We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Clean, great location, ok breakfast. Excellent value for $68 per night. If you are sensitive to noise the don't stay here. I pretty much heard all the neighbors coming and going and how great their bike rides were, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    118
    60
    15
    13
See reviews for
60
103
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stay here when we go to Solvang. Rooms are cute and clean. We stayed at one other hotel and regretted not going to the Svengaard. Accommodations are dated, but the cleanliness and charm more than makes up for it. The staff is pleasant. It's located perfectly so we don't move the car hardly at all during our visits.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

For under $100 a night, this is a great hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable and they even serve a complimentary breakfast with danishes, cereal and coffee, which is hard to beat. The hotel is also in an excellent location, right in the center of town, and there's plenty of parking. The only downside is that I took a lukewarm shower on our last morning.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

went to solving for a day trip. needed a place to spend night. was referred by locals to check this place out. found a gem. clean. large room. this was like stepping into a travel lodge from when I was a kid. will be going back. book with confidence.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Svendsgaard's Danish Lodge. We pride ourselves in Scandinavian Hospitality and have tried to maintain some of the "old world charm". We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just don't expect too much other than a reasonable price and a location very convenient to everything in the small town of Solvang. Cleanliness was good, even though the fixtures and furniture are a bit old and in some cases run - down.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Svendsgaard's. We appreciate all comments our guests take the time to forward to us. We do hope you give Svendsgaard's another try in your future as we have scheduled renovations happening in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We went with another couple and stayed here because most of the other hotels were sold out. We received our keys and when we opened the door we realized it was someone else's room! Doesn't make you feel good about security. The room was large and spacious. The thermostat dial for the room is worn out and we "guesses" where we were setting it. Woke up in the middle of the night sweating. The next morning, I peeked in the shower and noticed there was something that attached to the wall that held body wash. However, when I got into the shower, it was empty. The water in the shower never got above lukewarm! The breakfast....you couldn't help yourself to the rolls, guess they were afraid you'd take more than one. All in all, I felt if management spent a little on maintenance...replace worn out thermostat dials, take off boxes that held body wash if you're not going to use them, turn up the hot water...have a system to assure keys are given to the correct people...add room safes, then this hotel would shine. The bones are good, just needs some TLC.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located to downtown Solvang. Rooms are large and well appointed. Had coffee pot, iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, extra sink, 2 comfy chairs and table. Rooms and property are a little dated, but for the price, who cares,

Nice hotel, nice town. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Svendsgaard's. Please look forward to guest room updating that we will be completing during 2013! Thank you for your positive evaluation and comments. We look forward to seeing you in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.