We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has its good and bad points” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowlark Inn

Save Saved
You added Meadowlark Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meadowlark Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2644 Mission Drive, Hwy 246, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Studio City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Has its good and bad points”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We originally booked a weekend in July, but had to cancel three days in advance, because of work conflicts. I guess I should have read the fine print, because it said the entire fee was non-refundable! I could have called my credit card company to file a dispute but since I planned to just change my reservation but not cancel it, I assumed (wrongly) it would be a simple matter to work out.

The manager of the Inn explained that I could use the two nights in the future, but only during the week, despite the fact I had paid for a Fri/Sat stay. I offered to pay an additional fee, to stay THREE nights in the future, if they would just let me stay there on a weekend, but they said "no". I understand their reasoning.

Weekends are when EVERYONE visits Solvang, so my cancellation left them with a financial burden. But making me come during the week, doesn't seem an equitable trade to me. Why not charge me a 20 percent cancellation fee or allow me to book three nights?

We ended up trading our two week end nights, for one week night. So we spent over $400 for a room that should have sold for less than half that. Walking around Solvang on a Thursday night, is like one of those episodes of the Twilight Zone, where a man searches the deserted town, desperate for human companionship. Absolutely desolate.

That being said, the inn is a cute place. The pool is small and always in the shade and the rooms need updating. But the trees/garden is gorgeous and breakfast really good (bean burrito, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, juice, coffee, toast, cereal and pastries). The bed was nice and firm and had a four poster frame. The room was very quiet, in fact one of the quietest nights we've ever spent on a vacation. Our place had an attached living room with a jacuzzi tub which was fun. Strangely, no shampoo or bubble bath was supplied and we had one bar of soap to carry around from the bathroom sink to the shower and in the other room, tub.

The cable tv worked well, but was displayed on a computer monitor a little larger than the laptop screen I'm writing this review on!

As other reviewers have explained, this is NOT actually located in the town of Solvang, but on the way to Los Olivos. We took our bicycles on the trip and a bike path is within 100 yards of the Inn, so we could pedal to town or the countryside. However, if you want to stay someplace where you can walk to the lovely theatre or shop, stay at the Kronenberg Inn. We would have avoided this whole scheduling mess if we had originally booked there but it was full!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowlarkinnsolvang, Owner at Meadowlark Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
I apologize for not being able to please this guest, but I am happy that he did enjoy his stay in the Pinot Suite. We are a small inn and we have a financial responsibility to our staff and vendors, so last minute cancellations affect us greatly. As a courtesy we offered a complimentary 2 night midweek stay in the future as we can understand that having to pay for a room and not using it is a hardship. In addition we upgraded the guest to a suite and a late check-out during peak season.
The guest booked a weekend stay through booking.com, the cancellation policy is clearly stated on their website, see below.
(Cancellation: If canceled or modified up to 7 days before date of arrival, a fixed amount of USD 25 will be charged. If canceled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. ) In addition we paid a commission to booking.com for this reservation which was originally made for June.
Solvang, like other cities has several residential areas than expand beyond the downtown area. We are located on 2 acres in a residential area with a Solvang address, less than 2 miles from downtown.
As a sustainable property, we use dispensers for shampoo, conditioner and bath gel and they are located on the shower wall. A quick call to the front desk could have eliminated this issue.
I would like to thank the guest for the kind words about our property.
Brigitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    30
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
80
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just spent the weekend here for the first time (my BF chose so i was a little iffy) but was pleasantly surprised. Aside from the fake plants and color of lavender, it was spacious, clean, quiet and right outside of town. Loved the kitchen and even the huge tub in the middle of it! Bed was quite comfy. Breakfast was a lovely bonus if you don't want to break the bank at Paula's for a danish pancake on day 2. Would stay again, heck i would swing by for some of the delicious chocolate chip cookies they leave on your bed :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The inn is 2 miles outside Solvang in a lovely quiet area with nearby ranches. It is an older building that is very lovingly maintained. Breakfast is described as light, but there was a very nice fresh fruit salad, excellent granola, bagels, eggs and great coffee. We had a kitchenette with an oven, full refrigerator, microwave, etc. You could stay here and tour the wine country to the north. It's only 25 minutes from Santa Barbara. A very nice weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for just one night on our way from San Diego to San Francisco. And it was lovely. The staff was very welcoming, the room was clean and breakfast the next morning was wonderful. It has beautiful gardens and a great fire pit to enjoy on cool evenings. And nearby Solvang is a great place to visit. We loved the whole area and would stay here again.

Room Tip: It is more like an old motel so all of the rooms look out onto the courtyard and all are on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked the Meadowlark as a very last minute choice on our recent tour of California and cannot have been more pleased with our stay. The room was very clean and well presented and the staff pleasant, helpful and welcoming. A very nice quiet location on the outskirts of Solvang and close to Santa Inez so well placed for a visit to both. Breakfast was home cooked by the owner and very nice as a start to the day. We couldn't speak more highly of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our family gathered from all over the US at this beautiful Inn in Santa Ynez for our 50th Anniversary. The Inn could not have been more accommodating to all of our needs. Their rooms were individually unique and comfortable. The Continental Breakfast was very good with a home baked egg dish to go along with the usual breakfast items. Fresh fruit and local sweets were also there each morning. Extra tables and table cloths were offered to us for a catered meal and cheese and wine paring out under their beautiful old oak tree. Each evening when we regathered back at the Inn we enjoyed sitting around their large firepit for a family bonfire.
Thank you Brigette and your wonderful staff for a lovely 5 days.
The Irish Family

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

First, this place is very much overpriced. Stay in downtown Solvang for the same price or cheaper and be within walking distance of everything instead of a drive down a country road.

This isn't really the classic B&B atmosphere - it's much more "motel" atmosphere. There are about 20 rooms spread out around a courtyard (which admittedly was pretty - although the birds living in the courtyard crap constantly on everyone's cars) and an extremely small pool. In the office, they have the room keys up on the wall which was a safety concern for me - anyone looking to break into a room could easily find out which rooms are occupied and which aren't. Although the room was clean (+1 stars), they're clearly pretty short staffed in their maintenance department. There were so many quick and easy things that needed to be fixed around the room, many of which were wall / paint patches.

Perhaps the two most disappointing parts of the stay were the bed and the breakfast...yea. The bed was TERRIBLE. Anytime you lay in a bed and it acts like a hammock, sinking a foot or two in the middle, that's NOT RIGHT. Also, please get some fitted sheets for the mattress -or- a bottom sheet that's large enough to tuck in! All night we kept waking up on the bare mattress, which is DISGUSTING. For the price, I'm surprised people aren't rioting about what you call a continental breakfast. Fruit, cereal, bagel, or toast....come on, now! How about some oatmeal, yogurt, cottage cheese, some of those local Danish pastries!

Would I stay again? If I couldn't find anything downtown, and if they gave me a room with a normal mattress, and if the rate was where it should be, maybe. It was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirabelleinn, Owner at Meadowlark Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am very sorry this guest did not enjoy their stay with us. I wish the guest would have mentioned the concerns to any of us, we have a 24 hour staff and maintenance person on call, it sounds like the center post of the bed frame may have collapsed for a bed to go down in the middle. I would have like to find out immediately which room had this issue, so we are now going through all the rooms to find it. We have memory foam mattress covers or pillow top mattresses on all of our beds and almost everyone really likes them.
Yes, the birds are having babies right now and love to see themselves in the window or car mirror, a temporary nuisance that can be fixed with a quick rinse and a towel, we would be happy to do that for any guest.
In regards to breakfast, unfortunately this guest may have overlooked some items on our breakfast buffet. We serve fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, an egg dish or boiled eggs, waffles, pastries or sweet breakfast breads EVERY single day, in addition to bagels and toast.
We like to go above and beyond our guest's expectations, and although we try, we are not always perfect, but really appreciate it when guests give us a chance to make things right by letting us know their displeasure, needs or wants.
We welcome criticism as a chance to improve, so thank you!!
Thank you for all the kind and positive previous reviews.
Brigitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meadowlark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Inn

Address: 2644 Mission Drive, Hwy 246, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadowlark Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowlark Inn is a one story inn with the amenities of a Bed and Breakfast. We are located on 2 rustic acres of expansive green lawns, beautiful gardens, fountains, gazebo, picnic and sitting areas. We offer Wireless Internet connection throughout the property. A light breakfast is included. Winery tours and spa services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Meadowlark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowlark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.