We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hamlet Inn

Save Saved
You added Hamlet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamlet Inn
1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hamlet Inn with two other couples traveling together. My brother had called to hold the three rooms, and upon arrival the manager gave my brother a discount on his room, but didnt extend a discount to the rest of our party paying separately on each room. Just seemed really odd, and gave a poor impression upon checking in. The rooms themselves were suitable - sparse furnishings in danish style, but super clean and comfortable. It was a chilly night and due to a large crack under the door the room would grow quite cold before the heater would kick on, then be very warm until it turned off. Not a sound nights sleep as the walls are quite thin, could hear other rooms heaters turning on and off all night, and quite a bit of parking lot noise through the wall. However - all that said it is in a great location with easy walking to everything of interest downtown. Ok for one night's stay but if you're looking for a quiet getaway weekend this isnt the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    51
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
76
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

During a 3 week tour of southern California, my wife and I stayed in 7 different hotels/motels, all of which were chosen primarily based on Tripadvisor reviews. While the Hamlet Inn was OK for the 2 nights we stayed in Solvang, we ranked it lower than the the other six places we stayed in.

Re-reading reviews after having stayed in this motel-like Inn, I have difficulty understanding the rationale for the Excellent reviews - which, unfortunately raised my expectations. What we liked - comfortable bed, clean room, convenient location, helpful owners (good recommendations for restaurants and winery visits) and the continental breakfast at Olsen's Bakery across the street. What we were disappointed with - the sparse furnishings in our room (we had to borrow a second chair from the office so we could watch TV), the thin walls between us and the adjoining room (our next door neighbours were noisily amorous); the lack of Internet reception in our room (#12 - because of its location we were told - that may be the reason but it's no excuse in today's marketplace); the lack of a common area or lobby where guests could sit (other than the gazebo situated between the parking lot and the street which had uncomfortable wooden chairs to sit on); no pool (my fault for not noticing this when I booked the room). While the average cost of $119 per night was lower than what other local hotels were charging, we still didn't think we got good "value for money".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Take an old motel, clean it up, use creative minimalist fixtures and you will have the Hamlet Inn. We arrived after 6pm and did not have the opportunity to really enjoy what Solvang has to offer, but it was obvious that the Hamlet was in the best location when it came to exploring the town. The rooms are clean and spacious and great for a one night stay.
It was cool outside and we wish we could have had fresh air circulation, but the windows opened to the parking lot and we could not leave the drapes open. There is, however, an A/C unit in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night and the motel is wonderful. If you are looking for a 4 star hotel, this is not the place for you. The rooms are in the Scandinavian style so are a bit minimalist looking, but everything is there and the rooms are quite spacious, very clean, and comfortable. We were there for the 3rd Wednesday wine walk and Jessy at the front desk was great. She showed us the wineries and breweries she liked best, and we had such a fantastic time in our one day stay at this inn. It is right on the main street and very centrally located. There is a good breakfast place right across the street too. They even sent us a personalized hand written postcard thanking us for our stay. Definitely recommend the Hamlet Inn!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Awesome, affordable, nice staff, great location. My favorite hotel ever! We got coupons for danishes - to the cafe across the street. Walked everywhere. Clean, comfortable, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Hamlet Inn is spotlessly clean and the simple modern room decor is a welcome change from the usual hotel bedroom. Friendly and efficient front desk made check in a breeze. Free bicycles to explore the town are a great idea. Being in the centre of town means restaurants and bars are close by, but also gives a bit of traffic noise in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

My niece and I had the opportunity for a quick little get away and we picked Solvang. Quaint little town and The Hamlet Inn was a quaint and very accommodating place to stay. We had lots of room and nice beds and bedding. The price of this hotel/motel was very reasonable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Address: 1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our Danish Modern furnishings and amenities such as Vers ipod docks and free wireless internet. We're located in the heart of downtown Solvang, within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, its a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer.Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamlet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.