We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Motel

Viking Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Solvang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viking Motel
Save
You added Viking Motel to your Saves list
1506 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Hb
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Horrible Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I booked a room for 10/2/2010. Was quoted a price and given a conf. #. Then received a call later stating they made a mistake and quoted me the wrong price. They would not honor the price I was quoted and canceled my room. Spoke with the owner and was basically told Sorry, but too bad. Nice.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    13
    4
    11
See reviews for
9
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The motel appears to have built in 1950. However, some recent renovations have really helped this motel. New double paned windows, ceiling moldings, new bathroom fixtures, a fresh coat of paint, and especially new floors (pergo in the bedroom and tile in the bathroom) gives this motel a new lease on life. The 32" TV set had a clear picture with more channels than I knew existed. The microwave oven, refrigerator, and hair dryer were nice additions (only had time to use the hair dryer). Complimentary coffee and Danish at Olsen's Bakery was a real plus (a light breakfast is a must if you're going to eat a full lunch and dinner in Solvang).

A coffee maker and a DVD player would have been nice. A new solid core door to the bathroom would provide some sound insulation. In the morning you can hear the neighbor taking a shower. The Wi-Fi service was down one of thi nights I was there. Finally, $110 a night (weekend rate) was above what I normally pay for a motel.

All in all, this motel is incredibly clean. More hotels/motels should consider pergo floors. Pergo really makes a room look clean and classy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Some of the reviews are from some really stuck-up folks.
If you want luxury....shell out $400 and stay at Fess Parkers. We came to wine taste, show our kid around Solvang and not have to board our dog. We weren't disappointed. The beds were comfortable, TV worked fine. Room was more than adequately clean (I have seen dirtier rooms at Embassy Suites and Hilton family hotels). You get tickets for a free pastry breakfast at a wonderful bakery.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

The front desk person was very rude, the hotel is old. I don't recommend this to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Okay, so the Viking Motel isn't luxurious by any stretch of the imagination - but it's clean, cheap and well located.

Myself and my friend stayed there for one night only on a Friday evening. We made enquiries at a few places and this was by far the cheapest - the others did seem a little nicer and some offered breakfast, but we just couldn't fathom paying double just to sleep for one night.

The lady at reception was welcoming, courteous and helpful. She showed us around the room before we had to pay - I'd always recommend doing this when staying at motels since our tour of the coast as the reception area isn't always a good indication of the rooms!

The room was spacious with a king-size bed, plenty of storage (not that we needed it) and a good size bathroom. It was very clean and airy and all we needed for an overnight stay.

If you were to stay in Solvang for more than one night (I can't imagine why you'd want to, but if you did...) and if you have the budget, I might suggest staying somewhere else, but for an overnight Motel stay is has exactly what you need.

  • Liked — The price!
  • Disliked — Nothing much.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panorama city
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

The front desk person was very rude and doesn't know how to greet guest. The hotel was dirty and old. I don't recommend this to anybody.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

I was not in this town by choice. But as it was a big three day weekend everything near the wineries was booked, and things in this crazy town were booking fast. So we stayed at the Viking Motel. It was not that bad.

Prices were pretty high for a motel, and everywhere else, but it was a busy weekend and if we had agreed to stay there two nights we would have gotten a deal on our stay. If you know Solvang, there was no way I would have stayed there another night.

But with friends and my BF there, it was fun. Our room was great. It served it's purpose. It was great that there was no carpets, that alone just made it feel so much better. If you want really comfertable beds and linen don't stay here, but if you don't care and just need a place to sleep that is not seedy or dirty, this is it. Location was on the main street. Good motel if you don't really expect much, besides who stays in their hotel all day? Especially when you are in Solvang.

  • Liked — It was clean and not scary.
  • Disliked — Besides the town, the price was high.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Motel

Address: 1506 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Motel is part of the celebrated Danish culture in Solvang. It was originally built in 1920 by Danish immigrants and was called "The Little House." Over the years it has been a honeymoon cottage, a boutique and a doctor's office. The palm trees in front of the motel were planted in 1922. Today, the historic Viking Motel offers comfortable, affordable accommodations with a flavor of old world charm. Conveniently located, the Viking Motel is close to many of Santa Barbara County’s attractions including Solvang’s Scandinavian Shopping Village, the Hans Christian Anderson Museum, the Chumash Indian Casino Resort and some of the Santa Ynez Valley’s finest wineries. Now under new management, the recently refurbished Viking Motel welcomes both American and International visitors to Solvang, California. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Solvang
Viking Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.