We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kronborg Inn

Save Saved
You added Kronborg Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kronborg Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Much better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed only one night on this hotel. It's pretty charming. Once we got to the room, I was impressed, as it was modern and very spacious. Our room was located on the second floor, in the back of the hotel, which does not face Mission Dr, and had a terrace, just like most of the rooms on the hotel. Two large beds, TV, fridge and a clean, spacious bathroom. Continental breakfast was included, which we really enjoyed. There was a piano in the lobby, I think they put a good show whenever it's played. There is one main pool and the sauna, which I wanted to use, but it was closed. Check in was smooth and fast, although we had a hard time finding the room, which was located in the back of the hotel. Overall, it's a great little hotel. Solvang is a small town, the hotel is located in one of the edges of the city, but is close to everything. We had a car, but walked all over town. There is a small supermarket next to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    120
    53
    20
    14
See reviews for
66
141
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Planning our journey we read lots of reviews. This hotel was nice balance between positive feedback and value of price. Nice small hotel with everything available. We had a breakfast in the hotel, however decided to try famous Danish bakeries instead. The bed was very-very comfortable; room was specious and had individual entrance from the back yard, free parking. What my son and hubby enjoyed the most was the outdoor's spa facilities. We were still jet-lagged so got up very early, morning was foggy and chilly, but we could not stay in the bed any longer... outside we found large pool and Jacuzzi, which was really nice.

Room Tip: We ask for quiet room and we had very good sleep. I guess, front rooms facing the road would have mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our Friday check-in went very smoothly, and we were given a second-story room facing Mission Drive. If possible, do not stay in a room facing this street because Mission Drive essentially is Highway 246. Thankfully, the traffic noise did not prevent us from having decent sleep both nights.
We stayed in a two queen-bed room that had a balcony with a sitting area above the pool. Spacious room, less than spacious bathroom. Nice, updated decor, flat screen TV, in-room refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave, but no safety deposit box.
There is a small pool which is fenced, and there is no fitness center. They do have a sufficient continental breakfast, which will tie you over until you want to eat big and fancy.
Great location: within walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Mission Drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Room was a little worn but very comfortable and very clean. Very convenient location and within walking distance of many shops and attractions. Staff was friendly. Overall an excellent value. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good price for this area, we paid approx. 100 per night for a mid week stay. It's a clean and comfortable motel experience. The room was large and the bed was comfortable, and the area is quiet. Nice size bathrooms with some rooms having jacuzzi tubs. Free Wi-Fi was a plus for my hubby and it worked well.

I would not call the meager offerings each morning a continental breakfast - I am not terribly picky about food ( esp. in these situations - i know to not expect anything substantial ) but I would say the only thing worth having is the coffee. I would advise not to count on this for your breakfast.

Staff was cordial and we had no complications with our reservations. All in all this is a good value at 100.00 a night, for any higher rates I think that you would find better value in another property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The KI was excellent - upscale finishing with moderate pricing. Nice pool, relaxing spa, off main highway yet quiet, walking distance to too-cute downtown. Friendly staff, willing to make your trip its best.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the first floor easy access to pool & spa relaxation. 2nd floor had balconies not patios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have stayed here twice and in both times was pleased with the services and staff at the Kronborg Inn.The rooms are clean and nice,bed was very comfortable to sleep in.I love that its not right in the center of Solvang.The continental breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Address: 1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kronborg Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kronborg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;