We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solvang Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Solvang Gardens to your Saves list
Solvang Gardens
293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This lodge was picked from the photographs online which were true to its surroundings, beautiful and serene. There were absolutely beautiful gardens, quaint decorative features and lovely rooms. We were so pleased with how wonderful this place was. It was close to the Chumash pick up location, close to Thrift stores, close to restaurants, but still off the beaten path. I went with my friend who was somewhat handicapped but we were still able to walk to Mission street and to a restaurant at the end of Copenhagen. I was happily surprised to see that there was a mini-frige in the room along with gorgeous linens and timeless decor. There was only one draw back, the internet connection kept disconnecting. Otherwise, we both look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    54
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
92
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Took my mom here for her birthday gift....very quaint and great gardens with soothing fountain sounds all over.....I got her a suite which she loved. I had a 2 queen room that was very nice. Breakfast was simple but enough. Staff very nice and helpful with recommendations to eat out. Close enough to town to walk but not too close for the noice/traffic. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were quiet and I had all the windows open (my room nearest the road) yet the fount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed at the Solvang Gardens for two nights while in town for a friend's wedding. The room was very affordable, comfortable, clean and quiet. The room I stayed in with a friend, had two queen beds and a mini kitchen with a microwave and refrigerator. The grounds were lovely; The garden and the roses were beautiful. Really enjoyed the continential breakfast and coffee each morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The site was within walking distance to shops and dining. Will definately stay there again. Lovely!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Solvang Gardens is a nice place to stay and I would recommend it with some reservations.

The good: Beautiful gardens, very nice people, quiet with a great location,walking distance to town. Wonderful little park across the street to walk to in the morning with wonderful views of the golf course and valley. Rooms newly remodeled.
Small little kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator is handy.

The bad:This place is screaming for a pool and jacuzzi, I watched kids wondering around the complex bored to tears. The picture of a flamenco dancer in the bathroom does not match the bucolic Solvang, Santa Ynez area. Who decorated this place? The drive way around the hotel and parking lot is so beat up and really needs help. Solvang Gardens calls themselves a Spa, which translates to: you can get a massage for $100. an hour. Spa?

The ugly: Great little coffee maker in the room. Left no coffee packets for us to make coffee second morning. Quality control? Room keeper check list?
Continental breakfast was supposed to be between 8:00 and 10:00 with a note it may be available a little bit earlier. We arrived at 8:00 and all the pastries and fruit were already gone.

Solvang Gardens is a nice place but a bit over priced and reduces it value. If you like peace and quiet and a great location, this is the place.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 - 16 have doors to english garden. Back rooms by garden are better. Foxglove room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We were only staying in Solvang for 1 night during spring break, and all the upscale hotels in the area required a minimum stay of 2 nights. Solvang Gardens did not have a 2 night minimum, so we decided to stay here. It is about 2 blocks away from all the action, so it is a quiet place to stay. It's not too far, though, and you can still walk to the main shopping area of Solvang. Our room was right next to the office and very nicely decorated, "antique style." The bathroom is very small, but we were fine with that. The only negative is that the bed and pillows are too hard and so I did not have a good night's sleep. They are also a little over-priced, considering there is no pool. Overall, though, not a bad place if you only need 1 night. For 2 nights or more I would check out other places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have to preface this by saying, I am not fond of the whole B&B experience in general. I am more of a hotel with all amenities type of gal. I booked this place because I was last-minute rushing to find a place in Solvang (not easy) for a weekend. We ended up having to cancel last minute. The manager was extremely kind and offered us a trade for a later date. First the good: It is in a perfect location with a pretty view of the hillsides and easy walking distance to Solvang. The gardens are cute, well tended with pretty fountains and flowers, but no jacuzzi or hot tub. I mistakenly thought there was a jacuzzi. That was reinforced by the website which calls it "Spa and Gardens". The room was clean. A continental breakfast was included in the common area. Friendly and quiet. The bathroom was tiny, but recently refurbished. Hot water. There was cable tv. Now, not-so-great: The pictures look a whole lot better than reality. For the price, you could book a much better equipped resort if you plan ahead. (We usually stay at the Hadsten House, but they are always booked lately) The TV is tube-type. The wi-fi, though free, went in and out. We were given a room closest to the main road, while it wasn't horrible, it just seemed strange since the other rooms may have been better (??maybe??) and the place was not full..... I don't know, I didn't actually see another room, but I have to believe there were better rooms considering the 4 and 5 star ratings on T.A! I can tell you the furniture is old in a not-antique way, dark green carpet, and the decor, is well, grandma-ish. Which isn't a bad thing if you like that kind of thing. All in all, not a terrible place, but you can definitely do better. We checked out the Hotel Corque right across the street on our way out, and they have a heated pool, jacuzzi, free coffee, and the price was comparable. We'll try it next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently updated room, perhaps near the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesnee, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We are from the east coast and this is our 2nd trip through Solvang; Our daughter's wedding was in the little garden area in the back 4 years previous. We are impressed with their friendly staff and clean, well furnished rooms. The grounds and garden are well maintained. Close proximity to the downtown shopping.

The only negative could be: no fitness center

Room Tip: Ask for room # 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solvang Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solvang Gardens

Address: 293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country inn with 24 individually decorated rooms. Unique, elegant and comfortable property. Secluded in a quiet residential area in the heart of Solvang. At walking distance to restaurants, shops and wine tasting rooms.In the wine country of Santa Ynez, Santa Barbara County. The property is within beautiful gardens, fruit trees and fountains. A true escape from the hustle of big cities. Rooms vary in sizes, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes and beautiful marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Solvang Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Gardens Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solvang Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.