We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solvang Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Solvang Gardens to your Saves list
Solvang Gardens
293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Los Osos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

To celebrate our 39th anniversary, we selected Solvang Gardens as it looked like it was something that would tickle my wife's fancy - and it did! The setting was excellent, right in the heart of beautiful Solvang, and was everything we had hoped for in a special weekend. The room was quiant and darling! Then to our extreme pleasure, the backdoor opened right into a beautiful garden. The office staff was outstanding and very helpful. The Danish breakfast was delicious! The proximinity to the PCPA Theater just added even more enjoyment to the weekend. Truely a beautiful adventure and well worth doing again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    54
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
92
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corralitos, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We travel frequently to Solvang for the wonderful Summer play series staged by PCPA. Highly recommended.

Over the past 20 years we've had the chance to stay at most of the hotel's in the area. This particular place is nice for a couple of reasons. First, it's not a big box hotel. I've had my fill of national chains that all look and feel the same. It's also quaint. The room we stayed in this week didn't look as if it had been remodeled since the 70's, which was fine with us. It has an old time feel.

We had a kithen unit with a dinning / living room and seperate bedroom. Plenty of room to stretch out. With it's location just one block from the downtown district, walking is the order of the day.

All hotels in the area are overpriced and frequently overrun with pseudo yuppies from LA, in their imported cars, taking in the wine country. While this detracts from the overall expierence it's still nice to spend a single evening in the area.

The Solvang Garden Lodge does indeed have nice comfortale gardens in which to enjoy a glass of wine before dinner or read the morning paper.

When planning a trip to this area, this is one of the hotels you should consider.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I decided to visit Solvang for our wedding anniversary. We have never before stayed at this hotel but the pictures on the web site looked beautiful. On our arrival we were very impressed with the grounds, floral and fauna everywhere. My husband couldn't stop taking pictures of all the flowers. We loved our room choice and found it very large and comfortable. This morning the continental breakfast was very enjoyable. In addition to the above we found the staff very helpful with suggestions for dinner plans. In short, when visiting Solvang again we will absolutely book this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Solvang Gardens is located in the Danish town of Solvang. The hotel was a unique European spot with beautiful English gardens. Each room is a little different from the next. Our room was charming with a fireplace. It was very comfortable. The breakfast was good and the management was so friendly and accommodating. You could walk into the town easily. I loved the hummingbirds buzzing around. A very nice break from chain hotels. I highly recommend you try it. It's worth it.

Room Tip: Go for the suite or the room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Regularly sized room. Personal style furnishing. No phone or flat TV in room. Confortable bathroom. Decent breakfast included in price. Very nice setting and back garden

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed overnight post our wine tour. It is walking distance to the little town of Solvang. Plenty of restaurants nearby and little shops. The beds were comfortable and the area is definitely quiet. Definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Solvang Gardens in June - we had been there the year before. We love the warmth of the staff, the grounds are beautiful and rooms are great! We looked at several of the rooms and they are all unique and well appointed - and most larger than expected. I don't think people who may see the inn as they drive by would expect such nice, spacious rooms - many are suites! The other plus is the easy access to the downtown area - and walkability to good restaurants. We recommend this inn all of the time and will continue to do so!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solvang Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solvang Gardens

Address: 293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country inn with 24 individually decorated rooms. Unique, elegant and comfortable property. Secluded in a quiet residential area in the heart of Solvang. At walking distance to restaurants, shops and wine tasting rooms.In the wine country of Santa Ynez, Santa Barbara County. The property is within beautiful gardens, fruit trees and fountains. A true escape from the hustle of big cities. Rooms vary in sizes, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes and beautiful marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Solvang Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Gardens Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solvang Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.