We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfy, good rate, terrible wi-fi/cell service, but overall pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Clean & comfy, good rate, terrible wi-fi/cell service, but overall pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

TripAdvisor, you really need to add the capability to give half stars! This quaint little lodge really doesn't deserve to be lumped in as "average" because there really were quite a few "something special" touches to this hotel, but, in reality, I'd stop juuuust barely short of "very good" (although I'm rounding up by the extra half star so as not to bash them unfairly!).

The location is just terrific, being not only easy to find but within a very short walking distance to everything you might want to see in downtown Solvang. Plenty of parking in the lot and two luggage carts available made unloading a snap, although the cart was a bit of a tight squeeze for the older elevator once you add a couple of ahhh, Rubenesque ladies! Requested a downstairs room in our reservation, which, while this was not honored, they did see to it that our room was right next to the elevator--good enough! Room we ended up with overlooked the pool area, so can't complain too much.

It's clearly an older property but quite well-cared for and the rooms have many appointments that are lacking in rooms for which I've paid twice as much. Beds were not pillow-top but still quite comfy with wonderfully fluffy pillows and snow white-linens which were exceptionally clean (and the color scheme of the drapes/bedding/chairs in a raspberry/wine accent against white was very pleasing). In fact, the whole room was light, bright and cheerful with a demure floral wallpaper and, as our room was on the third floor, an angled ceiling. It was obvious the cleaning crew here take pride in their job; even the baseboards in the room were dust-free. The furniture was all older and somewhat unremarkable in style but has been kept in good repair, and the TV was a modern flatscreen.

The fireplace was a magnificent touch and kept the room cozy and warm during a cold night. We LOVED curling up in the twin recliners with a side table placed conveniently between them to read a book. Having a fridge, micro and coffeemaker come standard is always very much appreciated and all were clean and worked fine. The breakfast was very basic but the coffee was fresh and good, and the locally-baked danish pastries were delicious and added a lovely touch.

Hours are more generous than some with check in at 2pm and checkout at 11, which we got extended until noon but were denied a request for 1pm, and that extra hour would've really made a huge difference in our ability to relax, because it took all morning to warm up enough to use the pool area. As a result, I got to spend all of twenty minutes checking out the Jacuzzi (wonderful, strong, rolling jets, perhaps a tad on the hot side) in a tearing rush right before we had to leave. I didn't get the chance to read by the pool like I really, really wanted to (and the pool is NOT heated; I couldn't dip my toe all the way in!). Having to cut our pool time short was probably the biggest disappointment of our stay.

A close second was the absolutely unusable wi-fi and the lack of any kind of tech support associated therewith. I not only called but stopped by the office and the only concession I got was "well, we just restarted it so try again." I did, and it allowed me to connect but kept dumping me off literally every two minutes. My cell phone wouldn't work reliably anywhere on the grounds. I pretty much had to tell friends that I was "off the grid" and would get in touch later! Thank goodness I didn't have to work or I'd have had serious issues.

File this under a plus to some and a minus to others: all rooms are nonsmoking, but we were grateful that the property provides both a designated smoking area with cute little ice-cream parlor-style chairs and tables and even a couple of the seats in the pool area with ashtrays. Thank you, Svendsgaard's, for striking a happy medium that's increasingly hard to find, especially in California.

Front desk personnel were cordial and efficient if not terribly warm. No restaurant or bar onsite but plenty of options nearby.

All in all, I'm pretty impressed by the value for the price offered by this hotel ($75 + tax AAA rate on a holiday weekend) and would definitely stay here again if in the area. In driving by a few of the other local hotels, I didn't see but maybe one or two that looked like they would've been an improvement over ours, so I think we did it right on the first try for where to stay in Solvang.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your extensive review! I see from the pictures you included you stayed in room # 55 with two queen beds. Nice room on the third floor and one of our guest favorites! We hope you and your friend come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    114
    59
    15
    13
See reviews for
58
99
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights for a business trip. It was a large room, large bathroom, and really comfortable beds and pillows. The decorations were kitchy and cute. The hotel is located at the edge of solvang, but it's still easy to walk to everything. The heater made a drip sound, so it was hard to sleep at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Best part of this hotel is the location, centrally located, not a bad choice if you are staying for just one or two nights. Don't expect much during your stay, everything is pretty basic. The property is a little bit old - squeaky floors, not very sound proof at all. I would definitely recommend earplugs for light sleepers.

Room Tip: Queen size rooms facing the parking lot are quieter. King size rooms facing the pool = loud loud lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We thank you for choosing to stay with us at Svendsgaard's. We are an older property in Solvang with the Danish Architecture and motif. Solvang is known as the "Danish Capital of America" with wonderful pastries and windmills throughout the town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was a nice cosy inn with great service! The quaint design appealed to both my friend and I. It was within waking distance to anything. Having said so, if there could be a porter or an eatery within the hotel, it would be a good bonus. Cheaper to book via the Internet, so we are glad.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Svendsgaard's. Many of our local restaurants will deliver food to your room and we have one restaurant directly across the street open for lunch and dinner. We serve our breakfast each morning in the lobby or you are welcome to take back to your room. Hope on your next visit these handy hints will help and you can always ask our front desk for additional suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is very simple, but quite comfortable. It is very close to the city center, which is very convenient - one can walk to all wine bars and tasting rooms without worrying about driving afterwards. Breakfast is ok, but they have very limited choice (basically danish pastries and bagels) and after a few days (we stayed for 4 nights) we got a bit tired of it.
Also, we went to the front desk twice to ask for information and the staff was not very attentive; we didn't feel very 'welcome' at their place. It was not a bad experience but I'll probably stay elsewhere on my next trip to Solvang.

Room Tip: Although some reviews here mention the noise, we stayed in the back of the hotel (room 9) and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hi Danilo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us your four days in Solvang. I am so sorry our front desk staff was not as friendly as one would hope. A kind reminder from our General Manager will be given to the staff and thank you for your honesty. We hope your vacation continued to be joyous for you and your family.

Holly, Guest Relations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Friendly staff, basic hotel. Clean, showing some age. Our stay was quiet, but the potential to be noisy was there - not entirely soundproof. Breakfast choices were bagel or danish pastry and juice/coffee. If you want a basic hotel that provides good value, Svendgaard’s will be fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hello,

You were along way from home in Halifax when you visited in Solvang! Thank you for taking the time and giving us a review. We hope you enjoyed your visit with us and the surrounding area.

Holly, Guest Relations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I treated my mom to a 3 day weekend in Solvang for her 70th birthday. We visited during the Wine Walk & Julefest. We were very happy with our stay at Svendsgaard's. The staff was very attentive & friendly. The room was a little outdated, yet clean and the beds were very comfy. I would suggest wearing earplugs if you are a light sleeper as this hotel is situated on a busy street. We were satisfied with the continental breakfast, it was fresh & convenient complete with Danish from the local Olsen's Bakery. The price was amazing compared to other hotels in the area. Best of all was the location, we didn't have to drive anywhere, we were within walking distance of everything in Solvang. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room away from the busy Mission Dr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hello,

Solvang is a wonderful place to celebrate a birthday! We are so glad you and your mom were here with us to enjoy the town, Wine Walk and Julefest. And, yes it is nice to be able to park your car for a few days and just walk to everything. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Holly, Guest Relations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.