We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice one!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solvang Gardens

Save Saved
You added Solvang Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solvang Gardens
293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Beautiful English Gardens
Ranked #3 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Goes without saying, we liked this property very much. Walking distance to the center of solvang, very nice owners. Room was ok sized, bathroom was quite ok size.
Morning bkfast was excellent, giving u some Danish pastries among other goodies.

Overall, would recommend it

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    48
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
81
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin CA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We took two back garden rooms, selecting from four available when we arrived. A very delightful staff, Michelle, gave us the tour and her advice. Each room is different and right now they are in the midst of redecorating and redoing the rooms and infrastructure. Gardens both behind our rooms and those in the front were in great bloom, even at the end of the growing season in September.

The Morning breakfast was served at 8 am in a quiet little room with a wall-mounted gas fireplace. No special decor, but a solid breakfast bar. It included orange juice, both low fat and whole milk from a local dairy, almond milk, dark roast coffee and a tea and cocoa selection. There were also several premium cold cereals, some fresh fruit and, of course, the best Danish sweets they can source. Petty abundant, along with the local morning newspaper.

Location - Short Walking instance to fine restaurants and lots of shops.
Although it really appears to be a converted strip motel, the gardens and individual room decor and personalized service make it a delightful country garden BB. No Danish kitch stuff here.
Wifi service was excellent and worked all over the grounds so getting emails in the back garden was a breeze.

Staff - Both morning and evening staff genuinely cared for our comfort and happiness.
There is no longer a spa available.

This is a fine country garden motel/B&B for a reasonable price. Nothing elegant, but all very comfortable and well located.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are in the front section and the smaller (but quite adequate) rooms are in back, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We always hope to be a great respite for people traveling along the coast. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again some time.

I hope you had a great time during the rest of your trip!

Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm just back from Solvang. My expectation for this weekend trip was rather moderate, but it turned out to be one of the best weekend getaways. Since I'm so pleased by my experience, I want to share some tips with prospective fellow travelers to the area. First, Solvang Gardens is a GREAT place to stay, a real value for the money in a generally overpriced area. Their rooms are rated as low as the ones in other nearby motels, but please do yourself a favor and choose this establishment. First of all, it's located about 5 minutes off the main street, near the private residential neighborhood. Other lodgings with comparable prices tend to be in louder, more crowded places. (Another hotel with a good location is Mirabelle Inn, a boutique hotel.) Second, Solvang Gardens have nice rooms, far better than those at refurbished motels, Because I bought the wine tour package, the owner upgraded our room from a garden queen to a king suite. I appreciated the spaciousness, but I could have happily stayed in a garden queen, too. The rooms are quaint, except for shiny marble bathrooms, but are very clean and comfortable. Third, SG offers a free breakfast with delicious Danish pastries, 100% orange juice, fruits, and hot beverages (yes, cereals and milks, too). Except for pastries, these are available all day through 10 pm. Finally, SG has a very PRETTY garden in the back lushly green with apple and walnut trees surrounding cute fountains. in its price range, SG is absolutely the better deal.

About the wine tour package, e went for the Stagecoach wine tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a bit cheaper if you buy the package through the hotel. However you may buy the tour, ask if you can go to the Bella Cavalli Farm and Winery. It's an exceptional winery accessible only for Stagecoach groups. You can look up the farm's website, but no photo does justice to the grand beauty of the farm. It's a drop-dead gorgeous place. I'm no wine drinker, but I want to sign up for their membership so that I can go back.

Other tips are: visit Los Alamos, a neighboring little town, esp. the Union Hotel, whose lobby and bar are striking, and dine at Succulent Cafe.

Room Tip: All garden queen rooms and king suites. Don't remember all the numbers. I stayed at 7A, which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at Solvang Gardens on our trip down the Pacific Coast Highway. Solvang is not on the Pacific Coast Highway but we made a detour to experience the pleasant charms of this Danish town. My wife remembered the last time she was there that residents/store keepers were dressed in Danish attire. Alas that seems to be long gone as less than 10% of the community is Danish. The buildings are neat to look; the bakeries are to die for; and, there are plenty of wine shops in town. A nice place to visit for a day.

The Solvang Gardens Inn is a very hospitable inn fitting in with the theme of the town. The room seemed slightly dated but still very nice. The Inn is located at the edge of the main area of town so you are not in the immediate hustle, bustle of the tourist area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent two nights here at the end of July and were quite pleased with the accommodations. The gardens in the front and back are nicely landscaped; the waterworks cultivate a calm state of mind. Some rooms in the back open onto a tranquil English garden (we would request one of these when we return). The room we did have was quaint and comfortable, less kitschy than one would expect in Solvang. The bathroom was particularly well appointed, large, marble shower. Nice breakfast room, good coffee abundantly available. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Back rooms facing English garden seem optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here during our road trip to visit the California Missions, so Mission Santa Ines was our ultimate destination. The property is located outside of town but within a short 5 minute drive. It was built in 1950 and was the first motel in Solvang. The rooms were nicely decorated with antique furnishings but our room was very small. You barely have room to walk around the bed. The private backyard was lovely and we relaxed there with a glass of wine. The spa cottage was not open during the hours we were there. Continental breakfast 7:30-10am. All rooms are nonsmoking and do not have a telephone. Free wireless internet. I saw silverfish in the bathroom. Between the bugs and the small rooms, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

You get a bed and you get breakfast. Realistically it's an upgraded retro motel. The staff is brilliant in making you feel welcome and cared about. The property is clean and well-maintained. The wifi is marginal but the breakfast is good with some nice healthy choices. Good grief, they keep the cereal in the frige so it will stay fresh? Who does that ? Only someone who cares. If you can take a little street noise I recommend #8; it's bright and cheery. However if you want quiet, I would suggest an upgrade to #17. Whichever way you go, the property is convenient to beautiful downtown Solvang.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solvang Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solvang Gardens

Address: 293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country inn with 24 individually decorated rooms. Unique, elegant and comfortable property. Secluded in a quiet residential area in the heart of Solvang. At walking distance to restaurants, shops and wine tasting rooms.In the wine country of Santa Ynez, Santa Barbara County. The property is within beautiful gardens, fruit trees and fountains. A true escape from the hustle of big cities. Rooms vary in sizes, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes and beautiful marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Solvang Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Gardens Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solvang Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.