We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Great Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corque

Save Saved
You added Hotel Corque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Corque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Alisal Road, Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, CA 93464   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Solvang
santa monica, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel, Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here with my family during spring break. The room was spacious and very comfortable. It was very nice! The location is great right in town so you can walk to anything with close proximity to Santa Ynez wineries. We had the most delicious dinner at their restaurant. All around great!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    114
    37
    15
    20
See reviews for
64
180
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan, Utah
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

STAY ELSEWHERE - THERE ARE LOTS OF GOOD HOTELS IN THE SOLVANG AREA!!

This hotel is a text-book example of what appears to be a decent property from outward appearances, but the service stops at the fake professional appearance of the staff; they are rude, incompetent, they lie about specifics regarding property maintenance and their stating they would correct deficiences, and the amenties you are paying for are not useable due to poor maintenance and lack of materials (towels) and personnel who really care if a guest is satisfied. STAY ELSEWHERE - THERE ARE LOTS OF GOOD HOTELS IN THE SOLVANG AREA!!

I stayed there for three nights; and for each day/night I was there, the pool and jacuzzi area were very poorly maintained. The pool had debris floating in it each day, the bottom was filthy, and there were never ANY towels available for myself and several other guests who were as displeased as myself.

Despite numerous complaints by myself and other guests, all that any of us received were "I'm sorry", and lies of how the pool was cleaned each morning (It wasn't, and the few people who did bring towels from their room and left the wet ones there in the afternoon/evening had these same towels scattered on lounges, concrete, etc. the next morning.

My wife and I tried to use the jacuzzi and pool four (4) separate times the first two days there, and had no interest due to the lack of cleanliness (trash in pool area and around it); combined with no towels.

On the last day, I complained to the supervisor on duty named Jennifer (whom I had to go through a desk clerk named Josh who could only apologize with no corrective action). Even after that complaint, and promises of this being corrected shortly, nothing changed - and guests that evening who tried to swim or use the jacuzzi found a filthy environment and no towels.

In the morning, when checking out, the small "compensation" of a reduction in our hotel bill that Jennifer had promised us the night before was not provided in its entirty; the desk clerk checking us out told me how wrong I was about the credit being right (couldn't function without a calculator for simple math, and then couldn't even punch numbers right and tried to bluff her way through her multiple mistakes). Finally, the day supervisor Milton came over, realized that there was a mistake (constantly denied by this desk clerk and telling me I was wrong), and corrected it; but even he didn't properly provide the credit that was both promised by Jennifer and even stated in the notes of our room stay.

Room Tip: To get a good room, find another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a fabulous trip to the wine country. The hotel had been refurbished and was beautifully done. The wait staff was very courteous and went out of their way to make our stay great. The rooms were well appointed but just a touch smaller than I had hoped for. (We really didn't need any more room, anyway). Perfectly located in the heart of the Santa Ynez wine country. The casino there is top notch and the food at Root 246 was extremely tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed one night on way through to L.A. hotel is well appointed, modern, clean and comfortable. Great service as well. Had a room overlooking the lobby and driveway, I was initial concerned this would be quite noisy but it was very quite despite the hotel being busy. The hotel is within walking distance of shops and restaurants so a great central location to visit the town. Price for this area is on the medium to high end but reasonable compared to most of the higher end places in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We decided to stay here after finding a GREAT DEAL on Tripadvisor and we were headed to Solvang for an overnight stay. We booked a King Suite, it was located on the ground floor. Beautiful room,newly remodeled,very clean,it's a gorgeous comfortable room with adjoining living area with additional bathroom and small bar area,also had 2 small sitting patios overlooking San Ynez Mountains.We also received 2 free lunch buffets at their casino along with free shuttle service.The problem with the room didn't begin until we tried to sleep for the night.BEWARE OF ANYTHING OTHER THAN A TOP FLOOR ROOM!!! The floor to ceiling must be worn,old and outdated!! we could hear LOUDLY the walking and thumping and pounding of the above room over our bed,we unfortunately had nite owls above us who continued the pacing back and forth along with slamming of their sliding door until 4AM!! after calling front desk to complain the noise GOT LOUDER AND MORE ANNOYING. We had zero sleep and it was a very aggrivating tiring night. When I let the front desk know of our night, he confirmed the knowledge of the ceiling noise issue and only offered his card and his word to take good care of us on a next visit. Which I informed him would be doubtful. It would have been nice to know of this problem here ahead of time or at time of our check-in and let us decide at that time to have a different room.

Room Tip: Choose a TOP FLOOR ROOM. Don't stay in a room that has another room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Customer service was good. We were shuttled over to the casino free of charge for a lunch buffet free of charge (built into the cost of the room). The hotel's location is perfect for seeing all of what Solvang has to offer and is close to the wineries. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Solvang area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had reservations at another hotel in Solvang when we saw a Travelzoo offer for Hotel Corque, so we upgraded to the Corque and are glad we did. It's on the east edge of Solvang, within easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants. It also has a gourmet restaurant, Root 246, right next door. Since the hotel is owned by the Indian tribe that runs Chumash casino, they also have a free shuttle to the casino. It's a nice place to stay in wine country.

Room Tip: Our "mountain view" room had a better view of the parking lot than it did the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Corque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corque

Address: 400 Alisal Road, Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, CA 93464
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corque 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Corque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corque Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Corque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.