We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, comfortable, reasonable price, good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, comfortable, reasonable price, good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Decent hotel, comfortable, reasonable price, good location.
Clean , comfortable, large rooms.
Nice pool area.
Plenty of parking.
Located at the east end of town but a short walk into town.
A nice two star motel for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    126
    61
    15
    13
See reviews for
62
112
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights last September. It's right on the main route through town, and it's an easy walk to see the downtown shops and restaurants. They gave us a room in the back with 2 double beds. room was clean, comfortable and i slept well. The best part of the stay was that they provide a continental breakfast in the morning with very fresh danish (most likely from a local bakery), fruit, juice and coffee

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I like this hotel because it is located at the end of town and you can walk everywhere. I like the mini refrigerator and microwave that comes with the room. It has a nice continental breakfast also.

Room Tip: Some rooms come with a fireplace. There is also a fireplace in the lobby where they serve the break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The hotel was good its in a nice place and it has a large tv, mini fridge, coffee maker, and king size bed. having said that I would suggest not getting a room by the road it was so noisy all night. It seemed as if work trucks passed by every 10 minutes and i could hear everything. I would have given it 4 stars but as another guest put it "slightly disappointed with the 'clinical' breakfast which was served in the hotel reception where you had to report to the food counter and presented with a paper plate containing what I would describe as a meagre offering - Danish pastry!! And a choice of tea or coffee. The breakfast experience was totally alien from the ambience and surroundings of the hotel. And whilst I can see what they are setting out to achieve - cost efficiency and portion control. I would suggest that guests would rather have a better experience of choosing their own breakfast, as it is part of the overall package of experience of staying at the motel. Had it not been for the poor breakfast, I would have scored the motel higher, than I did. This is constructive feedback from a well-travelled individual; so please accept this criticism in a positive way and maybe review your breakfast arrangements."

Room Tip: dont choose a room thats on the left side as you enter the building as you will hear cars and trucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANSAS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This hotel is at the edge of the shopping and dining area of town. Great for walking to eating places and shopping. Staff is very helpful and they are just plain great !!
The best rooms are #21 and #22. They face the main street. On a sunny day the mornings are great from these rooms. They have a continental breakfast....but there are some great eating places nearby also for breakfast. I really like Paula's Pancake House

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London & Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We managed to get a very large room upgrade I think because we're members of their 'Value Club' scheme. It was also a bargain for just £50 a night.

I wish we'd stayed here longer, it was so cosy. There were fireplaces all decked out beautifully for Halloween. We had a separate shower/bathroom and kitchen area. Massive, comfy beds and a little balcony overlooking the swimming pool and hot tub. The flat screen TV had loads of channels and there was free Wi-Fi too.

Service was professional and you could park right outside your front door.

It was a very short walk into Solvang town centre from the hotel and there's a windmill viewable from most rooms, which gets you in the mood for the place.

Breakfast in the morning was basic but excellent, with a wide range of Danish pastries (not surprisingly!), juices, fruit, cereal and coffee (which you could take away).

We had a great time here and this hotel was the best of our trip. Outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We came here on our tour of CA missions. We weren't prepared for Solvang...and ended up having a good time. The town is aggressively cute, but all the bakeries in town have awesome danish pastries. We had a very nice room, nothing fancy but clean and spacious with a good size bathroom. The staff was nice, although don't take their advice on mini-marts...there are plenty in town! We didn't want to spend more than one night in Solvang, but enjoyed our stay and the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.