We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a review but rather a pre-review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Motel

Viking Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Motel to your Saves list
Viking Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1506 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Menlo Park
1 review
“Not a review but rather a pre-review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I can't rate this place as I have not yet stayed here, though i will be staying there this coming Friday. I have a timeshare in Solvang but won't be available until Saturday night so I decided to book this place so I don't have to drive on Dec. 24.

I've stayed in Solvang in the past and have driven past this place about 10 years ago and even looked at the rooms inside and thought that for the price, the rooms were clean and in a great location. I've stayed at some of the more expensive motels, inns and hotels in Solvang, yet I suspect that this place will be perfect for my purpose, wich is to avoid driving on Christmas eve!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    15
    4
    13
See reviews for
11
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is what happens when you don't make reservatons in advance. The only room available for my wife and I and our 6lb yorkie was at the Viking Motel. We paid $149.40 for a room that was out of the 60's. Loud music all night coming from rooms at the other end of the motel. Management didn't shut it down. Room was clean, but small and noisy: would not recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Don't Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We visited Solvang & Santa Ynez very regularly and always stayed here. It was a perfect budget option with clean, pleasant rooms in a great location. The owner was always very accomodating and friendly too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Our family was visiting wine country in Los Olivos before Memorial Day Weekend. We stayed at Le Corque Thursday night $250.00 per each room per night, it's one of the best in Solvang and we enjoyed the stay. Friday afternoon, we decided to stay another night and rates at all major hotels were over $300! We found the Viking Motel in a guide book and their rates were $79--so we went for it, sight unseen....
We now could continue to wine taste and relax another night. The rooms were clean, a bit out of date, but new floors and Tracy was very helpful at the front desk. We dined at Root 246, my favorite restaurant in the area (again) and considering we barely spent 8 hours in the room, it was worth it. It also included a card for continental breakfast across the street at a cafe we loved but would not have visited otherwise. Overall - not luxury - but was a good night's sleep for the drive home in the morning.

Room Tip: Plan ahead, but be prepared to try an adventure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

THE ROOM HAD 3 INCHES OF DUST. on headboard, lampshades everywhere bathroom floor was so dirty i left black footprint on toilet seat drying my feet the bed smelt funcky i would of asked for my money back but i do not think the woman at the office would of understood english because she could hardly speak it .if she is also the chamber maid it explains everything.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hb
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I booked a room for 10/2/2010. Was quoted a price and given a conf. #. Then received a call later stating they made a mistake and quoted me the wrong price. They would not honor the price I was quoted and canceled my room. Spoke with the owner and was basically told Sorry, but too bad. Nice.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The motel appears to have built in 1950. However, some recent renovations have really helped this motel. New double paned windows, ceiling moldings, new bathroom fixtures, a fresh coat of paint, and especially new floors (pergo in the bedroom and tile in the bathroom) gives this motel a new lease on life. The 32" TV set had a clear picture with more channels than I knew existed. The microwave oven, refrigerator, and hair dryer were nice additions (only had time to use the hair dryer). Complimentary coffee and Danish at Olsen's Bakery was a real plus (a light breakfast is a must if you're going to eat a full lunch and dinner in Solvang).

A coffee maker and a DVD player would have been nice. A new solid core door to the bathroom would provide some sound insulation. In the morning you can hear the neighbor taking a shower. The Wi-Fi service was down one of thi nights I was there. Finally, $110 a night (weekend rate) was above what I normally pay for a motel.

All in all, this motel is incredibly clean. More hotels/motels should consider pergo floors. Pergo really makes a room look clean and classy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Viking Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Motel

Address: 1506 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Motel is part of the celebrated Danish culture in Solvang. It was originally built in 1920 by Danish immigrants and was called "The Little House." Over the years it has been a honeymoon cottage, a boutique and a doctor's office. The palm trees in front of the motel were planted in 1922. Today, the historic Viking Motel offers comfortable, affordable accommodations with a flavor of old world charm. Conveniently located, the Viking Motel is close to many of Santa Barbara County’s attractions including Solvang’s Scandinavian Shopping Village, the Hans Christian Anderson Museum, the Chumash Indian Casino Resort and some of the Santa Ynez Valley’s finest wineries. Now under new management, the recently refurbished Viking Motel welcomes both American and International visitors to Solvang, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Viking Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Solvang
Viking Motel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.