We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but dirty and falling apart” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Motel

Viking Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Solvang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viking Motel
1506 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Yerevan, Armenia
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Cheap but dirty and falling apart”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our biggest mistake was not checking Trip Advisor before staying here! The location is great for anything in Solvang, but we would not recommend more than one night. There is no internet, even though the owner claimed there is. I went to the front desk and she offered us to check out and stay somewhere else. The blanket was ripped, the towels are tired, the microwave didnt work, and there were ANTS crawling around, and it's winter! Next time we would stay down the road in Buellton, which is only 3 miles..

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    11
    4
    11
See reviews for
9
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Although we were visiting Solvang, we stayed at the Viking Motel..which is owned by a Chinese woman who barely spoke English, was very rude and only seemed to care about how much money she could get for room, which was over-priced. The place wreaked of fish and chinese food. Once in the room, it was old and dirty and the blankets didn't seem to have been washed in years. Just shaking out the blanket because of the smell of dust made a dust storm in room. And, asking for help from the maid - she didn't speak English, she spoke only Spanish. I had to use my own blankets. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it.to anyone. If you want to experience Solvang, don't stay here - it's more like staying in China, or Mexico.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

As another review states this is what happens if you don't book. I called into the reception and was offered room 2 at the special rate of $99.00 plus tax for one night. I thought this was good until I saw the room. Wall paper comming off the walls, dirty and very dated.

To be fair I did get a full refund.

If I were you I would spend the extra money for another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights ($150 a night) here this last weekend. We stayed in room #112 (King Bed). The room was a little dated (circa 70's) but clean. The bed was very comfortable. we were walking distance to food,shops etc.. If you dont want to spend an arm and a leg at one of the other hotels ($300 a night and up),and would like to save your money for buying wine. Then this is the hotel for you. I would not hesitate to stay here again. If your wife wants everything new and fresh, then this is not your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have stayed here 3 years in a row with our two greyhounds, attending the annual
Solvang Greyhound Gathering. The motel is in a greyt location; quiet, very close to a
large empty lot where we can walk the dogs. You get a voucher for a basic breakfast
at a nearby Danish bakery (pastry with coffee or tea). Staff is friendly, helpful and they
remember us from year to year. Rooms have wood floors (instead of carpet) which is
very good for dogs. They are on the small side, as this is an older small motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I can't rate this place as I have not yet stayed here, though i will be staying there this coming Friday. I have a timeshare in Solvang but won't be available until Saturday night so I decided to book this place so I don't have to drive on Dec. 24.

I've stayed in Solvang in the past and have driven past this place about 10 years ago and even looked at the rooms inside and thought that for the price, the rooms were clean and in a great location. I've stayed at some of the more expensive motels, inns and hotels in Solvang, yet I suspect that this place will be perfect for my purpose, wich is to avoid driving on Christmas eve!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is what happens when you don't make reservatons in advance. The only room available for my wife and I and our 6lb yorkie was at the Viking Motel. We paid $149.40 for a room that was out of the 60's. Loud music all night coming from rooms at the other end of the motel. Management didn't shut it down. Room was clean, but small and noisy: would not recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Don't Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viking Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Motel

Address: 1506 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Motel is part of the celebrated Danish culture in Solvang. It was originally built in 1920 by Danish immigrants and was called "The Little House." Over the years it has been a honeymoon cottage, a boutique and a doctor's office. The palm trees in front of the motel were planted in 1922. Today, the historic Viking Motel offers comfortable, affordable accommodations with a flavor of old world charm. Conveniently located, the Viking Motel is close to many of Santa Barbara County’s attractions including Solvang’s Scandinavian Shopping Village, the Hans Christian Anderson Museum, the Chumash Indian Casino Resort and some of the Santa Ynez Valley’s finest wineries. Now under new management, the recently refurbished Viking Motel welcomes both American and International visitors to Solvang, California. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Solvang
Viking Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Viking Motel to your Saves list