We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated Motor Lodge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Dated Motor Lodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Despite the run-down appearance of the motor lodge, it was actually an OK place to stay, location-wise. Other than the location, nothing in particular was memorable. Svendsgaard's Lodge is located on the very eastern edge of Solvang, within walking distance to all the shops and Paula's Pancake House. We booked on Booking.com and somehow two rooms were reserved for us. We were offered the upgraded room with a gas fireplace for the same price, which was nice. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable, which was all I had hoped for the price. The breakfast looked pretty poor, bad coffee and cereal and a few small apples. It's worth skipping the meal there and trekking down the street about 4 blocks to eat at Paula's Pancake House. For dinner, try the Hitching Post in Buelton -- only a few miles west on the main road.

Room Tip: Third floor room had a gas fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our lodge.
Svendsgaard's Danish Lodge and Suites is one of many local hotels that prides itself in our Danish Architecture. After WWII, the men returning home wanted something special for our small town and that is how the town of Solvang became known for being a resort/tourist destination.
Our Continental Breakfast features warm Danish pastry baked locally by a Danish Baker, bagels, cereal, oatmeal and is meant to just get you started in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    114
    59
    15
    13
See reviews for
58
99
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have been staying in Solvang for many years. In the beginning it was a sleepy little Danish town whose sidewalks were rolled up by 6pm. Most of the hotels were the same; pleasant, Danish decorated, and competed on the basis of price. There were a couple of newer, nicer hotels in town but the price was close to double what the others charged.

Fast forward to 2013. The California Central Coast is now a tourist destination for both bicyclers and wine enthusiasts. Former hotels that were considered nice and moderately priced (under $125,00) now command nearly $300 per night on weekends and up to $150 or so on weekdays since their major upgrades.

This does not include Svendsgaard's Lodge. It has remained virtually unchanged and is one of the larger properties in town. While still clean and pleasant, it has not seen many renovations of any kind over the years, still featuring the same pink tile and wash basins that have been there for many years. Cracks in the tile abound and showers are now square, pre-fabs you see at Home Depot. Artwork on the wall is from decades past but the beds are just as comfy as the ones in the more expensive, remodeled hotels. You could swear you were still in the 60s or 70s when inside these rooms, and that is not particularly bad. The walls are a bit thin, though, and the noise level was elevated which was as much due to the noisy neighbors as the walls. When people drop their shoes or slam their doors in disrespect, it is sometimes noticeable in the best of places.

My wife and I picked Svendsgaard's Lodge for two reasons; first, we weren't willing to pay (with taxes, etc) $300 + for an overnight in quaint Solvang since we had another ultimate destination, and secondly we always recalled our stays there when our girls were young as being very clean and pleasant. Our charge on Priceline was $129.00 plus tax (about $143.00 total I think). on a Friday night in May 2013. Oddly enough there was no availability according to the hotel's own website. There is a continental breakfast available with no charge which includes Danish pastries and bagels. A better choice is to try Paula's Pancakes which is just a few blocks away and which I will review later. I have been eating there since the 1970s.

A clean, decent place to stay. If you are looking for a more "classic" getaway experience in a California Wine Country or as a Lover's Weekend, you may want to try one of the more upscale hotels at about double the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay this past May. The staff at Svendsgaard's hopes you are having a pleasant summer and will return to visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJ CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for one night on our way back home from a convention. The Inn is within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Solvang. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was very nice. The Inn has a pool, and a nice Continental breakfast with the usual coffee and juice, cereals and pastries. The room rate was low enough so we didn't mind adding to breakfast at the Solvang Restaurant for some fantastic aebleskivers, which are Danish "pancakes" but round. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on a longer visit to Solvang

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! It's got great character and kind, helpful staff.
The rooms we booked were described as 'superior' or something similar and were upstairs on the second floor overlooking the pool.
We paid $82 per night and were flabbergasted to walk in and find our room had a sofa, a king sized bed, two reclining arm chairs and plenty of space. We had a little room off the bedroom that had a table & chairs, sink, microwave & fridge and then there was even a dressing area with a sink, mirror and stool as well as a full bathroom. I think it was about 900 square feet in all!
Everything was clean, despite not being new. We were extremely comfortable for our four night stay. The pool and jacuzzi were nice and breakfast was fine. If you can cope with a bagel and coffee or a Danish then you'll appreciate that's its complimentary.
We'll stay here again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here three nights for a wedding and everyone was paying a lot more for their accommodations than we did. We chose this place from the TripAdvisor reviews and most are "spot on". Rooms are big, with a decent mattress and furniture. The pool and spa are very clean and nice temperature. Breakfast is adequate and the staff are most accommodating. The owners have had this place since the "70s and it is obviously well managed. The a/c units are a little tricky to operate but once you set the temp it works great. This location is across from the Santa Ynez mission and is worth the walk across the street to see the old mission.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter and poolside is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was a basic hotel/motel. It was clean the people were nice, the room was spacious and enjoyable. The location is great and the pool was heated. I will definitely stay their again. The staff gave good advice on places to eat. I was celebrating my 10yr wedding anniversary and we wanted something with an authentic atmosphere. My room even had a little decrative fire place(didn't work) that added a little romantic touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our second time to stay overnight here. We like the location - easy walking to shopping and restaurants. The staff is friendly and competent and the room clean.
Breakfast was nothing to brag about... just ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.