We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We ducked a bullet by not staying here.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hamlet Inn

Save Saved
You added Hamlet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamlet Inn
1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We ducked a bullet by not staying here.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We needed to be in Solvang, CA on business for four nights and usually stay at the Hamlet as its in the center of things there for us. When I phoned for reservations, there was no room available for those four nights, so we booked at another hotel. They told us there were new owners and the rooms have been completely remodeled. Out of curiosity, we went on line and discovered the decor to be very different from the previous, or that of any other hotel we have stayed at. We dropped by to check out the rooms to see if we'd want to stay there another time. We have never seen hotel rooms that were less inconvenient than these; no nightstands, no credenza, no place for toiletries in the bathroom, no table or desk, just a board attached to the wall under the window and a couple basic wooden chairs. No lamps, just a couple dim bulbs hanging on wires from the ceiling at either side of the bed. We were told that the decor is contemporary Danish Modern ala Ikea. If you travel with just a small soft bag and a toothbrush, the Hamlet will work for you, but it doesn't work for us.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on line before calling for reservations.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    51
    31
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
77
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very good location for this hotel as it was steps from the main part of the village. The room was clean and had a nice, simple contemporary decor. The overall look, feel and location of the property are definitely in the 'plus' category. The couple negatives that we experienced. We stayed on a Friday night and there was ridiculously loud music coming from perhaps a bar or restaurant across Mission Road and it could be clearly heard in the room. Second, on Saturday morning, there was no hot water in the bathroom. I called to the desk and they started working on the issue and told us they hoped to have it fixed shortly. After an hour, we had to go, so we just took cold showers. Just as we were leaving the room, they called to say it was fixed. Now, I understand things like this happen, and at small places, it can't be fixed immediately. I have no issue with that. My issue is that when we checked out, they made no offer to take off a little on the bill for the hot water or anything for the inconvenience. They seemed pretty indifferent about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Heaters are very loud, even if you turn yours off, your neighbors' heater are sufficiently loud to interfere with sleep. Very minimalist furnishings, poor and slow wifi. The staff is friendly and helpful though. The bike for rental is fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First visit to Solvang while visiting family in California. Best thing about this place is the location in town. Within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. A unique motel (furnishings are from IKEA) and it doesn't have many amenities so it’s great place if you are looking for just a place to lay your head. If you are traveling with kids, you may want to look elsewhere since there is no pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We came back to the Hamlet Inn, due to its awesome location in Solvang and minimalist decor. We were right across the street from the Viking Room which was playing live music, the Olsen Bakery, and multiple wine bars and tastings. Overall the room is super clean and comfy and we're a brisk walk from the main drag in Solvang. A delightful place and hope to visit soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hamlet Inn with two other couples traveling together. My brother had called to hold the three rooms, and upon arrival the manager gave my brother a discount on his room, but didnt extend a discount to the rest of our party paying separately on each room. Just seemed really odd, and gave a poor impression upon checking in. The rooms themselves were suitable - sparse furnishings in danish style, but super clean and comfortable. It was a chilly night and due to a large crack under the door the room would grow quite cold before the heater would kick on, then be very warm until it turned off. Not a sound nights sleep as the walls are quite thin, could hear other rooms heaters turning on and off all night, and quite a bit of parking lot noise through the wall. However - all that said it is in a great location with easy walking to everything of interest downtown. Ok for one night's stay but if you're looking for a quiet getaway weekend this isnt the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

During a 3 week tour of southern California, my wife and I stayed in 7 different hotels/motels, all of which were chosen primarily based on Tripadvisor reviews. While the Hamlet Inn was OK for the 2 nights we stayed in Solvang, we ranked it lower than the the other six places we stayed in.

Re-reading reviews after having stayed in this motel-like Inn, I have difficulty understanding the rationale for the Excellent reviews - which, unfortunately raised my expectations. What we liked - comfortable bed, clean room, convenient location, helpful owners (good recommendations for restaurants and winery visits) and the continental breakfast at Olsen's Bakery across the street. What we were disappointed with - the sparse furnishings in our room (we had to borrow a second chair from the office so we could watch TV), the thin walls between us and the adjoining room (our next door neighbours were noisily amorous); the lack of Internet reception in our room (#12 - because of its location we were told - that may be the reason but it's no excuse in today's marketplace); the lack of a common area or lobby where guests could sit (other than the gazebo situated between the parking lot and the street which had uncomfortable wooden chairs to sit on); no pool (my fault for not noticing this when I booked the room). While the average cost of $119 per night was lower than what other local hotels were charging, we still didn't think we got good "value for money".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Address: 1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our Danish Modern furnishings and amenities such as Vers ipod docks and free wireless internet. We're located in the heart of downtown Solvang, within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, its a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer.Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamlet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.