We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION IS GREAT!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corque

Save Saved
You added Hotel Corque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Corque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Alisal Road, Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, CA 93464   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“LOCATION IS GREAT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Location is on the East side of the villlage which is nice because it's quiet and close enough to explore all of the bakeries and shops. This hotel was recommended to us to stay at by a good friend and former neighbor. Her husbands "Celebration of Life" was held at The Willows inside of The Chumash Casino last Monday. Hotel Cirque is owned and operated by The Chumash and it is quite apparent by the quailty, cleanliness, warmth and welcoming staff. We didn't stay
at the Chumash Casino because the rooms were being renovated. I was a little disappointed that we couldn't stay at the Casino Hotel because of the Celebration being held there. But, my disapointmentment was quickly gone as soon as I stepped inside of of this hotel. Upon entering the first thing that comes to mind is the coziness of the fireplace, the high wood beamed ceilings, and interesting light fixtures. Not only are there two walk up registration counters, there are also 2 unique desks with people to assist with check in. We had been upgraded to a "premium room" and the room rate had been lowered due to the circumstances why we were there. We were in room 111. Location was quiet, had it's own patio looking out toward the pool. The room had nice furnishings, and lighting. It had a small coffee maker with an assortment of coffee and tea, mini fridge AND complimentary water. Bed and bedding was comfortable. Bathroom has a clear glass shower, two seperate wash basins, tall cabinet to keep a lot of "stuff" in, and upgraded toiletries.Bathroom has granite tops and stone flooring. The room was very comfortable. They do offer breakfast room service for $17.50 and $21.50 per person. We didn't try this as we wanted a fresh cup of coffee and a heated danish. Hey! We're in Solvang. There a re a lot of great places for lunch and dinner within 5 minutes, and a whole lot of wine tasting going on. This hotel does offer shuttle service to the Chumash Casino and??? Complimentary coffee and tea were in the lobby. I look forward to going back there for a couple of days. Very nice place to stay and it won't cost you an arm and a leg.

Room Tip: Stay in room 111. Great location on the first floor and close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    114
    37
    15
    20
See reviews for
64
180
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The location of the hotel is great. It is right in the middle of the little downtown area, yet on a side street and therefore very quiet.

The decor of the hotel is modern and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. The only critique I would have is the absence of a stocked mini bar which I would expect in a 4 Star hotel.

The hotel restaurant, Root 246, is also worth a visit although maybe more for cocktails than for the food itself which was nice but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on a room with a balcony as you will be overlooking a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I love this hotel..my first time there and it did not disappoint..the rooms were so lovely with their modern dacor..everything you need is in it-coffee maker, free bottled water and free wifi..the beds were sooo comfy and plush and everything looked new and clean..the amenities were quality also..I found out this is owned by the Chumash Indians and t the original hotel was the Royal Scandinavian and I believe they remodeledwhen they took over. They also have complimentary coffee in the hallway downstairs in the AM with cups to go..their coffee is great and a nice blend made locally in Santa Barbara...also personel was super nice and friendly! Ask for AAA rate amd you will be pleasantly surprised...only drawback is that they don't have a coffee shop on the premise but they do room service..however, ROOT 246 is right next door and we had a Fab gourmet dinner with a very professional, friendly waitress, Janet...Hotel Corque also give discounts for breakfast at 3 local restaurants in Solvany which is nice of them..Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room if you like to smoke since you can out there..also ask for a room with 2 sink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've been treated to a quiet cozy stay in a beautiful modern rose of a hotel.The Corque is a special hotel in a special area of coastal California.They are very friendly and gracious to the guests,also its in a quiet little mountain town of Salvang.You cant beat the privacy and service that is provided at this quiet location.A very pleasant place to stay.Its definitely one of my all time favorites.

Room Tip: just tell them pool-side any room they all face the mountain side.Beautiful in the mornings.....pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had read several negative reviews of this hotel, so my expectations were moderate. My wife and I were there for a wedding and this was the hotel set up for guests by the bride. It was expensive but it was priced comparable to other hotels in the area. Truth is that hotels are expensive in the area, so I did not feel ripped off.

Overall, this hotel is great. We had a room on the bottom floor (not ever my preference, but the hotel was full). I heard NO noise from upstairs or from outside (and we were facing the main street). The rooms are quite modern and the beds were comfortable. Free tea and coffee in the lobby and the hotel is about 2 minutes walking to the local mission.

Overall, its a great hotel, a little pricey but that's to be expected for the time (weekend) and the City (Solvang).

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We occasionally go to the Chumash Casino in Santa Ynez and stay in their hotel. However, it is being renovated, so we were booked at Corque in Solvang. Initially we were disappointed as it would be inconvenient to have to drive back and forth to Santa Ynez and also because boutique hotels are usually not our first choice.

However, we were pleasantly surprised. The lobby is bright and open and very attractive. Check in was friendly and efficient. Our room was quite attractive and pleasant with a very roomy patio with an attractive view of the landscaped grounds. Coffee was available 24/7 in the lobby. And parking was very convenient, a big improvement over the very inconvenient monster garage at Chumash. Our stay was so positive that we are considering staying there in the future despite the inconvenience of having to drive back and forth to the casino. It was also very quiet, and despite the fact that our room was on the first floor, we heard no noise from the rooms above.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Corque Hotel is located right in the charming town of Solvang. Walking distance from all the shops, restaurants, wine tasting, Danish bakery goodies and 'much, much more' as the saying goes. The staff is very accomodating and professional which sets a nice tone from the beginning. The decor is subdued and comfortable with a bit of the luxurious. Our room was in blond & beige with dark wood furniture, soft white duvet covers and the crispiest sheets ever! It was delicious to snuggle into our beds after a nice dinner/wine tasting. Awakened to gorgeous sunshine glimmering on the pool outside and a lovely view of the green trees and rolling hills. We got a coupon for a wonderful brunch at the gourmet restaurant right next door too. This has to be one of the best , most convenient stays in the area. The Hotel Corque is a world of difference from the hotel that was on this site previously. A good example of a makeover done right. Bravo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Corque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corque

Address: 400 Alisal Road, Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, CA 93464
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corque 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Corque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corque Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Corque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.