We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint inn in a quaint city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solvang Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Solvang Gardens to your Saves list
Solvang Gardens
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Murphysboro
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quaint inn in a quaint city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at Solvang Gardens on our trip down the Pacific Coast Highway. Solvang is not on the Pacific Coast Highway but we made a detour to experience the pleasant charms of this Danish town. My wife remembered the last time she was there that residents/store keepers were dressed in Danish attire. Alas that seems to be long gone as less than 10% of the community is Danish. The buildings are neat to look; the bakeries are to die for; and, there are plenty of wine shops in town. A nice place to visit for a day.

The Solvang Gardens Inn is a very hospitable inn fitting in with the theme of the town. The room seemed slightly dated but still very nice. The Inn is located at the edge of the main area of town so you are not in the immediate hustle, bustle of the tourist area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    66
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
110
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent two nights here at the end of July and were quite pleased with the accommodations. The gardens in the front and back are nicely landscaped; the waterworks cultivate a calm state of mind. Some rooms in the back open onto a tranquil English garden (we would request one of these when we return). The room we did have was quaint and comfortable, less kitschy than one would expect in Solvang. The bathroom was particularly well appointed, large, marble shower. Nice breakfast room, good coffee abundantly available. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Back rooms facing English garden seem optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here during our road trip to visit the California Missions, so Mission Santa Ines was our ultimate destination. The property is located outside of town but within a short 5 minute drive. It was built in 1950 and was the first motel in Solvang. The rooms were nicely decorated with antique furnishings but our room was very small. You barely have room to walk around the bed. The private backyard was lovely and we relaxed there with a glass of wine. The spa cottage was not open during the hours we were there. Continental breakfast 7:30-10am. All rooms are nonsmoking and do not have a telephone. Free wireless internet. I saw silverfish in the bathroom. Between the bugs and the small rooms, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

You get a bed and you get breakfast. Realistically it's an upgraded retro motel. The staff is brilliant in making you feel welcome and cared about. The property is clean and well-maintained. The wifi is marginal but the breakfast is good with some nice healthy choices. Good grief, they keep the cereal in the frige so it will stay fresh? Who does that ? Only someone who cares. If you can take a little street noise I recommend #8; it's bright and cheery. However if you want quiet, I would suggest an upgrade to #17. Whichever way you go, the property is convenient to beautiful downtown Solvang.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was an ok stay. The place is fairly nice a quite however from pictures and reviews I expected more. When I made reservation I requested specific room however it was occupied when we arrived and nobody notified prior. They gave us a tiny double room bec the other one had a strong smell, when I asked for some compensation they upgraded us to a suite which was nice. None of the rooms available were in the back which was also on my request.
Location is great, close to everything, walking distance, and in a quite area.
The breakfast is very average Danishes and cereal. Coffee was horrible, more like water.
So if you need a get away which is moderately priced and you don't have high expectations, this will work.

Room Tip: Back garden is very nice and there rooms which have direct access. If you request a room, follow up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

All-in-all ok; retro decor and the TV is not the center of attention. Owners are really nice; accomodations are comfortable. Walls are thin and glass is single pane - you will hear most conversations next door and all comings and goings in the parking lot (if you are in the back "motel" units). That said, the property was pretty quiet because of the courtesy of the guests. Breakfast from 8-9 is cereal, coffee and pastries.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I think the staff here is far and above some of the nicest I have encountered at a hotel.
I would suggest you get one of the lovely rooms that have a back door that opens out into the pretty garden. My husband and I only stayed one night here before moving on to Monterey to see our son. We would have enjoyed the garden more if we had been able to stay longer. Solvang is really, really quiet Monday through Wednesday. Even most of the restaurants are closed. So the hotel was quiet and very relaxing. Newly remodeled, very clean bathrooms. Breakfast was good. Nice and simple. Just cereal, danish, juice, coffee and tea. When it's a bit warmer you can sit out in the garden and enjoy breakfast (or maybe a picnic later in the day) as they have quite a few tables with unbrellas and chairs. Lots of trinkling water fountains throughout the property and gardens really adds to the relaxing atmosphere. Only reason I gave this hotel a 4 star rating (staff gets a five star) is because the bed (along with the not-so-great pillows) was way too soft. I tossed and turned all night because it gave no support and hurt my hips and my husbands back hurt all the next day. But you might like very soft beds so this might not be a bother for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#4 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#9 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solvang Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solvang Gardens

Address: 293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solvang Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country inn with 24 individually decorated rooms. Unique, elegant and comfortable property. Secluded in a quiet residential area in the heart of Solvang. At walking distance to restaurants, shops and wine tasting rooms.In the wine country of Santa Ynez, Santa Barbara County. The property is within beautiful gardens, fruit trees and fountains. A true escape from the hustle of big cities. Rooms vary in sizes, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes and beautiful marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Solvang Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Gardens Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solvang Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.