We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not quite sure what to say” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Motel to your Saves list
Viking Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1506 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“I'm not quite sure what to say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

If you're looking for the lowest priced accomodations in Solvang, the Viking Motel is probably it. But be prepared. Our king room ($91 including tax) while OK size-wise, was showing signs of age and wear. When I made our reservation about two months ago (we were in Solvang on a Fri. at the end of May), I was told there was a fridge and micro; there wasn't. There was no in-room coffee and the motel does not offer breakfast. Since the restaurants in town are overpriced (IMO), the cost of breakfast is something you should factor in. The bed and pillows were OK; the sheets were threadbare. I had a hard time getting internet connected and once that was worked out, the internet was spotty and kept disconnecting and then re-connecting. The water pressure in the shower was good. We would probably not stay at the Viking again, but to tell the truth, Solvang wasn't really our cup of tea so we probably will not come to Solvang again anyway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    15
    4
    13
See reviews for
11
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted to go wine tasting for his birthday, but were put off by the expensive hotel rates in Los Olivos, Solvang, and the surrounding areas. After a lot of research, I discovered the Viking Motel.

The Viking Motel is not luxurious, but it was a comfortable place to sleep for one night. The room was clean and even had a microwave and a mini fridge. Upon check-in, we received a voucher for a drink and a pastry each at a nearby bakery, which was nice. Most importantly, this motel offered accommodations very close to local wineries and Solvang restaurants, where we had dinner. At $80 for the night (including tax), this is a great place to rest your head.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

After reading the comments, I admit I was a bit reluctant to book a room here. My grandparents and family settled in Solvang in the 1930's, and I generally have a free room. This time I was coming in late so I looked into booking a room. Aside from the most affordable option, the staff was extremely accommodating, arriving late they met me and gave me my keys and my room. They even called me to give me instructions on access, since the motel is small and family owned. Sparsely decorated, I was so happy to have a nice, clean, comfortable room with a TV, nice shower, and quiet surroundings. On the noise comment by others - I specifically walked past another room right next door and they had the TV on really loud. When I got into my room, the sound never permeated from the room next door! I was impressed that the walls had good insulation. I never smelled smoke. Also, I love this location! Everywhere else in October (crush season for the wineries) were all booked up except for ridiculously expensive places. Only needing one or two nights, this served me just fine, walking outside in the morning to head over to Birkholm's for a great coffee and pastry, not needing breakfast included in the room. There are so many places to choose from in Solvang to have coffee and pastry in my opinion as a local it's better to just go bare bones with the hotel room and splurge on other things you can enjoy while you are visiting. I had my road bike on my car and felt really safe. They even allowed me to keep my car all day at the motel while I took off on a really long ride until early evening. Also, great that the market is right across the street.

Room Tip: I believe they are all adequate and not too many options. All on one level. Really good for staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was fine for what we paid. We got the very front room behind office on main street. I was afraid it was going to be loud, but once we closed the window it was ok. It smelled like smoke. A lot. (which is why they had the windows open I'm guessing) Room is small-ish, but if you're just going to sleep there it's ok. Not a lot of parking. Nice little market across the street for sodas, wine, snacks. There was a little fridge in the room, so that was nice. I think a microwave too maybe. There's no dresser in the room, which is really weird. We just left our clothes in the suitcase as we were only there for one night. Any more and some drawers would have been nice. The tv stand took up most of the room. There was a small table. Bathroom was old, but fine. The whole place could use a LOT of repairs and updating. The bed was ok. The linens were not extremely clean-looking. There were water stains on the ceiling and walls. Wi-fi not consistent. Location was good. Most things walkable. "breakfast" was just a danish & coffee across the street. Meh. We went & found a real place for breakfast. Close to the Chumash Casino if you're going for a show. A LOT cheaper to stay here than the Chumash or most other places in town. We will probably stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I was very concerned about staying here after some of the reviews. We had no concerns. It is on the end of Mission, but within walking distance of the entire town. Got a coupon for a complimentary drink and Danish at the bakery down the street. Free wifi worked extremely well, very clean, and ac worked great. Tracy was extremely helpful and friendly and allowed us to take a look at two different rooms before choosing. We chose #2. The room was very clean and comfortable, this is a motel, nothing fancy, but what do you expect for $65 for a king? We would definitely stay here again. We saved enough money here to enjoy Solvang more.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittenweem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

we stayed here in a last minute search for a room after being let down by another motel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Service was excellent, staff were helpful and welcoming. This was one of our favourite stops and we look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Its a MOTEL! What do you expect!?!?! I'm not sure what some reviewers are talking about. I only spent $54 for a place to sleep and shower. The rooms are clean and well maintained. Shower was well stocked with supplies and spotless. The manager has put in new flat screen, wall mounted TVs and large mini refrigerators. The free wi-fi was a nice touch as well. The manager is sweet and really helpful. Beds were comfy and extra pillows were already in closet. It includes a nice FREE breakfast and the Danish cafe across the street... And it's good! It's not a 5 star hotel by any means and needs some updating. However, it's a nice and quiet place to relax after a long drive. I have stayed in 5 star hotels domestically and internationally and I have some pretty high standards. I rated this place comparing it to some of the better places I have stayed. I give the Viking a perfect score compared to other value hotels I have stayed at. It's

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#9 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#4 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Motel

Address: 1506 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Motel is part of the celebrated Danish culture in Solvang. It was originally built in 1920 by Danish immigrants and was called "The Little House." Over the years it has been a honeymoon cottage, a boutique and a doctor's office. The palm trees in front of the motel were planted in 1922. Today, the historic Viking Motel offers comfortable, affordable accommodations with a flavor of old world charm. Conveniently located, the Viking Motel is close to many of Santa Barbara County’s attractions including Solvang’s Scandinavian Shopping Village, the Hans Christian Anderson Museum, the Chumash Indian Casino Resort and some of the Santa Ynez Valley’s finest wineries. Now under new management, the recently refurbished Viking Motel welcomes both American and International visitors to Solvang, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Viking Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Solvang
Viking Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.