We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but thin walls and incredibly slow wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OK, but thin walls and incredibly slow wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just don't expect too much other than a reasonable price and a location very convenient to everything in the small town of Solvang. Cleanliness was good, even though the fixtures and furniture are a bit old and in some cases run - down.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Svendsgaard's. We appreciate all comments our guests take the time to forward to us. We do hope you give Svendsgaard's another try in your future as we have scheduled renovations happening in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    113
    59
    15
    13
See reviews for
58
99
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We went with another couple and stayed here because most of the other hotels were sold out. We received our keys and when we opened the door we realized it was someone else's room! Doesn't make you feel good about security. The room was large and spacious. The thermostat dial for the room is worn out and we "guesses" where we were setting it. Woke up in the middle of the night sweating. The next morning, I peeked in the shower and noticed there was something that attached to the wall that held body wash. However, when I got into the shower, it was empty. The water in the shower never got above lukewarm! The breakfast....you couldn't help yourself to the rolls, guess they were afraid you'd take more than one. All in all, I felt if management spent a little on maintenance...replace worn out thermostat dials, take off boxes that held body wash if you're not going to use them, turn up the hot water...have a system to assure keys are given to the correct people...add room safes, then this hotel would shine. The bones are good, just needs some TLC.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located to downtown Solvang. Rooms are large and well appointed. Had coffee pot, iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, extra sink, 2 comfy chairs and table. Rooms and property are a little dated, but for the price, who cares,

Nice hotel, nice town. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Svendsgaard's. Please look forward to guest room updating that we will be completing during 2013! Thank you for your positive evaluation and comments. We look forward to seeing you in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, Ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I like where this is located, just on the edge of town. Easy to walk everywhere without having to drive through tourist traffic in town. Convenient parking. Each room is different, and a little funky, but I enjoy the character. Have stayed here several times. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but dated. Has a nice feel for families. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for three nights 11th - 14th September. We loved the Inn. It's so comfortable, easy going and relaxed here I wanted to move in. The room has a fireplace which I couldn't find out how to work. We never needed it because it was so hot. We had a room on the ground floor which overlooked the pool. It has sliding doors and railings around the pool. We could access the pool as we had a gate just outside our room. There were also Adirondack style twin chairs with cushions which we used and we had our wine beside the pool every day. Breakfast was adequate too.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor overlooking the pool. Fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a corner suite room #58 on the third floor and in the corner. The price was right. we paid avg of $110/night on wkend. Room is dated but cute and clean. Nice bed, comfy and the recliners were great! This room is huge and we enjoyed having the extra room. The breakfast is limited but good and the danishes are from a local bakery. The pool is nice and clean, we enjoyed it after a hot day of exploring the lovely town of Solvang.

There were other choices but they were more expensive and we actually looked at one and felt like it wasn't worth the extra money.
The staff is very friendly. The town is lovely and if you get a chance and are looking for a great steak dinner go to The Hitching Post!

Room Tip: choose one away from hiway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is my third ABVI that I've stayed and it is definitely the best one, so far. It is also known as Svendsgaard Lodge. For an ABVI I was surprised to find it sold out on Friday and Saturday night...now I know why. It is a good economical place to stay when visiting Solvang (which is a quaint little Dutch town). We stayed in room 15 which was on the first floor in the back of the inn with no view and faced the parking stalls outside.The room was clean, there was a fireplace, and two sinks (one in the bathroom and one outside). Having two sinks was very convenient since we brought our toddlers. The room was small but adequate for our needs. The staff was friendly and helpful during our stay. The property is walking distance to shops and restaurants in Solvang and has a pool (which we used) and a hot tub. Both were clean. There are no fitness centers or room service (that I saw) but this site has a rating selection for them. The main office is where you have breakfast. It has a great lodge feel and long wooden tables where you can eat. I was really looking forward to breakfast but a little disappointed with the danish pasteries. You can also get bagels, orange juice, coffee, hot chocolate, or tea. Overall it was ok. I would say the ABVI in Boulder has a better continental breakfast selection. On a side note, don't expect to taste great local wines in this area. I tried three different wineries and I was only able to find one Pinot Noir (777) that was worth drinking however a bit over priced ($43). Keep going until you hit Paseo Robles. If you do spend a night and want a very good meal, make sure you check out Ballard Inn for dinner ($$$). It is a little out of the way but definitely a great restaurant. We also ate at the Succulent Cafe for lunch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.