We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint inn in a quaint city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solvang Gardens

Save Saved
You added Solvang Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solvang Gardens
293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Beautiful English Gardens
Ranked #4 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Murphysboro
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quaint inn in a quaint city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at Solvang Gardens on our trip down the Pacific Coast Highway. Solvang is not on the Pacific Coast Highway but we made a detour to experience the pleasant charms of this Danish town. My wife remembered the last time she was there that residents/store keepers were dressed in Danish attire. Alas that seems to be long gone as less than 10% of the community is Danish. The buildings are neat to look; the bakeries are to die for; and, there are plenty of wine shops in town. A nice place to visit for a day.

The Solvang Gardens Inn is a very hospitable inn fitting in with the theme of the town. The room seemed slightly dated but still very nice. The Inn is located at the edge of the main area of town so you are not in the immediate hustle, bustle of the tourist area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    51
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent two nights here at the end of July and were quite pleased with the accommodations. The gardens in the front and back are nicely landscaped; the waterworks cultivate a calm state of mind. Some rooms in the back open onto a tranquil English garden (we would request one of these when we return). The room we did have was quaint and comfortable, less kitschy than one would expect in Solvang. The bathroom was particularly well appointed, large, marble shower. Nice breakfast room, good coffee abundantly available. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Back rooms facing English garden seem optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here during our road trip to visit the California Missions, so Mission Santa Ines was our ultimate destination. The property is located outside of town but within a short 5 minute drive. It was built in 1950 and was the first motel in Solvang. The rooms were nicely decorated with antique furnishings but our room was very small. You barely have room to walk around the bed. The private backyard was lovely and we relaxed there with a glass of wine. The spa cottage was not open during the hours we were there. Continental breakfast 7:30-10am. All rooms are nonsmoking and do not have a telephone. Free wireless internet. I saw silverfish in the bathroom. Between the bugs and the small rooms, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

You get a bed and you get breakfast. Realistically it's an upgraded retro motel. The staff is brilliant in making you feel welcome and cared about. The property is clean and well-maintained. The wifi is marginal but the breakfast is good with some nice healthy choices. Good grief, they keep the cereal in the frige so it will stay fresh? Who does that ? Only someone who cares. If you can take a little street noise I recommend #8; it's bright and cheery. However if you want quiet, I would suggest an upgrade to #17. Whichever way you go, the property is convenient to beautiful downtown Solvang.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was an ok stay. The place is fairly nice a quite however from pictures and reviews I expected more. When I made reservation I requested specific room however it was occupied when we arrived and nobody notified prior. They gave us a tiny double room bec the other one had a strong smell, when I asked for some compensation they upgraded us to a suite which was nice. None of the rooms available were in the back which was also on my request.
Location is great, close to everything, walking distance, and in a quite area.
The breakfast is very average Danishes and cereal. Coffee was horrible, more like water.
So if you need a get away which is moderately priced and you don't have high expectations, this will work.

Room Tip: Back garden is very nice and there rooms which have direct access. If you request a room, follow up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

All-in-all ok; retro decor and the TV is not the center of attention. Owners are really nice; accomodations are comfortable. Walls are thin and glass is single pane - you will hear most conversations next door and all comings and goings in the parking lot (if you are in the back "motel" units). That said, the property was pretty quiet because of the courtesy of the guests. Breakfast from 8-9 is cereal, coffee and pastries.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I think the staff here is far and above some of the nicest I have encountered at a hotel.
I would suggest you get one of the lovely rooms that have a back door that opens out into the pretty garden. My husband and I only stayed one night here before moving on to Monterey to see our son. We would have enjoyed the garden more if we had been able to stay longer. Solvang is really, really quiet Monday through Wednesday. Even most of the restaurants are closed. So the hotel was quiet and very relaxing. Newly remodeled, very clean bathrooms. Breakfast was good. Nice and simple. Just cereal, danish, juice, coffee and tea. When it's a bit warmer you can sit out in the garden and enjoy breakfast (or maybe a picnic later in the day) as they have quite a few tables with unbrellas and chairs. Lots of trinkling water fountains throughout the property and gardens really adds to the relaxing atmosphere. Only reason I gave this hotel a 4 star rating (staff gets a five star) is because the bed (along with the not-so-great pillows) was way too soft. I tossed and turned all night because it gave no support and hurt my hips and my husbands back hurt all the next day. But you might like very soft beds so this might not be a bother for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solvang Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solvang Gardens

Address: 293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country inn with 24 individually decorated rooms. Unique, elegant and comfortable property. Secluded in a quiet residential area in the heart of Solvang. At walking distance to restaurants, shops and wine tasting rooms.In the wine country of Santa Ynez, Santa Barbara County. The property is within beautiful gardens, fruit trees and fountains. A true escape from the hustle of big cities. Rooms vary in sizes, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes and beautiful marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Solvang Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Gardens Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solvang Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.