We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the sweet spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corque

Save Saved
You added Hotel Corque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Corque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Alisal Road, Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, CA 93464   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Ventura, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the sweet spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've been treated to a quiet cozy stay in a beautiful modern rose of a hotel.The Corque is a special hotel in a special area of coastal California.They are very friendly and gracious to the guests,also its in a quiet little mountain town of Salvang.You cant beat the privacy and service that is provided at this quiet location.A very pleasant place to stay.Its definitely one of my all time favorites.

Room Tip: just tell them pool-side any room they all face the mountain side.Beautiful in the mornings.....pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    116
    37
    15
    20
See reviews for
64
185
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had read several negative reviews of this hotel, so my expectations were moderate. My wife and I were there for a wedding and this was the hotel set up for guests by the bride. It was expensive but it was priced comparable to other hotels in the area. Truth is that hotels are expensive in the area, so I did not feel ripped off.

Overall, this hotel is great. We had a room on the bottom floor (not ever my preference, but the hotel was full). I heard NO noise from upstairs or from outside (and we were facing the main street). The rooms are quite modern and the beds were comfortable. Free tea and coffee in the lobby and the hotel is about 2 minutes walking to the local mission.

Overall, its a great hotel, a little pricey but that's to be expected for the time (weekend) and the City (Solvang).

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We occasionally go to the Chumash Casino in Santa Ynez and stay in their hotel. However, it is being renovated, so we were booked at Corque in Solvang. Initially we were disappointed as it would be inconvenient to have to drive back and forth to Santa Ynez and also because boutique hotels are usually not our first choice.

However, we were pleasantly surprised. The lobby is bright and open and very attractive. Check in was friendly and efficient. Our room was quite attractive and pleasant with a very roomy patio with an attractive view of the landscaped grounds. Coffee was available 24/7 in the lobby. And parking was very convenient, a big improvement over the very inconvenient monster garage at Chumash. Our stay was so positive that we are considering staying there in the future despite the inconvenience of having to drive back and forth to the casino. It was also very quiet, and despite the fact that our room was on the first floor, we heard no noise from the rooms above.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Corque Hotel is located right in the charming town of Solvang. Walking distance from all the shops, restaurants, wine tasting, Danish bakery goodies and 'much, much more' as the saying goes. The staff is very accomodating and professional which sets a nice tone from the beginning. The decor is subdued and comfortable with a bit of the luxurious. Our room was in blond & beige with dark wood furniture, soft white duvet covers and the crispiest sheets ever! It was delicious to snuggle into our beds after a nice dinner/wine tasting. Awakened to gorgeous sunshine glimmering on the pool outside and a lovely view of the green trees and rolling hills. We got a coupon for a wonderful brunch at the gourmet restaurant right next door too. This has to be one of the best , most convenient stays in the area. The Hotel Corque is a world of difference from the hotel that was on this site previously. A good example of a makeover done right. Bravo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This stay was most enjoyable, ideally located close to the Chumash Casino, and wineries and of course it's location in lovely Solvang made it even that much better! Would definitely stay there again I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Solvang, an hour or so north east of Santa Barbara is known as Little Denmark. Lovely spot. Lots on good wineries that are easy to get to far outweigh a town that is seemingly aimed purely at tourists. They do not let you forget you are in, apparently, "Little Denmark". Still. Mrs Eyes Wide Open and this reviewer went to Solvang for a wedding, and picked this hotel mainly for its location to middle of town but also, relevantly, for its reviews on Tripadvisor. Tip? To get here, US Route 101 north from Santa Barbara is quicker than the smaller, more trafficked, US Route 154, tho - in small parts - the 154 has some OK views.

The hotel itself was, in this experienced reviewers opinion, rather underwhelming. I read the reviews, and I see the positives, but quite frankly, there is some large gaps in this hotel's resume. Especially in this price point, which was eye watering relative to the quality it delivered. Usual format for my reviews; the room itself, the good, the not so good and the conclusion; We would not return and urge others to very picky about which rooms upfront. Some tips below..

The room itself? Normal. Average. Flat screen tv, decent selection of in-room TV channels (different languages), in room a/c & heating, fridge in room that was empty (a good thing in my view) Water was free (funny how that is a perk, though probably because it was sponsored by the local casino). Wall 'art' looked like a piece of balsa wood though the attempt at a feature wall was noted. Power points plentiful, tho not in the most useful places. Bathroom/Shower was modern and had good pressure: the room we had had two sinks, with one having a make up mirror. There was in room iron and board, tho no in room safe. Alarm clock had iPod/iPhone charging (not 5g compatible tho).

The good?
1) Free wifi with decent speeds. I have written nearing 40 reviews and this is a pet peeve of mine: this hotel gets it right, tho with this price point per room, you expect it to.
2) Location: as others have mentioned, the hotel is in the middle of town, 20 foot from Copenhagen Street. That said, 'town' is maybe 4 blocks. So walking is not exactly challenging either. In the positives column.
3) If gambling is your thing, there was a shuttle to the casino. Easily accessible.
4) Parking is free and ample. Plenty of parking for people with disabilities too.

The good however, were (far) outweighed by the bad, not all of it the fault of the hotel to be fair, but how they handled it - as other reviewers have commented - badly needs tightening up.
1) Front desk was a very mixed experienced. Check in good, especially so given it was quite late. Check out was nothing special, no questions about the stay etc. Complaining about the 2 yr old screaming at midnight received very short shrift.
2) Re check in request for one king or one queen bed not honored. Other reviews mention this too: We requested but did not receive the room: instead, two double beds. Bed comfort, for this reviewer, as a result was not great. Subjective, agreed, but this reviewer has stayed at plenty of hotels to know.
3) Guest placement: hotels fundamentally know who they are putting in what room. You do not, for example, put a young family with very young children in an interconnecting room. Young children scream. Alot. Inter-connecting rooms have paper thin walls (and these were especially so: you could hear conversations clearly next door). Hotel did not have ear plugs (we checked). And could not move us because, apparently, they were full. A bit better foresight and planning by the hotel would save everyone hassle: simple stuff in this reviewers opinion. We asked to move the following day and hotel management, bluntly put, did not seem to care. And did not offer any options or compensation. Tip? Do NOT stay in one of their interconnected rooms. Ask to move.
4) Room itself was noisy: as other reviews mention, the lobby - bellmen free - is loud. The above said child could be clearly heard screaming before we even got to our ground floor room. And then we discovered it was inter-connecting. Tip? Do NOT stay on the ground floor. Avoid the noise..
5) No 'hassle free' check out. You had to line up, wait, sort it all out and then go. Again, small thing easily fixed.

Conclusion? I can see the merits of the hotel and that is reflected in the positive reviews: that said, those other reviews miss some obvious flaws. Which is why this reviewer would not return. The tips above may remedy some of the issues, which I would head.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I visited Solvang with my mother and had to stay at the Marriott years back - it was a bit out of town so I was delighted to find Hotel Corque for this visit. The hotel is modern and a welcome surprise in this old danish town. The lobby is inviting with high back chairs and cork decor. The staff were helpful and attentive. Our room was a king balcony - unfortunately we overlooked the parking lot but off to the right you could see hills. The room was clean and bed was very comfortable while the linens were top rate - very nice. The pool area was small but good for just hanging out and they had a hot tub which later in the afternoon as the sun went down was perfect. Walking around town at night after dinner was romantic and fun and if you are up for a casino run the hotel offers a shuttle. We only stayed one night but it was excellent option for this town and the area.

Room Tip: I would have preferred a pool view with hills as opposed to our parking lot balcony - likely would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Corque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corque

Address: 400 Alisal Road, Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, CA 93464
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corque 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Corque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corque Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Corque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.