We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamlet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hamlet Inn to your Saves list
Hamlet Inn
1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
southern cal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1 night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed only 1 night. Arrived early, were allowed to check in early. Helpful front desk (great lunch tip: Succulent Cafe). Clean no-frills room. Comfortable bed. Great central location! Solvang and the surrounding Santa Ynez Valley (loved Los Olivos) are beautiful. I'd definitely come again, and hopefully stay another night or two! Can't beat the price! (Don't miss the miniature horses at Quicksilver Ranch - we saw a 5 day old newborn...adorable!)

Room Tip: Across the street from the Brewery - the only place in town that is open late! No driving after a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    51
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
80
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

15 units with new comfy mattresses, wonderful bedding/pillows, hot running water (had to run it for a little while, it's still March with 49 degrees at night), roomy with sofa & great staff. Clean bathrooms & carpets look new. Danish modern furnishings are just the basic needs. Stayed in unit 01 upstairs overlooking the whole downtown street. All the restaurants & great shops nearby. A little gem with just what you need. I'd come here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Solvang is pretty, and the hotel is great. Located right in the middle of town, so there is no need to use your car. Lots of local restaurants and eateries, and plenty of shops to browse. Rooms were nice, unique and original. And whilst we were here only for one night, I think there would be no reason to spend an entire week here absorbing the beauty of the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I did a lot of reading up on hotels in Solvang, and The Hamlet Inn definitely has some of the best rates in town. This is not a cheap area to stay, so this hotel is a deal.

The Location I would give a perfect rating to. It's right across the street from the best bakery in town (Olsen's) and one of the few restaurants open late (Solvang Brewing Co.), and it's on the main street of Solvang.

The bathroom area is very home-like, but in a good way. The water pressure is great. The shower is not huge, but not small, either. It was good.

The bed was very comfy, as well. Good, fluffly pillows. The TV was mounted on the wall and there was a wide selection of channels. Free bike rentals, too! When we got there, the owner gave us a complimentary bottle of wine because it was our honeymoon and two wine glasses, which was so sweet :) The maid service was fantastic. They came no matter what time of day we left the room and once we had forgotten to remove our night-time clothes from the bed, and they folded them neatly for us :)

Downsides? There was really no other room decor. It isn't a hotel room you would be likely to photograph. Just two little bedside tables, a chair, and a little fridge underneath the closet area. No microwave, although we didn't ask for one, so you might be able to get one if you ask. I didn't mind that the area was sparse. It felt homey. The internet connection was terrible, but that seemed to be a problem with all of Solvang - the signals just aren't that great.

I was overall super satisfied with the price and the experience. If you're looking for a luxurious hotel experience, this isn't the place. If you're looking for a nice, clean, cheap, cozy place to stay and sleep while you're enjoying the rest of Solvang, this is the right place to go.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a bizarre shape, but it had good privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hamlet Inn is a good option if you don't want to spend too much time at the hotel and explore Solvang instead. The hotel is perfect for that. It's price point is good for the area. No frills but very comfortable and also has all the basics. Wireless is free and it is good. The best feature of the hotel is the location which is right on Mission and jut opposite Paula's Pancake and Solvang brewery. The inn has no food options but you don't need it as
Everything is just a stroll away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Solvang on the spur of the moment one holiday weekend and decided to spend the night if we could get a room. This was the only room available, and knowing they could charge double on a holiday weekend, it wasn't inexpensive. The room was the most barren, stripped down room I've ever stayed in. It was clean, but that's about all I could say for it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

we stayed for my girlfriends birthday very nice simple place quiet and right across from the solvang brewery and close to everything else they also have free bikes to ride around town if you get tired of walking we look forward to getting back we will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Address: 1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our Danish Modern furnishings and amenities such as Vers ipod docks and free wireless internet. We're located in the heart of downtown Solvang, within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, its a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer.Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamlet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.