We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class service and rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corque

Save Saved
You added Hotel Corque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Corque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Alisal Road, Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, CA 93464   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Solvang
North Hills, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“first class service and rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This stay was most enjoyable, ideally located close to the Chumash Casino, and wineries and of course it's location in lovely Solvang made it even that much better! Would definitely stay there again I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    117
    37
    15
    20
See reviews for
66
187
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Solvang, an hour or so north east of Santa Barbara is known as Little Denmark. Lovely spot. Lots on good wineries that are easy to get to far outweigh a town that is seemingly aimed purely at tourists. They do not let you forget you are in, apparently, "Little Denmark". Still. Mrs Eyes Wide Open and this reviewer went to Solvang for a wedding, and picked this hotel mainly for its location to middle of town but also, relevantly, for its reviews on Tripadvisor. Tip? To get here, US Route 101 north from Santa Barbara is quicker than the smaller, more trafficked, US Route 154, tho - in small parts - the 154 has some OK views.

The hotel itself was, in this experienced reviewers opinion, rather underwhelming. I read the reviews, and I see the positives, but quite frankly, there is some large gaps in this hotel's resume. Especially in this price point, which was eye watering relative to the quality it delivered. Usual format for my reviews; the room itself, the good, the not so good and the conclusion; We would not return and urge others to very picky about which rooms upfront. Some tips below..

The room itself? Normal. Average. Flat screen tv, decent selection of in-room TV channels (different languages), in room a/c & heating, fridge in room that was empty (a good thing in my view) Water was free (funny how that is a perk, though probably because it was sponsored by the local casino). Wall 'art' looked like a piece of balsa wood though the attempt at a feature wall was noted. Power points plentiful, tho not in the most useful places. Bathroom/Shower was modern and had good pressure: the room we had had two sinks, with one having a make up mirror. There was in room iron and board, tho no in room safe. Alarm clock had iPod/iPhone charging (not 5g compatible tho).

The good?
1) Free wifi with decent speeds. I have written nearing 40 reviews and this is a pet peeve of mine: this hotel gets it right, tho with this price point per room, you expect it to.
2) Location: as others have mentioned, the hotel is in the middle of town, 20 foot from Copenhagen Street. That said, 'town' is maybe 4 blocks. So walking is not exactly challenging either. In the positives column.
3) If gambling is your thing, there was a shuttle to the casino. Easily accessible.
4) Parking is free and ample. Plenty of parking for people with disabilities too.

The good however, were (far) outweighed by the bad, not all of it the fault of the hotel to be fair, but how they handled it - as other reviewers have commented - badly needs tightening up.
1) Front desk was a very mixed experienced. Check in good, especially so given it was quite late. Check out was nothing special, no questions about the stay etc. Complaining about the 2 yr old screaming at midnight received very short shrift.
2) Re check in request for one king or one queen bed not honored. Other reviews mention this too: We requested but did not receive the room: instead, two double beds. Bed comfort, for this reviewer, as a result was not great. Subjective, agreed, but this reviewer has stayed at plenty of hotels to know.
3) Guest placement: hotels fundamentally know who they are putting in what room. You do not, for example, put a young family with very young children in an interconnecting room. Young children scream. Alot. Inter-connecting rooms have paper thin walls (and these were especially so: you could hear conversations clearly next door). Hotel did not have ear plugs (we checked). And could not move us because, apparently, they were full. A bit better foresight and planning by the hotel would save everyone hassle: simple stuff in this reviewers opinion. We asked to move the following day and hotel management, bluntly put, did not seem to care. And did not offer any options or compensation. Tip? Do NOT stay in one of their interconnected rooms. Ask to move.
4) Room itself was noisy: as other reviews mention, the lobby - bellmen free - is loud. The above said child could be clearly heard screaming before we even got to our ground floor room. And then we discovered it was inter-connecting. Tip? Do NOT stay on the ground floor. Avoid the noise..
5) No 'hassle free' check out. You had to line up, wait, sort it all out and then go. Again, small thing easily fixed.

Conclusion? I can see the merits of the hotel and that is reflected in the positive reviews: that said, those other reviews miss some obvious flaws. Which is why this reviewer would not return. The tips above may remedy some of the issues, which I would head.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I visited Solvang with my mother and had to stay at the Marriott years back - it was a bit out of town so I was delighted to find Hotel Corque for this visit. The hotel is modern and a welcome surprise in this old danish town. The lobby is inviting with high back chairs and cork decor. The staff were helpful and attentive. Our room was a king balcony - unfortunately we overlooked the parking lot but off to the right you could see hills. The room was clean and bed was very comfortable while the linens were top rate - very nice. The pool area was small but good for just hanging out and they had a hot tub which later in the afternoon as the sun went down was perfect. Walking around town at night after dinner was romantic and fun and if you are up for a casino run the hotel offers a shuttle. We only stayed one night but it was excellent option for this town and the area.

Room Tip: I would have preferred a pool view with hills as opposed to our parking lot balcony - likely would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This could be a really nice hotel. But, upon arrival there was no bellman to help us with our luggage. We were to have a room with a king bed. Instead we were given a room with two queen beds. We went back to the front desk to change rooms. The receptionist was very short with us and said there were no more king beds available and that one had never been requested.
The rooms were nicely decorated with some great lighting accents. The bathroom is nice with two separate sinks. Unfortunately the shower is leaking and there is water damage on the walls, not very pretty!! The refrigerator was so noisy that we had to unplug it to sleep. There are no safes in the room. The balconies view the parking lot and are not private. If your drapes are open your neighbor can see in your room from their balcony. If you look past the parking lot there is a nice view of the mountains! The room smelled of such heavy disinfectant that we had to go buy a candle.
For what they charge they need to make some improvements, especially a more courteous staff. The weekend before we stayed at the Ritz Carlton for less and we were treated much better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I purchased a deal on Tripadvisor, only $99 a night. Booked two rooms as we were traveling with my parents. Loved the hotel and staff. Wish prices had not gone up so much -- they are remodeling the Casino so all guests are staying here (I have heard from locals). Overall excellent property!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times and was very impressed with the service, cleanliness and room decor. Very comfortable beds, too. Please don't let the exterior of the hotel fool you: The outside may resemble a architecturally correct Scandivadian building, but inside you will find a sleek, modern and very hip hotel. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012. Very convenient location in Solvang and to Coquelicot Vineyard where we attended a wedding. The wedding party and most of the family stayed at this hotel so it was a great time having everyone under the same roof. Probably the nicest hotel in Solvang. Room wasn't too crowded with 3 adults. Definitely would stay here again. No complaints whatsoever!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #150 on the first floor (obviously). The room was furthest away from the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Corque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corque

Address: 400 Alisal Road, Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, CA 93464
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corque 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Corque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corque Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Corque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.