We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, very comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kronborg Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kronborg Inn to your Saves list
Kronborg Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value, very comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Room was a little worn but very comfortable and very clean. Very convenient location and within walking distance of many shops and attractions. Staff was friendly. Overall an excellent value. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    131
    56
    23
    15
See reviews for
71
148
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good price for this area, we paid approx. 100 per night for a mid week stay. It's a clean and comfortable motel experience. The room was large and the bed was comfortable, and the area is quiet. Nice size bathrooms with some rooms having jacuzzi tubs. Free Wi-Fi was a plus for my hubby and it worked well.

I would not call the meager offerings each morning a continental breakfast - I am not terribly picky about food ( esp. in these situations - i know to not expect anything substantial ) but I would say the only thing worth having is the coffee. I would advise not to count on this for your breakfast.

Staff was cordial and we had no complications with our reservations. All in all this is a good value at 100.00 a night, for any higher rates I think that you would find better value in another property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The KI was excellent - upscale finishing with moderate pricing. Nice pool, relaxing spa, off main highway yet quiet, walking distance to too-cute downtown. Friendly staff, willing to make your trip its best.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the first floor easy access to pool & spa relaxation. 2nd floor had balconies not patios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have stayed here twice and in both times was pleased with the services and staff at the Kronborg Inn.The rooms are clean and nice,bed was very comfortable to sleep in.I love that its not right in the center of Solvang.The continental breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California, United States
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Place is old & outdated. Staff is stuffy & snobish. there was still some food from last traveler in our fridge. Every time we try one of these places in small towns we regret it. they don't have the amenities we are accustomed to in Hamptons & Holiday's. the breakfas was just danishes & coffee. the place was more expensive than the Holiday down the street with less to offer.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here over Labor day weekend and enjoyed ourselves very much! It is 2 short blocks to downtown, and we enjoyed not being in the middle of everything but still close. Our first night we booked through a travel site at a discounted rate. The room was beautiful, an amazingly comfortable bed, and a great view of the pool. We enjoyed our stay so much, we decided to stay another night, at a much higher price. We had to change rooms, and to second room was nice, but the fan in the bathroom didn't work and the microwave didn't work well. We still had a nice view, and my husband loved watching the cars drive by out the door. The breakfast was nice but standard, lots of carbs, but they did have a lot of yogurt which I liked. 2 of the gentlemen at the front desk were very helpful and very nice, and one gentleman was just there for the paycheck. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will be going back if we can find a good price

Room Tip: Rooms on the back or sides are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Growing up in Santa Barbara, I frequented Solvang quite a bit. As an adult, Solvang is a regular stop when going to wineries OR participating in one of the many bike tours. This is the first time I've ever stayed in Solvang. The location of the Kronborg Inn is good - it's not smack dab in the middle of town but is close enough to walk to everything. The people who work there are very nice, quite amenable. They have a very good continental breakfast. The room was very nice. Here's the main observation - it's as though the place has been trying to fix itself up. There are signs of past wear and tear: worn carpets, safety strips peeling off of the stair risers, chips in the baseboards. That said, it's a clean place, and like I said, convenient to shops - it's just not in super ship shape. One weird thing is the blinds in the rooms. Our room faced out to the pool area with a balcony - very cool; but at night, the security lights were on and they flooded our room with only sheers to block out the light. It did feel secure and like I said, everyone that worked there was very nice. I hope that they finish the fixing up - because it is a little pricey for the state it's in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Address: 1440 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kronborg Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kronborg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.