We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service. Needs renovation.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Good service. Needs renovation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This used to be a nice motel, the sevice and location are excellent and have never changed but the room we had was badly in need of renovation. The bed was sagging and the pillows seemed old. The furnishings looked very dated. The TV was new. Just stayed one night so good price was a factor and the under $100 was a good deal. The continental breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly. A little TLC will make this property 5 stars for its category.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments and it always is good to hear where we need to improve. Furnishings is an area we will be improving during our Fall and Winter months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    126
    61
    15
    13
See reviews for
62
112
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Directly across the street for Mission Inez, this is an older property that has some nice character. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the pool. The hotel has a small elevator that seemed to work great. Our room was large and had a fireplace, microwave and refrigerator. Very comfy bed and two reclining chairs. We will stay there again when Solvang. The staff was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We thank you for taking the time in giving us your review and comments. It helps us to know what we are doing right and where we need to improve. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Solvang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S. expats
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a great value hotel in Solvang, a very pricey touristy place. We got a deluxe room on the second floor with two beds. It had a fireplace, a small table and kitchen area, and a bathroom that had an exterior room for doing hair or make-up.

It is dated, but almost in a good way. The pool is in the center courtyard, and was very nice. The place has a nice character, and vibe.

My brother stayed at a place up the street, and although it was very nice, I was struck by how sterile and corporate it felt.

Breakfast here is served in the lobby, and is OK. Juice tastes like it came out of a metal can, but Danish and bagels were perfectly acceptable.

The location is great—right in the center of everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your review of your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Solvang. Your comments help us to make future stays more enjoyable for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I booked my room for a 2 night stay assuming I would get bored of Solvang quickly but ended up staying an extra night because I was so pleased with the hotel. The hotel is not a crazily updated luxury place but it is very inexpensive, it is in the PERFECT location for exploring downtown Solvang (I walked everywhere because it was so close. Its also a quick drive to Buellton for an Albertson's and CVS with a redbox vending machine. The staff was friendly, my room was clean and comfortable and the pool was perfect for the 98 degree weather I faced. I don't leave reviews for places but I was just so happy with my stay I had to leave something. If you want a GREAT value and a comfortable and convenient stay, THIS is the place to stay. The continental breakfast, although not AMAZING, was just enough for a relaxing start to the day.
OH also, even though it was hto outside, the fireplace was just a perfect addition to the room to make it feel home-y.
LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT!
I plan on staying there again and have told many friends and family about how perfect of a vacation I had with perfect lodging.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are SOOOO cute and room 53 is a very nice size with a great view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and positive review. We hope you will return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, MN
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I brought a group of 55 people here for a 1-night stay. They don't have a 24-hour front desk or interior halls. The modest-sized lobby also hosts a modest breakfast (highlight is a pastry from a local Danish bakery). Our people do not require modern decor or high end furnishings. The rooms were huge and the beds very comfortable beds. Some rooms actually had 3 beds, some had fireplaces, and all were quite comfortable with flat screen tv, etc. The location is excellent and I believe it to be the best value in Solvang. We will plan to stay again be next time we are there b

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and positive review. We are happy your group enjoyed their stay in Solvang and hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Despite the run-down appearance of the motor lodge, it was actually an OK place to stay, location-wise. Other than the location, nothing in particular was memorable. Svendsgaard's Lodge is located on the very eastern edge of Solvang, within walking distance to all the shops and Paula's Pancake House. We booked on Booking.com and somehow two rooms were reserved for us. We were offered the upgraded room with a gas fireplace for the same price, which was nice. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable, which was all I had hoped for the price. The breakfast looked pretty poor, bad coffee and cereal and a few small apples. It's worth skipping the meal there and trekking down the street about 4 blocks to eat at Paula's Pancake House. For dinner, try the Hitching Post in Buelton -- only a few miles west on the main road.

Room Tip: Third floor room had a gas fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our lodge.
Svendsgaard's Danish Lodge and Suites is one of many local hotels that prides itself in our Danish Architecture. After WWII, the men returning home wanted something special for our small town and that is how the town of Solvang became known for being a resort/tourist destination.
Our Continental Breakfast features warm Danish pastry baked locally by a Danish Baker, bagels, cereal, oatmeal and is meant to just get you started in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have been staying in Solvang for many years. In the beginning it was a sleepy little Danish town whose sidewalks were rolled up by 6pm. Most of the hotels were the same; pleasant, Danish decorated, and competed on the basis of price. There were a couple of newer, nicer hotels in town but the price was close to double what the others charged.

Fast forward to 2013. The California Central Coast is now a tourist destination for both bicyclers and wine enthusiasts. Former hotels that were considered nice and moderately priced (under $125,00) now command nearly $300 per night on weekends and up to $150 or so on weekdays since their major upgrades.

This does not include Svendsgaard's Lodge. It has remained virtually unchanged and is one of the larger properties in town. While still clean and pleasant, it has not seen many renovations of any kind over the years, still featuring the same pink tile and wash basins that have been there for many years. Cracks in the tile abound and showers are now square, pre-fabs you see at Home Depot. Artwork on the wall is from decades past but the beds are just as comfy as the ones in the more expensive, remodeled hotels. You could swear you were still in the 60s or 70s when inside these rooms, and that is not particularly bad. The walls are a bit thin, though, and the noise level was elevated which was as much due to the noisy neighbors as the walls. When people drop their shoes or slam their doors in disrespect, it is sometimes noticeable in the best of places.

My wife and I picked Svendsgaard's Lodge for two reasons; first, we weren't willing to pay (with taxes, etc) $300 + for an overnight in quaint Solvang since we had another ultimate destination, and secondly we always recalled our stays there when our girls were young as being very clean and pleasant. Our charge on Priceline was $129.00 plus tax (about $143.00 total I think). on a Friday night in May 2013. Oddly enough there was no availability according to the hotel's own website. There is a continental breakfast available with no charge which includes Danish pastries and bagels. A better choice is to try Paula's Pancakes which is just a few blocks away and which I will review later. I have been eating there since the 1970s.

A clean, decent place to stay. If you are looking for a more "classic" getaway experience in a California Wine Country or as a Lover's Weekend, you may want to try one of the more upscale hotels at about double the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay this past May. The staff at Svendsgaard's hopes you are having a pleasant summer and will return to visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.