We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet deal and very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamlet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hamlet Inn to your Saves list
Hamlet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
san francisco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sweet deal and very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My son and I were visiting UC Santa Barbara and we stayed overnight in Solvang because I was curious about Solvang and it seemed to be less expensive to stay there than SB overall. The Hamlet Inn is not a super fancy hotel, but it is charming and comfortable, close to all the great little restaurants in Solvang, and the hotel staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. They gave us a room with two bedrooms, which was ideal for a stay with a teenager. A free breakfast is included at the bakery across the street from the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are staying with family, ask for a room with two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    51
    34
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
81
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Date: July 29, 2011 6:17:12 PM PDT
To: info@thehamletinn.com

Hello!

Thank you for making our stay in Solvang (our first overnight at the village actually) a very memorable one.

We appreciate the hospitality that you've shown us. No doubt that we will be back at the Hamlet Inn on our next visit, if we decide again to
spend the night.

Very very convenient spot. right across is the famous Paula's Pancake House, and 5 min walk to the neighborhood grocery that is open til 11pm. (goods are priced reasonably!!)

We stayed at Room 3, right behind your office and I took some souvenir shots, and we'd like to share it with you. Hope you like it. Pardon the quality, I only took it with my Nokia.

****Carpet needs shampooing, because dirt sticks to your feet when barefooted.....but other than that, we love it!...Very very clean little bathroom too! A hanging table so you can eat your takeout,while watching tv on their Lcd which is mounted on the wall, ..which makes the room more spacious. We have a queen airbed for kids that fits really well, and you can even fit a twin airbed on the other side if you want... We will be back and get the suite room next time! Thanks Hamlet Inn!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was coming in from a ride from Pismo Beach and had booked ahead to stay at the Hamlet Inn with my friends I was with. After battling through the heat and hills i was exhausted!!! When we arrived we didnt realize how cool and central this place actually was. We were put up in their Suite at no extra charge and immediately we started feeling better. The room had These funky lights, really comfy beds and great bathroom facilities. What really got me was the reading nook in the side of the room which had a sheepskin rug that you lay on while looking out the window. I got some reading done and was the perfect place to unwind.
We then proceeded to grab a game of bocce and beers and while we were done with riding for the day we saw that had cute cruisers with classic front carriages. Across the road is the Solvang brewing co. which has a great selection of beers with a great blend of californian and dutch brewing styles. So good!!!
Whilst i havent stayed in other hotels in Solvang I couldn't recommend the Hamlet Inn enough. The people were really sweet and helpful and the room was fantastic and clean. Just what the doctor ordered!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011 via mobile

Clean rooms with great stylish design and the Inn has a perfect location, near restaurants, wine tasting at the Wandering Dog and the Danish Village Bakery. Good value for money and there are bikes to borrow for free! We had a great stay and can really recommend this Inn.
/Jonas and Anna, Sweden

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casewells, Owner at Hamlet Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to leave us such a nice review..........please come see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011 via mobile

My gf and I just had such a lovely stay at the hamlet! It was super clean with interesting/modern style.. Quiet, yet in The heart of where u want to be in solvang.. Couldn't ask for anything more.. We rented bikes and rode around! Perfect for wine tasting! I will stay there every time! plus it's owned by the sweetest family..

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casewells, Owner at Hamlet Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
We love it when our guests are happy with their stay ! Come see us again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

I recently stayed in room #2 with my 21-month-old son. The room was small (the owner warned me of this while I was making the reservation) but it was clean and quiet. The room had a small fridge, so I could keep snacks and milk cold for my son. The hotel is right downtown and we walked everywhere. We slept well and would gladly return. Fantastic value!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The Hamlet was impressive with it's simple design. The beds were comfortable, and the room as a whole just gave me a great feel of home. I could have stayed in the room all day! The outdoor gazebo was great place to sit in the evenings after some time at the Solvang Brewing Company across the way.

Overall, it was a great stay. My friends and I had room 1, which had a king size bed, a queen size bed, and a couch that sat in the middle of the two beds. It was a great set up!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Address: 1532 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hamlet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is located in the heart of downtown Solvang. Within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, its a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer.Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamlet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.