We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Minimalist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamlet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hamlet Inn to your Saves list
Hamlet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Think Minimalist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Sure, the Hamlet Inn is not a luxury hotel, but that's the beauty of staying here. At first glance, the room is very bare. There are no head boards on the beds, no dressers, microwave or any other unnecessary add on in the room; it leaves plenty of space in the room to place your bags when you go shopping. It also has a huge shower, complimentary wi-fi, a fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer and the front desk provided me with a voucher for a complimentary breakfast at Olsen's Bakery across the street. There is also a small lounge area outside as well as free bike rental (just ask the front desk person for the keys to unlock the chains). Unfortunately, the parking is very limited and the parking spaces are slightly narrow for SUVs and vans. Noise was also a problem at night and dawn mainly because the adjacent room was celebrating a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
30
85
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here for a couples weekend and the other couple selected this hotel. We weren't expecting too much because it's Solvang and unless you plan on spending $400/night you are not getting an amazing hotel, but this place does the job well! It reminds me of a hybrid, boutique inn and you can tell that they've put their own unique touches.

There are a total of 16 rooms with close, convenient parking. The front desk rep was very friendly and helpful with directions. It is in a great location of the town. The free bikes are a great touch and very nice way to see the town. We stayed at the Royal Copenhagen last time and this is definitely a step up from that. Very pleased!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well, The Hamlet Inn is well located in Solvang. It's a nice thing to be able to walk to dinner or breakfast. The disadvantage to being on the main drag, of course, is that it was a bit noisy. Our bathroom window was facing the street. If you go here, maybe request a room further back. This room was sparse, just like the other reviews have said. I guess that's alright for a couple of days, but the lack of ANY counter space in the bathroom was kind of a drag. If you came here with kids, it might be terrible. No dresser-no closet-no nightstand, just a rack for your suitcase. Bed was just fine, nice flat screen TV, good sized fridge, and we used the 2 for one pass on a couple of wine tastings.

Room Tip: Choose a room back from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Stayed here two nights. The only really good thing was the location. The room was pretty depressing. Not much light because of the dark paint color. No headboard, no dresser. No counter space in the bathroom. When you enter the room your looking directly at the toilet. Everything pretty minimal. Would not stay here again.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We found this place to be very simple but nice and comfy for this tourist-laden village. The bed was very comfortable and the room sparse with furniture, but I would rather have a large, comfy bed than extra furniture we didn't need. The people in the reception area were pleasant. Continental breakfast is provided at the bakery across the street, so the danishes are wonderful in the morning. Will remember this place for another visit to Solvang.

Room Tip: All rooms are quaint and away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Maybe I didn't have too much luck.... I've read some reviews of the rooms in this hotel and everyone liked it.... But mine had only one bed, one small fridge, a table, a TV and an Ipod base. And that was it. Literally! The room 16 is the most simple room I've ever stayed in my tourist life, I have to say. The lady in the reception desk was adorable to us at all times, which was a bonus to me. She even gave us some wine passes! :)

From the outside, the hotel looked very charming to me, but the room got me really disappointed, I must say.... If you can get a good rate, go for it. Otherwise, it might not be a very good deal (I ended up going there in the middle of the Solvang Parade and paid USD 169 per night! Very pricey!)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The pillows were stained. The room was sparse and there was trash in the refrigerator from the last tenant. I tried to get ice at 8:30 pm but the office was locked and the only excuse the next day was "Oh, we had someplace to go." On the last day, we returned to our room from breakfast (well before checkout time) to find our room already turned over by the maid.

The price was reasonable (for Solvang) and it is the best location in town. Free bicycles were available for those over 18, but since we were there for wine-tasting, pedaling 50 or 60 miles a day with lots of drunks on the road did not seem advisable. The motel DID give us a card allowing 2 for 1 tastings at a variety of wineries. Two were on our destination list, so we did save about $25.
I would probably stay there again, but I really can't wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Address: 1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hamlet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is located in the heart of downtown Solvang. Within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, its a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer.Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamlet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.