We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July Getaway/ Quaint European Motel-Cute, Clean, & In the Heart of Solvang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamlet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hamlet Inn to your Saves list
Hamlet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Los Alamitos
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“4th of July Getaway/ Quaint European Motel-Cute, Clean, & In the Heart of Solvang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We don't normally stay at a Motel but we had no choice because of our last minute planning. The place is clean, easy to access, has a small refrigerator, and most importantly air condition. This motel is directly across from Paul's Pancake house.

If you're here for the 4th of July, you'll have a great view of their local parade.


Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    51
    34
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
81
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Simple, clean room. There's a coffee maker and a mini fridge. The location is ideal in this adorable little town; there are several eateries and shops right across the street.

My husband and I aren't looking for frills in our hotel - just clean sheets and a nice shower. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Within walking distance of center of town,bakery's,good breakfast...etc.
Good wifi here,clean, parking,food,convenient location...etc.
The only thing I didn't like is that the other owners used to offer breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Inn is well placed in the centre of Solvang - ideal for a visit to see this unusual bit of Denmark in California and close to good retaurants and wine bars. Room is decorated in a minimalist way - white walls, little furniture - but is roomy enough, has a comfortable bed and gives you that Danish feel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Happy to recommend this motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Located in the centre of town and across the Street from Paula's Pancakes & Solvang Brewing, perfect for a drink at the end of the day and pancakes in morning. Anthony was a friendly & helpful host. The bikes are free and a quick and fun way to see the town. Easily forget you are in California, feels more like somewhere in Switzerland!
We had a corner room, with two beds (but you had to pass through one to use the bathroom) and had no issue with noise. Very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Amazing how a small room can be made so efficient that it doesn't seem as small as it is! The parking is free and the location is excellent. Once parked, we never used the car. Everything was within walking distance. There's no laundry or restuarant at the hotel, but thereare several eateries nearby, and a laundromat a few blocks away, if needed. Paula's Pancake House is just across the street, plus the hotel provided a voucher for Olsen's bakery next to Paula's. A plus at this hotel was it also had air-conditioning, which I learned was not a given on our California Coast Trip. Most hotels did NOT have air conditioning, and in the middle of summer, having air at the Hamlet made it one of my favorite hotels on our 9 day trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Super cute hotel in the perfect location. They let us see two rooms & pick the best one suited for us. Rooms are clean, spacious, & fun. Love the unique decor. Great for my husband, myself, and our baby. Plenty of room for her pack n play. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Address: 1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hamlet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is located in the heart of downtown Solvang. Within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, its a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer.Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamlet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.