We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, has character- but a few flaws” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Copenhagen Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Copenhagen Inn to your Saves list
Royal Copenhagen Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   1579 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Orange Curtain, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quaint, has character- but a few flaws”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Just came back from the Royal Copenhagen Inn. It is in the middle of Solvang, just a great location.

The hotel has quaint architecture, and reflects the danish theme of Solvang. We had a King size room, it was large with small fridge, guest chair, desk and chairs. It was upstairs, with its own private entrance.

The bad are several: No blowdryer in room. If you call the front desk, they will loan you one (they have six to loan), but you only get it for an hour before you return. Why a hotel in today's business climate doesn't offer blow dryers as a standard bolted in the wall item is surprising.

Also Internet Access is horrible. We had two laptops, one would connect intermittently, the other never did. When I called the front desk, they said "the more people on, the slower it goes." Whatever, it wouldn't cost much to have a proper IT professional sort that out for them.

Also: The shower and sink was plugged up. Taking a shower and noticed that the water was filling up the tub. Not good.

The Pros: Rate wasn't that bad considering in town location. You get Contintental breakfast (a coupon for a pastry store across the street). Free newspapers. Quaint architecture. You can park right outside your room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    80
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
51
76
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
toronto, ontario, canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

we stopped at solvang as a last minute decision... on our way up the coast and didn't want to stay in ultra expensive santa barbara.... royal copenhagenn inn turned out to be a surprising charmer.... nothing fancy but the rates were excellent and the location was right in the heart of town. room was spacious, bathroom clean and large.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

in this charming Old World setting is nestled this quaint cottage like complex, with friendly staff, clean accomodations and near everything. Did I mention free parking just outside your door. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Nothing fancy. Clean. AAA discount. Walking distance to shops and diners.
***Only disappointment was that there was no internet connectivity at all, even though we were given a password and told that it is free internet and 'it's supposed to work.' It did not work at all.
I have read the reviews when I arrived home and see that other TripAdvisor reviewers had the same disappointing experience with the 'free internet', which was NO INTERNET SERVICE AT ALL.
So, that tells me that the staff absolutely know of this ongoing problem and nothing is done.
That is itself is disappointing.
Otherwise, not a bad place to stay for the price.
Friendly staff.
I would only recommend this place if you do not care to have internet connectivity.
It is an average, 'okay' place to stay within a great location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

The towels were thin, soaps pedestrian, the shower head wouldn't go above my stomache (I'm 5-11) carpet was clean but worn. The room was clean and staff friendly, but come on, motel 6 towels at this price? I don't mind it being older, but if I am running a very expensive older hotel, why not have first rate amenities? There was no hair dryer, no ironing board, a very old and Small TV, the pool had coat of dirt. I am amazed at the positive comments. At these prices, customers have a right to expect quality.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

I've been to Solvang many times over the past 10 years and I love the ambience of the town. Our stay this last time was the best. We stayed at the Royal Copenhagen because we were travling with our pet. I could not have asked for anything better. We had a quiet, comfortable, clean room. It was close too everything, shops, restaurants, etc. And our pooch had her own space in a private garden to romp around in off the leash and she loved it also!! It was well worth the price. There wasn't anything not to like. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

This is the second time that we have stayed here. Once two years ago with our youngest daughter and her family and this past Feb. with our oldest daughter and her husband. Sad to say it is the last time. My daughter lives in Houston and as she was getting on the plane at LAX she realized that she had left her blackberry in the room. I called and was informed (not nicely) that she had also left her Ipod. When I asked if they could sent it to her C.O.D. I was told "NO, we never get our money when we do that. " So she called Fedex and they said they could pick it up but that it had to be boxed. The staff at the hotel said they couldn't or wouldn't do that. Fortunately her husband had a business assoc. who had a father that lived nearby and he picked it up and sent it to her.
We paid almost $500 for two nights in a room that was only O.K. and had to sleep on a very uncomfortable hidabed (the Loft) and they couldn't arrange to have this stuff shipped for us???? PLUS we had to change rooms because the heat didn't work. We will NOT be staying there EVER AGAIN. Location isn't everything. .

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Copenhagen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Copenhagen Inn

Address: 1579 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Copenhagen Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Copenhagen Inn is located in the heart of Solvang, surrounded by its finest shops, restaurants and bakeries. The Royal Copenhagen will have you believing you have traveled to Denmark. The Inn is built in the traditional style of a village, or neighborhood, with the outside of the buildings being exact duplicates of the buildings found on a street in Copenhagen. Escape into the old world grace and charm of the Royal Copenhagen Inn, located downtown in the Danish village of Solvang. We are small enough to provide personal service and our professional staff will make you feel like royalty.Our rooms are all decorated in the Danish tradition and are more spacious than your typical hotel room. The rooms come with a large walk-in shower and each is different in its architecture. All rooms have cable TV, AC, coffee makers and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Royal Copenhagen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Copenhagen Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Copenhagen Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.