of this hotel as the ninety-five percenter. Not that they score 95/100, rather that they only give 95%. No 101% here!

The room contained 1 (one, uno, a singular) coffee making kit. No tea, no decaf, so separate sugar, no nothing. When we questioned this we were informed that is how it is. We were "allowed" to grab a tea bag from the breakfast corner and tip some sugar into a plastic cup. 95%

As to breakfast, the continental style commonly served in the lobby area of mid-range US hotels: The choice of spreads for our toast was strawberry jam or strawberry jam. No honey, grape jelly, etc. Just strawberry jam. 95%

When we checked out, the individual in reception was scruffily presented, ungroomed and offhanded. The kind of person you'd expect in one of those small-town motels on route 66, with a blinking MOTEL sign, that the private eye checks into with his female client while dodging the Mafia assassin. Decidedly unprofessional. 95%

The box of tissues was nearly empty when we checked in. So I left it on the bathroom counter out of its fancy cover, on its side, to signal to the maid that it needed replacing. Signal ignored. 95%.

We could not get the ceiling light on without the fan also being on. Pretty sad in cold weather. 95%

The bathroom had nowhere to hang towels or our own hang-up bathroom bag. 95%

The toilet cistern stuck in continuous flush. 95%

Finally, our room (107) did not have a functioning smoke detector, just an empty fitting in the ceiling. That probably made the room illegal. 95% ... no, make that 10%

Conclusion: The Kronborg had all the hallmarks of a place that is run by someone lacking proper training and professionalism. Given this place is also right at the far end of town, you'd be better off picking a place in the middle of the main drag, for better walking access to the features of delightful Solvang.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Its like the saying goes... If you put lipstick on a pig, you still have a pig.
To start, there wasn't anything abjectly wrong with the hotel, just a whole lot of things that fell short. The room had a modern, renovated feel. The shower had nice hot water. The bed was comfy. And that's about the end of my list of pros.
Who renovates a bathroom and doesn't put in a place to hang a towel?
Our toilet kept running after it flushed... Seriously wtf?
They saw fit to include the standard assortments of mini soaps and hand creams in the bathroom - except one of the creams was half empty, with a notable feel like it was used and not properly replaced. Really?
We could not turn off the ceiling fan in the bedroom, so we couldn't turn on the main light, because the two are tied together.
Our reservation promised us a fireplace - the inn has none.
The greeting staff was less than professional and warm.
And the list goes on...
So in summary, the got the general broad brush strokes but failed on all the little details. If you have an option to stay somewhere better, you should!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel itself is conveniently situated to walk through the quaint little town of Solvang. The rooms are spacious. Breakfast however is an average affair with paper cups and plastic cutlery. At least they had a banana, but the health conscious will find it hard to get a decent meal.

Room Tip: All rooms face inwards to the quad and pool area. There are no lifts so if you have luggage, downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed only one night on this hotel. It's pretty charming. Once we got to the room, I was impressed, as it was modern and very spacious. Our room was located on the second floor, in the back of the hotel, which does not face Mission Dr, and had a terrace, just like most of the rooms on the hotel. Two large beds, TV, fridge and a clean, spacious bathroom. Continental breakfast was included, which we really enjoyed. There was a piano in the lobby, I think they put a good show whenever it's played. There is one main pool and the sauna, which I wanted to use, but it was closed. Check in was smooth and fast, although we had a hard time finding the room, which was located in the back of the hotel. Overall, it's a great little hotel. Solvang is a small town, the hotel is located in one of the edges of the city, but is close to everything. We had a car, but walked all over town. There is a small supermarket next to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Planning our journey we read lots of reviews. This hotel was nice balance between positive feedback and value of price. Nice small hotel with everything available. We had a breakfast in the hotel, however decided to try famous Danish bakeries instead. The bed was very-very comfortable; room was specious and had individual entrance from the back yard, free parking. What my son and hubby enjoyed the most was the outdoor's spa facilities. We were still jet-lagged so got up very early, morning was foggy and chilly, but we could not stay in the bed any longer... outside we found large pool and Jacuzzi, which was really nice.

Room Tip: We ask for quiet room and we had very good sleep. I guess, front rooms facing the road would have mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our Friday check-in went very smoothly, and we were given a second-story room facing Mission Drive. If possible, do not stay in a room facing this street because Mission Drive essentially is Highway 246. Thankfully, the traffic noise did not prevent us from having decent sleep both nights.
We stayed in a two queen-bed room that had a balcony with a sitting area above the pool. Spacious room, less than spacious bathroom. Nice, updated decor, flat screen TV, in-room refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave, but no safety deposit box.
There is a small pool which is fenced, and there is no fitness center. They do have a sufficient continental breakfast, which will tie you over until you want to eat big and fancy.
Great location: within walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Mission Drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Address: 1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kronborg Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kronborg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.