We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danish food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bit O'Denmark Incorporated

Bit O'Denmark Incorporated
473 Alisal Rd Ste A, Solvang, CA 93463
(805) 688-5426
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 56 restaurants in Solvang
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Danish food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The whole town of Solvang is in Danish style, so how could we miss our Danish dinner.

We joined the buffet and the reason was it had mostly all Danish delights like sweet/sour red cabbage, meatball, sausage... and too order them from the menu one by one will be too much. The cost? $19.99/per which is almost the same as a entree on menu.

But I didn't find Tuborg beer there. That's Danish #1.

(I have been in Denmark for 4 times.)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    24
    31
    18
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice place for late night supper.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We arrived in Solvang on a Monday after 7:30 p.m. Our hotel registration person sent us to this restaurant as they were open until 8:00 p.m. and not another one. We had appetizers and a glass of wine and it was charming and $$ priced. It filled up before they closed the doors. The wine was great, the foods were light for late at night with crab cakes and a salad. The buffet looked very good, too. The atmosphere was old world and the place was warm and cozy on a cool damp night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed in Solvang a few nights last fall, and discovered the Bit o Denmark the first night in town. i had the wienerschnitzel, and my significant other can't remember what she had (she's very picky and she either loves it or hates it. i'm guessing she hated it.) The wienerschnitel was good (I've had better, but not many). The restaurant decor was nice and the service was above average. The best part for me was the ice cold Carlsberg beers they served. Will return next time to try the smorgasbord.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Danish cafe downtown in Solvang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a cafe geared to tourists generally, with Danish crockery -lace curtains, etc. It's been there quite awhile & the room shows its age a bit. That can be nice though - it feels 'homey'.. They serve simple Danish & American cafe food - I had a small luncheon with mashed potatoes with gravy @ Danish meatballs. Nothing fancy -simple clean food like you might have at grandma's house. It was pretty quiet midday on a weekday so I had lunch & a cup of decent coffee while working on some paperwork for under $10. Service was quick and non invasive. This would not be a 'gourmet' experience destination, but was nice as a pleasant , inexpensive respite.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bit o Denmark platter for two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Really we will drive three hours for lunch, for this one dish. It has all we could need for a real taste of the city we found in Denmark. The dish at this old establishment is the very best in town...I think it was started in the 20's... feels like it, looks like it. Go there it IS Solvang...Nice bar as well. Every employee knows they are working at a landmark. Just across the street from the mission...Enjoy!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bit O'Denmark Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Bit O'Denmark Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bit O'Denmark Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.