We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for staying in Solvang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamlet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hamlet Inn to your Saves list
Hamlet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Wells, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ideal for staying in Solvang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Hamlet Inn is spotlessly clean and the simple modern room decor is a welcome change from the usual hotel bedroom. Friendly and efficient front desk made check in a breeze. Free bicycles to explore the town are a great idea. Being in the centre of town means restaurants and bars are close by, but also gives a bit of traffic noise in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    51
    34
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
81
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, tx
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

My niece and I had the opportunity for a quick little get away and we picked Solvang. Quaint little town and The Hamlet Inn was a quaint and very accommodating place to stay. We had lots of room and nice beds and bedding. The price of this hotel/motel was very reasonable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a motel; not Inn. So if you're expecting the comforts and amenities of an Inn, you're going to be disappointed. The room was clean, which is most important. That said, it felt like a Motel 6 with a Danish sheet on the bed. In terms of CA motels in a tourist area, the room is not worth paying more than $100 a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

On a recent visit to Santa Barbara County wine country, we decided to stay at Hamlet Inn based on the clean design, value pricing, and convenient location. While some reviewers found it too spare, we preferred it to the many outdated floral-patterned or high-priced alternatives. True, it is mostly outfitted with inexpensive Ikea furnishings, the dimmable light fixtures were a nice t ouch. The bedding and linens were very basic, but sufficient and the shower was wonderfully large, clean, and probably the hottest shower I've ever had.

We stayed in #4, a king room, which we found excessively large. It is situated at the front of the property on Rte 246, which may not be for everyone. It was not too loud - traffic or pedestrian wise - during our stay in October. I can imagine that #4 may be chilly during colder months, as the windows seemed less than tight.

Room Tip: #4 is a large king room at the front of the property on Route 246
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Hamlet is right on Mission Dr./Hwy. 246, across the street from Paula's Pancake House and the Solvang Brewing Company. We had room 4 which is located near the office and its window faces Mission. The shower had been recently re-tiled. The water pressure was good and the water hot. The sink was modern and sleek, but it was detaching from the wall. Our room was clean. I liked the simple, modern décor. But the ceiling lights are oddly all located by the entrance door and along the one wall without furniture or purpose. Overall, the refurbishing (which appears to have included new carpet, tile and bathroom fixtures) was a good effort but could be much improved by replacing the old, single pane windows, fixing the lighting placement, providing larger or more towels, upgrading the mattress, and replacing the old, patched up drywall and door jams. The front desk staff was friendly. I would recommend the Hamlet for its location, affordability, and cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Ok location in town, but right on main street. clean but austere. Nightstand is a stump of wood, Not even a towel rack in the bath by the sink. A/C is great and all neighbors were quiet. park right in front of your door, Walk to everything. Things close up early during the week,m but i get it, and that works for me. Some restaurants only open weekends. Free WiFi, Good for what it is and the price it is.

Room Tip: All rooms seem equally quiet, but higher numbers take you back, and I imagine further from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A friend and I visited Solvang but wanted something with a more modern feel. Hamlet Inn delivered - the rooms are clean in design and fact, with generously sized, newly redone bathrooms. There aren't a lot of frills, but we liked the bright graphics (loved the Danish-flag themed blankets) and what is there is more than adequate. Our room featured two beds, a refrigerator and coffee maker, small sofa and coffee table, a nicely modern wooden shelf table under the window (perfect for working or make-up application), and effortless wireless Internet access (no crazy passwords or additional sign-in required). My only suggestions (to the hotel) were to add ceiling fans and brighter bedside lamps. The hanging lamps are hip, but not bright enough for our (50+ year old) eyes to read by! There are bright in-ceiling lamps that worked, but no bedside switch. Finally, the location is great for walking around town and there are good places to eat breakfast across the street or dinner within a block.

Room Tip: I made a mental note to avoid room 16, as the ice machine is right outside; I think room 11 was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Address: 1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hamlet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is located in the heart of downtown Solvang. Within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, its a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer.Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamlet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.