We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel with Good Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamlet Inn

Save Saved
You added Hamlet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hamlet Inn
1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Antioch, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel with Good Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I did a lot of reading up on hotels in Solvang, and The Hamlet Inn definitely has some of the best rates in town. This is not a cheap area to stay, so this hotel is a deal.

The Location I would give a perfect rating to. It's right across the street from the best bakery in town (Olsen's) and one of the few restaurants open late (Solvang Brewing Co.), and it's on the main street of Solvang.

The bathroom area is very home-like, but in a good way. The water pressure is great. The shower is not huge, but not small, either. It was good.

The bed was very comfy, as well. Good, fluffly pillows. The TV was mounted on the wall and there was a wide selection of channels. Free bike rentals, too! When we got there, the owner gave us a complimentary bottle of wine because it was our honeymoon and two wine glasses, which was so sweet :) The maid service was fantastic. They came no matter what time of day we left the room and once we had forgotten to remove our night-time clothes from the bed, and they folded them neatly for us :)

Downsides? There was really no other room decor. It isn't a hotel room you would be likely to photograph. Just two little bedside tables, a chair, and a little fridge underneath the closet area. No microwave, although we didn't ask for one, so you might be able to get one if you ask. I didn't mind that the area was sparse. It felt homey. The internet connection was terrible, but that seemed to be a problem with all of Solvang - the signals just aren't that great.

I was overall super satisfied with the price and the experience. If you're looking for a luxurious hotel experience, this isn't the place. If you're looking for a nice, clean, cheap, cozy place to stay and sleep while you're enjoying the rest of Solvang, this is the right place to go.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a bizarre shape, but it had good privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
72
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hamlet Inn is a good option if you don't want to spend too much time at the hotel and explore Solvang instead. The hotel is perfect for that. It's price point is good for the area. No frills but very comfortable and also has all the basics. Wireless is free and it is good. The best feature of the hotel is the location which is right on Mission and jut opposite Paula's Pancake and Solvang brewery. The inn has no food options but you don't need it as
Everything is just a stroll away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Solvang on the spur of the moment one holiday weekend and decided to spend the night if we could get a room. This was the only room available, and knowing they could charge double on a holiday weekend, it wasn't inexpensive. The room was the most barren, stripped down room I've ever stayed in. It was clean, but that's about all I could say for it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

we stayed for my girlfriends birthday very nice simple place quiet and right across from the solvang brewery and close to everything else they also have free bikes to ride around town if you get tired of walking we look forward to getting back we will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Modern decor, comfortable rooms with a friendly, knowledgable staff that can map out all of the towns spoils. Prime location and modest price made staying here a no brainer. Easily the best value I've found in Solvang.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

First, let's talk location. The Hamlet Inn is located in the center of town, making it perfect for walking to the local bakeries, shoppes and restaurants. The energetic and helpful staff offers tips on wine tasting routes, meals and information about unique local areas/events you might otherwise miss. Complimentary bicycles are available for cruising about town and you can even play a game of bocce ball near the gazebo area! Rooms are cozy, comfy and reminiscent of a European inn. One stay and this will be "your" spot in the Santa Ynez Valley!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

There is absolutely nothing bad to say about Hamlet Inn. Great location, it's inexpensive and offers the basic amenities. We will continue to stay here as everything else in Solvang is an over priced tourist trap. Free pastry coupons and bikes for free!? Who could resist this little gem of a great hotel?. Thank you Hamlet Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang
Address: 1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our Danish Modern furnishings and amenities such as Vers ipod docks and free wireless internet. We're located in the heart of downtown Solvang, within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, its a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer.Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamlet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.